5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143; +12 141

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44002

Tuesday Dental
278 at 4:00 pm when I arrived home

275 at 4:30
Shot 1 drop at 5:15

175 +1
95 +2
70 +2.5
93 +3
101 +3.20
112 +3.40
111 +4
122 +5
139 +5.5
120 +6 Fed some Purina DM Kibble (not much) and mc
119 +8 or a little after - some FF Gravy Lovers
125 +10
159 +11
(Note: these hours may not be on the mark to the hours posted but close)

Hi, and thanks everyone for all your support yesterday and thanks to Jill, Libby, Sienne, Laurie and anyone else who was advising. Please don't be too upset, but I ended up monitoring her at home and not taking to the hospital. I did a couple more pokes after logging off, and she kept rising, so my gut instinct said to keep monitoring. She was eating; if she had not been eating, I would have called a cab and taken her right away. She actually ate more than I expected, and no pukus either. It wasn't that easy for me to drive last night, as my vision is not good with nighttime driving and hasn't been for quite some time. In a panic I almost left and drove, but then thought what's to happen if I have trouble driving and/or get into an accident. Most of the driving would be fine on a main street, but there is a side winding two lane road that I turn off on and goes for maybe a mile before the hospital entrance. For an ER, it's a bit out of the way. There is another larger ER in mid San Diego, but it's freeway driving. Once getting to the first hospital I mentioned, it's lit up, but my gut instinct said not to drive. The friend I would have asked to drive me is on a four day holiday in Denver. I had a local cab driver's number to call if she kept dipping. He's a local driver who lives nearby, and I know he would have been here in five minutes, so that was my alternative which I would have done in a heartbeat had she been dropping. I stayed up all night, except for an hour and a half of dozing sleep. I gave Maggie her pain med and accidentally set the applicator on its side with the lid off and spilled it onto the counter, so I need to get another bottle which I will do when the Vet's office opens at 7:30 am! Maggie has been focused on watching out the patio window. I'm curious about this Buprenorphine - it doesn't affect Maggie insofar as making her sleepy. She's quite alert and jumping onto her testing spot when I call her and laying on her side asking to be brushed, no drowsiness! Question, how long do the effects of the anesthesia take to wear off? Any thoughts of how I handled - almost afraid to hear! nailbite_smile Keep in mind I would not have hesitated taking her in the cab had she kept dropping!
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125 Update

Ann!!
I'm relieved to see things are ok, I dont know the time span for the anesthesia.
But I dont like that stuff anymore, at all!

The good thing is, Maggie is ok, eating well it seems, and you are in need of sleep I'm sure.(that's not so good)
I understand your decision, but I think you did very well despite the crisis.
(((((big cyber hugs for you both))))
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125 Update

Thanks Ronnie. I could still take her to ER if needed as soon it's light, but I feel she's doing okay. Vet is open at 7:30 am, and I need another bottle pain med, as I spilled mine. She got her pain med though, and it's every 8 hours. Another thing about the ATrak. I didn't want to get both meters out, but sometimes when a number is low on my ATrak, and I compare it to the Relion, the numbers are very similar, don't know why.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125 Update

Nice to see you Ann. I just was getting caught up on your long night.
I am glad that Maggie is ok this morning.
I think the effects of anesthesia can last anywhere from 12 to 24 hours but not completely sure.

I hope you can both get some much needed rest today.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125 Update

Thanks Miriam; it sure was a long night. No sleepus for me. I'm still running on adrenaline and just had several cups of strong coffee. Maggie is acting like she's had coffee, too!
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125 Update

Hi Ann. I just scanned your yesterday's condo. Sorry, you had such a sleepless night. I think you handled it fine and trusting your gut is usually a good thing. Luckily you had this board to turn to, though.
I hope you have an uneventful day and get some rest, both of you.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159 Update

159 at +11 - this is the highest for her lately since the 70 bg!

