5/25 Fred

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hmmm...I see he's sticking in blues and yellows. I think I would want to see more mid cycle numbers to see how low he is going. Any chance if getting a few nadir tests in? :smile:
 
It's hard since I work during those hours, but I can try on the weekends. Should I look for nadir between +4 to +6?? Never quite sure about that.

Thanks,
K & F'
 
Hi Kathy!

Can you maybe get a mini curve on a weekend? Something like a +4, a +6, and a +8? Some kitties are fairly consistent when they nadir - others like to move it around a bit.
 
What is it we're trying to do? If his Nadia's are in green, that won't change the shot that's based on PM/AM testing will it? For example, if his AMPS is 190 I would still shoot .4 even if his +4 is 80 and his +6 is 95. Don't you have to go with the preshot number to be safe?

I'll try to get more #s today.

Thanks
 
You use both, Kathleen. So if his nadir is 40, you reduce the dose a little as the dose is taking him too low. If his preshot is in the 200s and his nadir is 100, then you have some room to add a little insulin. (which seems to be where he is, unless he is dropping lower earlier in the cycle, which I think is what Rachel is wondering about)

It does depend on your goal. He is pretty regulated at this point, which is great. If you want to push a little and get him into blue preshots and green nadirs and hope he might go off insulin, then you'd give a little more insulin. You'd pick a lower preshot number - say shooting at 170-180 - and watch the nadirs to see that they are in a safe range. You'd up the dose a smidge for those preshots around 200 and again watch the nadirs.

Maybe it would help to look at the remission thread at the top of this page and check out some of those spreadsheets. As their cats were headed off insulin, they got a little more agressive, shooting at a lower preshot. If that's your goal, that's what you'd try.
 
Yep, that's what I was wondering! Knowing how low he goes gives us a better understanding of what to do with those preshot numbers like Sue said.

I feel you on having a hard time getting a nadir! I usually tried to get at least one (maybe 2) on the weekends and sometimes got up at night to check...I sometimes wake on my own at night so I just headed downstairs to see where she was at.

I think the mini curve Jen suggested would be great if you could do it. That'd help you determine the nadir and see what kind if numbers you have on the way down to nadir and back up. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top