5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143; +12 141

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Just wishing you good luck in your decision. If your tired and stressed and need to sleep, well that is understandable, and maybe even in Maggie's best interests. Keeping you my thoughts tonight.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Thanks Michelle. I know you've had your share of all nighters. My gut feeling is to skip and hope I'm not making a mistake. The worst scenario is she will be high tomorrow morning, and it may be hard getting her regulated. She's completely zonked right now, partly from the pain med and being a little hyper all night watching out the patio. She didn't sleep at all either last night. She seemed wide awake all night. If I shoot now, I'll have a hard time getting her to eat, so I think I've made a decision. I'll still welcome advice/opinions.

I guess I will have to shoot tomorrow morning, as it's three skipped shots. Stay tuned.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Oh Ann..... I had no idea you had such a night!!! I went to bed early and haven't had a chance to check condos. I'm glad Jill, Libby, Laurie, and Sienne are checking in with you today. I know you'll make the best decision for both you and Maggie. Big hugs to you both!!

On the bupe: both my elder civvies are getting it now and I don't notice any change in either of them....they don't sleep more or act groggy.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Hi Ann, my visit to your condo yesterday was too early and I missed the excitement. Quite a night for you and Maggie! I'm very glad that you went with your gut feelings. And I believe that you should do the same thing tonight. You need sleep, and Maggie needs rest from poking, and her numbers are dropping. If you empty her shed, I think it will build up again quickly, especially since her dose is small.
Fingers crossed for a good night,
Hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Ann,
I can only tell you what I would do if Maggie were my cat. You have to be comfortable with whatever you decide to do....it's not my decision, it's yours. If you are tired and you want to skip tonight so you can get some sleep, that would be completely understandable. The bean is important too.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

For all concerned I think it is a good call. You both need a night off. And if she is high in the morning,she will recover from that soon enough too. No worries for you now, OK? You've done well by her.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Hi Marje, thanks and yes it was a nightmare as it was so totally unexpected with Maggie! She had a bad reaction to the anesthesia this time. Yes, I did get a lot of support from all of you, and I'm grateful for Jill, Libby, Sienne and Laurie for all their help and support. I don't know how owners manage without a support group such as ours with treating our kitties. Maggie may just be sleepy from being so restless after the dental! I feel bad I haven't been able to visit all your condos, but hopefully soon.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Self care is just as important as caring for our furbabies. You both can get some much needed rest tonight and start this sugar dance tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Thanks Ella & Rusty for your opinion and support, and Michelle, it all makes a lot of sense. Maggie does need a rest, too. I appreciate all your feedback.

Laurie, thanks again for checking on Maggie and for all your feedback and help. So what would you do it it was your cat? I think I know, you would shoot a reduced dose, right?
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143

Yes, I would shoot a reduced dose....but not if I couldn't monitor. If I'm really tired, no alarm will wake me up...so if I were as tired as you probably are, I would skip and sleep.....safety first.

Maggie will get back on track. It isn't the end of the world, Ronnie is right.
 
Yes, I would shoot a reduced dose....but not if I couldn't monitor. If I'm really tired, no alarm will wake me up...so if I were as tired as you probably are, I would skip and sleep.....safety first.

Maggie will get back on track. It isn't the end of the world, Ronnie is right.

Thanks much Laurie, I am concerned I might not be able to monitor as closely tonight as I did last night which would be needed. I'll post her numbers as I can. I thought she was completely zonked out, but when I did this last reading, she heard the strips lid snap open, and she got up and came over to her testing spot on the sofa. Smarty pants. Have a good evening and thanks again for all your help.
 
OMG I just read both condos from yesterday & Today!!!
What a 2 days you had!! @-) @-) @-) This is what happened to me with Moonie when she had first dental--
She came home from dental & dropped like a stone--Went through a similar night like you did.
So glad she is OK today!--Guess Maggie is one lucky girl to have such a great momma bean!!!
Hugs to you & Maggie and hope it's calm & all good now... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hi Roni, thanks for the Bean compliment and the info about Moonie. That must have been before Maggie's diagnosis. Has Moonie had dentals before and handled them okay? The Vet said Maggie had done so well with the surgery, and he will be surprised what happened. It was scary seeing her drop so fast. Hugs back to you and Moonie and GA Copper :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Yes Moonie had 4 extractions the first time and 5 the second time..First time she did her drop the numbers in the evening of the dental, but didnt need painkillers(so said the dumb vet) The second time she had bupe the whole time for 3-4 days, but had ab's both times...Both times she came home & ate!
I think we suffer more than they do!! :lol: ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
Hope Maggie is back to herself quickly!! Hugs from us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top