Thanks Dyana; it was scary there for a while. These things always happen late at night or when the Vet's office is closed. Yes, thank God for this board! There's some kind of wildlife or another cat outside, as Maggie is there lurking almost all the time. Going to take a break and shower and will check in again soon.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159 Update

Ann, I'm so happy to see that Maggie is doing ok this morning. You had such a scary night but it seems like you handled it like a pro. Hope things are good this morning. Not sure how long anesthesia stays in the body. I know when I had it, it lasted a couple of days but of course, I'm not a cat! Get some sleep, please!
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159 Update

Glad everything turned out okay. I think you as the owner get to make the tough calls and you chose right. And you had a plan. You must be exhausted.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159 Update

ann, i'm so glad everything turned out just fine. that's what's important. i agree. you must be exhausted. maggie's numbers are not terribly high this morning. again, it's your call, but i wouldn't think twice about skipping this morning's shot and picking it up again tonight. you both could use some rest.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159 Update

Hi Ann, I was following things last night but didn't want to get in the way by posting. I had no idea that anesthesia could effect out babies like that!
I am sooo glad that all is well today and hope you can get some sleep!
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135 Update

135 for the AMPS - I wish it were higher! Maggie is eating but now only wants the FF Gravy Lovers!

Thanks again everyone for all your support. You have no idea how much it means to me and Maggie. thanks Jill for alll your support and advising in spite of all you have going on with your nephew, and I hope he is doing better. Right, no shot this morning and we'll see how she's doing later for the pm cycle. Maybe I can get back on track. I have a feeling she's going to run low all day. I had no idea the anesthesia could affect them this hard!
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135 Update

some cats have stronger reactions to anesthesia than others. it's another one of those ECID things!
hope you can get some rest today. you have to be tired. i know i would be.
OT- my grandson is doing well. he's going back to school today. thanks for asking...
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135 Update

Thanks Jill - oh, it's grandson, so glad he's better and in school today, too! The fatigue and sleepiness hasn't hit me yet; I think I'm still running on adrenaline and coffee. I can stay close to Maggie today; I just have to run to Vet's for more pain med, as I accidentally spilled it on the counter and then pick up some of Maggie's fuds, more of the FF Gravy Lovers to keep on hand.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135 Update

I'm glad Maggie is OK -- that's what important. I hope you did OK with all of the testing. I know how nerve wracking this can be. With Gabby's last dental, her numbers dropped and given that she had 3 extractions, she wasn't too keen on food. It was a struggle.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135 Update

I just got caught up on what happened with you and Maggie last night! So sorry that it was such a rough night. In those situations it doesn't hurt to follow your instincts. It looks like you handled it great and did what you thought was best. Obviously it worked since she is eating and acting better this morning. My kitties have never had anesthesia, so I have never had to deal with it at any level.

I hope your day goes well and you get some rest!
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135 Update

HI Ann, I'm so glad Maggie is okay today. :smile: I keep forgetting that the A-Track numbers are higher than a human meter.
I hope you're able to get some rest in today.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135 Update

Morning!! I am SO GLAD that everything is OK. I thought about you all night. I don't think anyone here will hold you at fault for your decision - you have to do what you know works for you, your gut reaction. I know you are exhausted, but I do commend you for your all night vigil with Maggie.

I'm not sure on the length of the effects of anesthesia, but I sort of remember my vet telling me it can last as long as 24 hours, perhaps a bit more. With Mannie's last dental it indeed took that long before I could visibly see he was recovered. It is good that Maggie is eating, active, being Maggie.

Have a great day today - try and rest. You did well last night. Your girl is safe.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135 Update
 

Attachments

  • Tooth-Fairy-Present.jpg
    Tooth-Fairy-Present.jpg
    189.5 KB · Views: 1,110
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135; +1 149

149 at +1, so coming back up, but she's still eating hc.

Thanks everyone again. I will try and get to condos later. You all have been so wonderful and supportive. I was torn between testing and/or the ER, but when I observed her all seemed fine and then her numbers kept climbing. Yes, it was nerve wracking, for sure! I think she could still dive I'm afraid. The testing went okay except for a couple times Maggie got annoyed when I disturbed her lurking out the patio window. This last poke she kept jerking away, so I think that ear is sore. She's a real princess normally when testing and will get up on the sofa where I test when she hears the lid snap from the strips and I call her.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135; +1 149

Ann, what matters the most is that Maggie is fine right now and you handled it wonderfully.
Watching that unfold last night was very scary, but I think you did what you needed to do and I could tell you wouldn't have hesitated taking her in had you felt you needed to.. Good luck today with her. I hope that you both can get some much needed sleep today.
Big Hugs :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135; +1 149

so glad she's doing ok now. you're so good about monitoring her and not getting complacent! i hope today goes well for both of you and that somewhere in there you can get some rest. don't worry about visiting condos - we all understand.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +10 125; +11 159; AMPS 135; +1 149

