5-25 Frankie AMPS 66

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dang, that's non diabetic numbers. :o

How's she been doing in the last 3 weeks? I know you've been too busy to update the SS, but would know where she's running. Have you had to skip other shots? How often?

Board has been pretty slow the last few weeks and Mel's pc is down, so it's pretty quiet around here. :YMSIGH:
 
I wish, Lucian does the same thing, but spikes much higher. :o

You might try posting in health and see if you can get someone with a lot of experience to look at Frankie's SS.

Since the only cat I have experience with has crazy numbers all over the chart, I'm the last one to offer an opinion. Wish Mel was here to help you.

It's said "they bounce till they stop"........some just bounce much worse than others. Like Lucian.

Edit: you didn't shoot today right? SS says you did.....
 
Looks like Frankie dropped really low last night, to have that low 66 at AMPS. No way to tell how Frankie is trending without some more tests. May have even earned a dose reduction last night.

With that skipped AM shot, you'll be bouncing even more for a bit. Let's see what the PMPS is.

If I were to hazard a guess, I would say a dose reduction is in order. But no data to support that gut feeling.
 
Yeah I havnt been running curves, I should be able to this week so If she has another low preshot in the morning, I'll run a curve. Shes pretty consitant with a 250+/- food spike and then sometimes she has a nice curve into low blues, sometimes high greens, and then others she sticks in the low yellows... I do need to get a new batch of lantus though, and since I've updated my spreadsheet, I think it will be interesting to take her into the vet and show her what I did against her recommendation... eg thousands of $ in hospitalization... She has probably gained at least 50% of the weight she was... so I'm guesstimating 6-7 lbs... (diagnosed at 4.?? LBS... I don't remember but it was crazy low). All in all I am really happy with how she is doing, but if she is looking like she might need a reduction then I want to be on top of it. Twins are due in less than 2 months and it would be a huge help if she goes OTJ by then... crossing my fingers.
 
Well, then if you want to get to OTJ before the twins are born, then let's try for that. You are going to be exhausted enough with having two little babies to deal with and are probably already scrambling to prepare.

Nadirs for Frankie seem to be more at +5 then later, though a few times it has been closer to +6.

Would you be willing to get a few random tests over the next few days? Maybe a before bed test for a couple of days in a row. Maybe a test before you walk out the door to go to work or a test as soon as you get home from work. Another option is if you are up early enough, do a +10, +11 follow up test to the prior days PMPS.

Getting these random tests is often as useful or even better than doing a curve.

I think you have held that dose long enough and it is time for a change. I'm just not sure which direction to go unless I can see some more data.

Hope you'll post here when the little ones arrive. Boys or girls or a surprise?
 
Well since I work from home I am definitely open to random tests just need a plan... Frankie is fed up with testing but iit'spprobably because she doesn't get a treat after ps tests... I really need to get her in for a check up this week and get my prescription for lantus...
 
So a plan for some random tests?

Please do a before bed test for a couple of days in a row. That might be a +3 one day or a +4 another day. I don''t know what your shot times are so can't really say.

Maybe a morning test before you sit down to work from home.
A test when your work day is done, around +9.
Another option is if you are up early enough, do a +10, +11 follow up test to the prior days PMPS.

I'd like to see a +2 either morning or evening at least one day
I'd like to see a +6 at least one morning.
I'd like to see a +6 at least one evening.

If you need to a take a break from your work day, since you are home, take a test.

I think 2 days of some random tests will give us some better clues. We especially need to see those night time tests I mentioned.

Getting these random tests is often as useful or even better than doing a curve.

My gut feeling is that Frankie is going low over night and then bouncing the next day. No way to prove that without the data. I feel more strongly of that low dip at night after seeing the low 66 on 5/25 amps

Congratulations on having the names already picked out for your boys, Wyatt and Mason.
 
She was 193 this morning and 337 at +2. My Shot times are 6:30 MST (Arizona) Sometimes I have to go 30 mins +/- (Normally in the evenings due to family schedules). I will be able to get a +6 and any other tests today because I am home all day. Tomorrow I will be working out of the house at least half the day.
 
Oh goodness! :o For a second there, when I saw the baby names, I thought they were already here! ohmygod_smile

It's another 6-7 weeks, right?

Come on Frankie, just cause you're a girl, doesn't mean you need to visit that pink floor. ;-)
 
Aiming for Mid July... The boys are tracking higher weight than a typical single baby at 26 weeks (Last Week) They are both about 2.5 Lbs and a typical single baby at 26 weeks is about 2lbs.
 
I vote for July 13th as the birth date. It was a very good day for me. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Dan and Frankie said:
eek... please God no, not the 13th :evil:

lol!!

+6 was 178...whats the next one you want? +9 ish?

And it was a Friday! I kid you not.


Thanks for being willing to get some more data in between the pre-shot tests.

That 9ish was another drop. Will the PMPS still be dropping? I already know I want you to do a dose reduction but want one of those SS reading gurus to advise.

I think it's time for one of those spreadsheet gurus to hop over and help you out.

I'll hop over to TR and post for you. Already done. Hopefully, someone will be over before your PMPS.

You may want to consider going over to TR to post. Lots more advisors over there and it sounded like you might want to be more aggressive in the dose changes. What do you think?
 
If you find you are skipping due to low pre-shots, it is a clue to reduce the dose. I'd either reduce 0.25 units (which you have to eyeball between half unit lines on the syringe!) or 'skinny' the dose just below the current measurement if you can do that consistently.

If you take that slight reduction and then find that mid-cycle tests are running above 150 after 3 full days/6 shots at that level, you would return to the previous dose.

Any bounce from going low overnight may clear within 3 days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top