5/25 Maverick AMPS 322 and Ketones AGAIN

Mathilda and Maverick

Member Since 2020
Pervious post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...47-something-is-going-on.263266/#post-2949626

So when Maverick was fasting and at the vet for ultrasound he did not go that high in BG and the non insulin did not bring him extremely high either. Per advise here, I did go ahead and decreased his dose to 2.75U BID, which I per SLGS protocol a couple of days later had to decrease again to 2.5. So that's what he is on now. He has had some higher number since then, but I have not been able to catch a low number again. I wonder if he is still bouncing or if something else is going on. I worry that he may react to the chicken in his food, but the ultrasound showed normal bowl walls (they have been very thickened before). The real problem is now that he now again keep on developing ketones- he has had it very frequently lately (which is not uncommon for him-but he did have a long period with none). Any advise appreciated! Thanks!

Mavericks spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...M38qxw7XkYRe1oYEpr_b8nK-Y/edit#gid=1757376681
 
Given the ketones issue I’m wondering if you could lower your reduction number just a little so you don’t have to reduce back to back should there be a test just under 90. Maybe take reductions at 70 or 80? . Also why did you only shoot 2.0 on 5/22?
 
Given the ketones issue I’m wondering if you could lower your reduction number just a little so you don’t have to reduce back to back should there be a test just under 90. Maybe take reductions at 70 or 80? . Also why did you only shoot 2.0 on 5/22?

Thanks for reply! The reasoning behind the 2U 5/22 was his relatively quick drop in combination with his BG at pre shot, and the fact that we were not able to test mid cycle during the night. Ok, I'll try to lower the reduction numbers. So today then, he was 76 at one point so I'll go ahead an go down to 2.25U BID. I't s hard though because I feel like there is no logic behind his all over the place numbers and ketones at relatively low numbers. I do know that the pancreatitis flares play a role in ketones as well as his appetite.
 
It will be interesting to see if he bounces from the greens today. What are you thinking will be your reduction number? You don’t have to decide now though. If you do lower it, add to your signature and ss reductions under ##.

My boy had chronic pancreatitis but never had ketones. I was lucky in that regard. It was probably a big reason why he never went into remission on the negative side.

Good luck with the reduction.
 
What level of ketones. Are you using a blood ketone meter. I used the NovaMax Plus blood ketone meter for my boy after he had been in DKA and the ER for a week. I was taking no chances. He had ketones for a long time afterwards, until they finally broke. During that time, he was fine because just high ketones won't cause DKA.... it needs some other impetus like infection or inflammation. Speaking of inflammation... it is absolutely fantastic news about his bowels being normal thickness. What did you do to bring that about?
 
What level of ketones. Are you using a blood ketone meter. I used the NovaMax Plus blood ketone meter for my boy after he had been in DKA and the ER for a week. I was taking no chances. He had ketones for a long time afterwards, until they finally broke. During that time, he was fine because just high ketones won't cause DKA.... it needs some other impetus like infection or inflammation. Speaking of inflammation... it is absolutely fantastic news about his bowels being normal thickness. What did you do to bring that about?

I am not using a blood meter, I'm using the Relion urine sticks. But I have considered getting the blood meter, just haven't gotten to it yet, and at this point, I can tell by his behavior if he is passing ketones or not, the sticks is mostly to back up my suspicions, and to regular test so I do not miss anything. He can have anything from trace to large ketones, but I'm always catching it and give fluid treatment. He hasn't developed DKA since November of 2020- when he also was hospitalized for about a week. I'm sorry y'all also had to deal with DKA, its awful.
Yes, thank you! I was surprised but happy that the bowl walls seemed normal- the specialist said its a sign that the Budensonide is working. I also may think that the change of diet had something to do with the recovery also- which also make me worried that I may worsen his condition again as we had to make another diet change as I had such a hard time finding the food he was on.
 
I am not using a blood meter, I'm using the Relion urine sticks. But I have considered getting the blood meter, just haven't gotten to it yet, and at this point, I can tell by his behavior if he is passing ketones or not, the sticks is mostly to back up my suspicions, and to regular test so I do not miss anything. He can have anything from trace to large ketones, but I'm always catching it and give fluid treatment. He hasn't developed DKA since November of 2020- when he also was hospitalized for about a week. I'm sorry y'all also had to deal with DKA, its awful.
Yes, thank you! I was surprised but happy that the bowl walls seemed normal- the specialist said its a sign that the Budensonide is working. I also may think that the change of diet had something to do with the recovery also- which also make me worried that I may worsen his condition again as we had to make another diet change as I had such a hard time finding the food he was on.
You are really taking great care of your baby. Tell me more about his diet changes and challenges. I have a cat with IBD and I haven’t made a diet change yet. He’s on Prednisolone. But I have a lot of cats so a diet change is challenging. I’ve been looking at foods though- novel protein.
 
Back
Top