Hi guys, I didn't realize what a night you two had .. I'm so glad she is doing better now .. you are so good about monitoring her, and also planning out the best way to get to the ER if needed. I hope today is much easier on you both ..
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie AMPS 135; +2 149; +5 177

Oh thanks everyone again; you've given Maggie and I so much support. She's 177 now at +5, so all the hc must be taking effect. I called the Vet's office, and her pain med will be ready some time this am hopefully. They had to call the Pharmacy. I thought they might have some in stock. Hi Devon, you don't have a condo, and I can visit others, so thanks for stopping. Yes, I just happened to check her at +1 and she was dropping and kept dropping which surprised and alarmed me that the anesthesia had such an effect. With the help of this great board, we got her back up, but we weren't sure if she'd need urgent care. She hasn't urinated though yet, but she's been mostly slurping gravy. Hopefully I can get her to drink some water.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie AMPS 135; +2 149; +5 177

Hi Ann,

I agree, the important thing is that Maggie is ok! I'm glad you were able to keep her up, and that you had a plan in place if you couldn't....good job! I'm sure you both are tired after the night you had, I hope skipping this morning will let you get some rest today. I'm sure she'll get back on track quickly.

If you get a chance, can you change the AMPS to AMBG? ;-)
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie AMBG 135; +2 149; +5 177

Hi Laurie - thanks and changed it! Thanks for all your support last night; it was a bit scary as Maggie has never dropped that drastic. I normally shoot at 3:30 am and wonder if I need to skip again for the pm. After all the gravy, she should still keep rising, but it's only temporary. The anesthesia should be wearing off by now. She had the surgery approximateky 9:00 am yesterday (May 24), so it's 24 hours.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie AMBG 135; +2 149; +5 177

Hi Ann and Maggie,

Wow i was just looking at yesterdays condo and today i had no idea this was going on! :shock: I always forget that you use the alpha track meter. I had no idea that anethesia had such an effect on BG numbers. Scary stuff but it sounds like you had it all under control.....good on you! Such a great bean.

So did the tooth fairy visit Maggie last night?
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie AMBG 135; +2 149; +5 177

Ann, I know that was a bit scary, I came on at the end, and said...yikes! I have to say that you seemed very calm with the situation, I remember when you didn't want to let Maggie drop below 80 three times to earn a reduction! :lol: Good job staying calm and doing what you needed to do.

I would see what happens through the cycle, get a test an hour before your PMPS and ask for help if you are unsure if you should shoot. It's pretty hard to predict what will happen....every time I try, the cat reads the condo and there goes the prediction! :lol:
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie AMBG 135; +2 149; +5 177; +7 183

I actually in the beginning didn't think 70 was such a bad number, but then with the reminder that it's the anesthesia affecting her and she could continue dropping, then I got worried and was really stressed. Maggie was so calm, and she was eating and behaving okay, so it helped me, and she was so patient with me poking her. She is 183 at +7, and if I guess her right, she will rise slowly. I don't know, maybe a drop or half dose. I do have to run out real quick and pick up the pain med for her, so I may be shooting later than what I planned if I shoot. Can't imagine what's taking so long except right now it's their lunch hour.

P.S. Also when I saw that 70, I wasn't thinking about the effects of the anesthesia but remembering in order to gain a reduction under normal circumstances, Maggie had to get a 70, so that is why at first I didn't realize it could be urgent. But the drop was so soon and sudden. Not sure if I'm making sense here. :?
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie PMBG 175 DOSE QUESTION

I have to run to the Vet's office to pick up a med - will check back later and see how she's doing. Thanks much.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie PMBG 175 DOSE QUESTION

Ann, it would be good to shoot something to keep some insulin in the shed, but I do understand your reluctance...you had quite a night last night. I think it's unlikely that she will do what she did last night, since that was anesthesia related and it *should* be out of her system at this point. I think I would try to shoot something if I were in your shoes...even if it's a drop.

She is eating ok, right? Does she still seem wild eyed, is she behaving normal?

