5/25 Allie AMPS 264/+4 228/+8 228/ PMPS 277 got into the chicken!

Breelynne

Member Since 2023
5/24

Ears are both still very tender but she is sucking it up, I feel so bad for her. I can see all the little holes in her ears. Both her ears are black with little tiny orange spots so it makes it hard to see sometimes. I can tell Allie is having a good day very restful and relaxing without all the water and demanding food.

Allie ate a whole can at breakfast (like always) she had FF Pate then @ 12pm 1/3-1/2 can of Purina One Turkey grain free then @ 4pm 1/3 can FF Pate Salmon and some fresh cooked chicken. I cut up some chicken for later. Tomorrow snacks poached salmon. If she is getting 3 - 3/12 cans plus fresh poached/baked treats maybe we can work with that. At the lower numbers she is not as ravenous.

I'll update after her PMPS numbers
 
Last edited:
Hi Lynne , poor Allie's ears
If his ears are looking beat up a lot of members put a dab of pure coconut oil on them
Here is what one member said
I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)
It seemed to help with the healing
You might be able to get it at a health food store or just Google pure coconut oil
 
Poor baby. I hope Allie’s ears AND overall health improve. Such a cutie. Best of luck to you guys.

I want all the kitties to get better….❤️
 
Hi Lynne , poor Allie's ears
If his ears are looking beat up a lot of members put a dab of pure coconut oil on them
Here is what one member said
I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)
It seemed to help with the healing
You might be able to get it at a health food store or just Google pure coconut oil


@Diane Thank you so very much.
I use coconut oil! Why didn't I think about that. All these months and all those jabs! I'll get mine out before her shot time and put a little on for her. Great tip.
 
Poor baby. I hope Allie’s ears AND overall health improve. Such a cutie. Best of luck to you guys.

I want all the kitties to get better….❤️

She sure has been strong through this... I just want her numbers down. I've had animals all my life and never dealt with a diabetic animal!

I Love that @Don & Xena ...I want them all to get better too! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I feel you with with ears! I feel so bad! But I think they know we are doing it out of love and this helps them feel better! Allies numbers are looking better!! It’s the best when you can start to see the insulin therapy start to work and then return to their old self slowly! I can’t tell you how many nights I cried cause Pika wasn’t improving! But then when we got that breakthrough dose.. and saw yellow, blue and then eventually green I saw a change in pika! I’m so happy Allie is starting to do better. And I feel for her ears! I’ve only been poking for a week and a half and I can see all my poke marks and red spots on his ears. I have gotten better at poking and not having to constantly poke 6-8 times. (Pika has been a trooper with me learning all this)

I hope Allie keeps improving and keeps sliding down sugar scale and hopefully soon she will be like her pre-diabetic self as much as she can!! But she is looking good!! So that means you have been doing amazing!
 
I deboned a whole chicken and someone got into it...That is a first! She has never gone for people food. She got into it an hour before her shot and test, still a lower preshot number for her. Hope this does not mess things up to bad. Needless to say she still had her PMPS meal...a smaller one and got her shot. She is sleeping most comfortable on the porch with Cassie.
 
I was just wondering if you ever asked your get to test her for
Acromegaly, I think you said you did now that I think of it and they said no
Maybe ask again since her dose keeps going up. I see some members said to
order IGF-1 and IAA labs at the same time because it's cheaper and send them Michigan State.

Don't forget to fill in your PMPS # on your SS :cat:
 
Thanks for the reminder I just updated it! She has about 40 mins to got for her +3 test and snack and then 1pm - 1:30 snack and then me to bed. That gives her 5-6 hours without food.. Tried the autofeeder tonight again...nope she wants nothing to do with it.

I took the printout to my vets office for both tests done through MSU and he isn't ready.
We go back on June 2nd see what he has to say. I have some contacts to reach out to if I'm not satisfied with the vet. I even ordered the ice packs and special envelopes. Another member here just posted that very helpful post about the procedure and step by step instructions which is so very helpful.

My Mom's cat was named Tyler :)
 
Bit of improvement this last couple days, mostly yellows. :)

Deboned pure chicken is fine, as long as it's not brined or have garlic/onions in it. How does Allie's weight compare now to when she was diagnosed? That's one indicator on whether she's getting enough food.
 
No spices or anything no way. She was pigging out. In a way I'm glad I'd rather use whole foods for in between feedings.
She has lost 2lbs since her DX but she has held steady at 12.3
Same thing here today as the other ca I've been following, Xena. Allie was not as hungry or drinking as much water. Other than that she is holding her own. She is strong! I'm surprised. Her grooming skills need improvement as she never lets me brush her but we are working on that. My other cat Cassie begs to be brushed...Cats!
 
Hi Lynne , poor Allie's ears
If his ears are looking beat up a lot of members put a dab of pure coconut oil on them
Here is what one member said
I have copied this from one of the members posts
just make sure the only ingredient is coconut oil (mine is solid at room temp and I would take an itty bitty dab and rub on his ears)
It seemed to help with the healing
You might be able to get it at a health food store or just Google pure coconut oil

for this purpose is 100% pure and natural fractionated coconut oil OK? From what I read online fractionated coconut oil is healthier than regular coconut oil, but this is obviously a human product not that that necessarily matters.
This is what I found online:&
“Fractionated coconut oil is more healthybecause it no longer includes long-chain triglycerides even as unfractionated coconut oil is much less healthy. Conclusion: Fractionated coconut oil is a form of subtle coconut oil produced through hydrolysis and steam distillation.”
Thank you in advance…
 
I feel you with with ears! I feel so bad! But I think they know we are doing it out of love and this helps them feel better! Allies numbers are looking better!! It’s the best when you can start to see the insulin therapy start to work and then return to their old self slowly! I can’t tell you how many nights I cried cause Pika wasn’t improving! But then when we got that breakthrough dose.. and saw yellow, blue and then eventually green I saw a change in pika! I’m so happy Allie is starting to do better. And I feel for her ears! I’ve only been poking for a week and a half and I can see all my poke marks and red spots on his ears. I have gotten better at poking and not having to constantly poke 6-8 times. (Pika has been a trooper with me learning all this)

I hope Allie keeps improving and keeps sliding down sugar scale and hopefully soon she will be like her pre-diabetic self as much as she can!! But she is looking good!! So that means you have been doing amazing!

Wow Pika's numbers! Just looked at her SS, she is looking good!
I agree with you 100% that they know we are helping them. If I'm having an issue getting what we call the Hokey Pokey Stick 'Em she will lay down for me, she is so sweet. From day one she was OK with everything and I was so afraid she'd reject treatment. They do know!!! I'm still in that mode where I get so depressed, wanting her numbers to come down, she had a bounce back up this morning! Since Allie isn't bouncing up and down maybe I can give her ears a break before I go up again. I'd try her paw but not to sure about that. She can get cranky.
Thanks for the encouragement. while I was out today ...at the doctors again all I could think about was her at home. I've considered a sensor but doubt she'd tolerate it. You are very lucky with Pika.
I love Pika's picture, looks like a heart!
 
Tyler had a brother Perry who passed 2 years :(
I adopted both of them as kittens, I named them after my all time favorite rock band Aerosmith lol Steven Tyler and Joe Perry

I'm so sorry, I've lost my share of animals over the years and it is always heartbreaking :( but that's awesome, adopting brothers. Allie and Cassie I found 2 years apart as kittens.
I grew up listening to Aerosmith (Rock On)! Yeah we had the best music!
 
Back
Top