If you don't shoot, she may be pretty high by morning, and it may take longer to get her back on track. I'm not trying to pressure you to shoot, just pointing out the effect of skipping another shot.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154 DOSE QUESTION

Hi Laurie and Luna, I'm back and confused. That last number wasn't my PMBG, as I wasn't ready to shoot. It was the original time I used to shoot. Well, she is 154 right now, so coming down, but she's been sleeping and hasn't eaten in over an hour and a half approx. I am hesitant as she reacts really well to one drop. I am going to E-mail my Vet tomorrow and give him Maggie's ss with some notes as to the anesthesia and how she reacted + what I did to keep her up. This is his day off and Maggie's Vet Tech was off today, too. Sorry, thinking out loud there...back to shooting, it would have to be a very small drop. I can get one more poke before deciding. You both think a drop?
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154 DOSE QUESTION

So you have 2 hours before shot time? I thought you were ready to shoot. Let's see what she does in the meantime.

I think I would try to shoot something...whether it's a drop, 1/2 drop, BCS shot?

Maybe others will chime in with their thoughts.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154 DOSE QUESTION

The last time I shot the one drop was at 5:00 pm, dental day, yesterday, so I was doing the +'s based on that time, but I can shoot earlier. since I'm unsure I'll get another check, but right now she's not hungry, so I doubt the number will change much. Maggie did have IV fluids during the procedure yesterday; would that have affected her bg last night?
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154 DOSE QUESTION

the fluids could possibly have contributed. So could the pain meds, if she was hurting after the procedure and the pain meds started making her feel better. I'm sure the main contributor was the anesthesia, though. Some cats react in a big way, and others don't react at all.

What I don't think caused it is the insulin. She dropped 100 points by +1, and onset wouldn't have even occurred yet at that point. The insulin might have contributed later on (it might have helped hold her low despite your feeding and karoing), but not to the initial drop.

Would you feel better about a partial dose? It sounds like Maggie is feeling ok and eating well. Her shed is empty so she should be fine if you want to shoot something. Or am I misunderstanding your concern?
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154 DOSE QUESTION

Thanks Libby, yes definitely it was the effects of the anesthesia. If I shot a half dose, it would be one drop, the same as yesterday. She's been eating mini meals but mostly sucking the juice, so I'm thinking her tooth is still hurting. My concern is the one drop might make her drop again too low, as right now she's not hungry. It's also time for her pain med. I can do one more check. I'd feel much more comfortable skipping. I was thinking her numbers might be getting low as the infected tooth is gone. I'm about to do another poke. brb
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Okay, she is 143 bg. I could shoot now and make this my shot time since she's had no shot this morning, but it's a dropping number, so I'm thinking I may be going thru the same thing tonight with monitoring if I do the one drop. It's still amazing what just a drop will do to their bg's.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Libby, the higher blues for Maggie today are from the FF Gravy Lovers, so once I started giving her regular lc fuds, she dropped to lower numbers.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Wow - what a scary night! I'm glad everything turned out ok. I guess this is a lesson for all of us as we prep for dentals.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

I know, totally unexpected, as she's had dentals before and sailed thru - her kidney values were lower this time, so not sure if that made a difference. It was one reason why the Vet made sure of her fluids. Just her reaction. She's fine, a little dopey right now, as I just gave pain meds, with some dripping on me, too. :)
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

So Libby and Laurie, with the number dropping, I'm thinking I'll have another all nighter on my hands. It could be feline diabetes testing hangover pangs I'm feeling!
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Ann,
Are u sure ur up for this?
If ur not sure, its not the end of the world - no really! Lol!
Did u have rest time?
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

if you need to sleep tonight, that would be totally understandable.
 
Re: 5/25 Maggie +8 175; +10 154; +11 143 DOSE QUESTION

Hi Roni, No I don't think I'm up for another all nighter. Nah, I didn't get much rest today, just a couple dozing offs on the recliner.

Hi Libby, I should get some sleep, but I would never mind skipping sleep for Maggie. I would shoot, but I hesitate aas I have a feeling she's done eating for a while and will keep slowly dropping. She's had several helpings of FF Gravy Lovers today (which has keot her numbers up), a couple FF Seafood Feast mini meals (mostly sucking the juice), some Gerber bf as a treat, very little, and I ran out of FF Turkey & giblets but will get some tomorrow. I didn't make it to the pet store today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top