5/24 Racci AMPS 82, +2 122 4U

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Racci is still mostly in the blue with another dip into the green. Those green amps numbers worry me every time because I'm not sure whether I should give a full dose and I've been waiting for two hours to let her get into the blue before giving it to her which puts her schedule off. I've decided to go back down to the 4u dose instead of the 4.5u dose and see how she does on that. She may just be ready for a reduction. What are your opinions?

I'm really thankful for the low numbers after all the high ones for so long but at the same time worried that they get too low.

Thanks!

Melanie & Racci
 
Sorry for my confusion, but did you shoot the 82 or the 122?

I know the green numbers can be scary, but they're also the most healing. So we like them and are afraid of them at the same time. Hopefully once you get more numbers on your spreadsheet, you'll be able to see what this dose is really doing. Getting those mid-cycle checks is really helpful.
 
Hi Ele,
I waited and shot on the 122. I was afraid that the 80 was too low to give 4u on. Would you have given the shot at 80?

I do know from mid cycle shots in past history that she takes at least 3 hours to react so odds are she would be about 130 before it hit if I shot at 80 but she's never reacted with such low numbers before and there's always the big but! With her changing, she could change that also. Her last curve was about 3 weeks ago. I suppose I will have to run another since her numbers are so different now. Her nadir has always been at about 7 hours.
 
I have shot below 100, but not until we had lots of numbers to know when Blackie goes up and how he usually reacts. And also, not unless someone will be home to test. So I think it's fine that you waited, I just couldn't tell from your spreadsheet. So really your +12 was 82 and your amps was 122 at +14. So it should take you a couple of days to get back on schedule. They say not to catch up more than a half hour per day or you will be over-filling the shed. I hope someone with more experience will come in and help you. We're almost as new as you.
 
Your ss looks like you are giving most of your shots late and there are no spot checks to see what's happening afterwards. Those spot checks are very important because you need to know where Racci's nadir is.
If you look at my two ss for Shadoe and Oliver, you will see that Shadoe has a nadir close to +4, but Oliver's is closer to +10. I order to know where Racci's nadir is, you will need a bit more data.
 
Yes, I have been actually giving them 2 hours late and trying to bring it a little earlier each day to get back on schedule but those green numbers keep throwing me off. You're right about the Amps actually being a +14.

I did have all the mid cycle history but unfortunately, lost it when I spilled that glass of water all over her log and the ink ran! I'm kicking myself and will never forgive myself for that one! Her nadir is usually +7-+8, occasionally +6. She doesn't react to her shot for at least 3 hours so I do not test until +4 usually. Anything sooner is a waste of a pinhole in her ear. I've been really busy this past week also so it's been difficult to get the tests. Today I'll test at +4 (in an hour) and at +7 to try to catch the nadir, then at her pmps (hopefully once, I've been having to do the am & pmps's twice since they've been so low). So actually I know how she reacts but can't show it in a ss since that history is lost.

Ele, what does Fat mean on your ss?

Gayle, I'll look at your ss's also. +4 is a really fast nadir! Wow! Racci is usually +7.

Thanks!

Melanie & Racci
 
Gayle,

Your ss's are really complicated. It seems you're giving two types of insulin? How many times do you shoot them per day? With only a 4 hour nadir, does he have to have insulin every 8 hours?

Melanie & Racci
 
Melanie,
If you think Shadoe's is early, maybe you should look at Oliver's as his is almost +10!
For all you know, Racci could be like Oliver where the lowest is just before your ps! Actually that's a good thing because I know he is going up after shot.

if your am shot is 2hrs late and the pm shot is 2hrs late, that's actually a 12hour spacing making your pm shot NOT late. At any rate, the more info you gather, the more you know.
 
Melanie,
I use Levemir as my longer lasting insulin and those shots are 12/12 and also the Humulin R to start working right away.
To use Phoebe's words:
Also -- many high dose beans give a "bolus" of a very fast acting insulin "R" to initially reduce the blood sugar before the more gentle insulin kicks in.

Think of it like a very high fever, and you give some excedrin, but you know that takes an hour to work, right? So you do something like use a bag of ice to cool the body or dunk the body in a tub of cold water to get some immediate drop of the temp.
My Levemir is my excedrin or aspirins; my shots of R are like a dip in the cold water, to pull the number down quick and hopefully it holds the number down until the medicine has time to get working in the body.

Many people have what they call a sliding scale to let them know how much R to use for how high of a number. For Shadoe, I seldom need R now, but you will see when I give her a bit, like .75u, her number was a bit on the high side, so I want to yank it down until the Lev begins to work.
For Shadoe I see some reaction by about +3; for Oliver, about +4 or later, but he's just very different.

So, Lev is given every 12 hours, and R is given if they have a number that's too high.
The R should start working in an hour and be gone by the next hour; it's in, pulls down, then fizzles out. Just as the R is fizzling, the Lev is taking the handoff and continues to hold the number down.
 
With such low amps, I wouldn't be surprised if Racci's nadir had changed to to +11!. I can't stay up all night to test though. I get little enough sleep as it is. Will just have to get her while I'm awake.

Thanks for explaining the insulins. You have your hands full with two of them resistant!

Melanie & Racci
 
A few housekeeping items:

Please copy and paste the http:// location from your previous day's condo into your first post of the day. It will allow us to go back and look at information that may be important for continuity.

I would suggest editing your SS for two things: (1) add a note indicating that you lost a lot of the mid-cycle data due to a water spill and (2) pui a note in your comments section when you shot late.
 
Melanie,
I test only when I am home and not sleeping; I still go to work during the week, and try to sleep every nite :lol: In most cases, people just catch a test just before they go to bed and that's that.
For me, during the week, I am at work from amps to pmps, so I can't test either. I just do curves on the weekends.

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest
How to do a Curve

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Sienne,

I'll add the link. I forgot it. That's a good idea to add the note to the ss to explain the missing data between the old sheet and new one and all the history in between. I'll do that too.

Gayle,

Do you do a curve every weekend and do you test every hour? I usually test every two hours on a curve and don't do them that often. I do them on any changes like this one so she's due now and usually every 3 weeks or so otherwise. She's been pretty much the same for a long time until she changed insulins. On normal days I just test for pre-shots and when she's changing like this I try to get a nadir and maybe one more in addition to the normal two tests.

I knew how Racci reacted but she's been surprising me lately so it's time to start over with new curves for the Lantus. She seems to be handling it differently lately. She was never this low at her amps before. It was always a high point for her in the past. Her PS is not differing much from her nadir or she has a new nadir that I haven't found yet. It almost seems like the pm shot is too much for her and needs to be lowered.
Thanks,

Melanie & Raccci
 
Melanie,
I likely test more than some people but I like to know what's going on so I know what to do for dosing.
It all depends but some tests are always the same for us. Until you know how Racci reacts to Lantus, the more data you can get, the better. You can look at their ss and see where we test.

I sometimes get a +11 in the morn because |Oliver have a very late nadir with sometimes his amps being the lowest number; it's weird but if I had not done a fair bit of testing earlier I would not see where his lowest numbers happened.
For Shadoe, she does not react much before +3 and Oliver not till around +4, so there is not much point in testing their +1 ever. Sometimes I test every 2hrs or every 3hrs, then other days, I may just get a +4 and +8.
If I give some R, it's a fast acting insulin so I may get a +2, just to see.
I am out shortly after their amps so there are no tests till I am home from work shortly before pmps. I try to get a couple tests in the evenings and especially one just before going to bed.
On the weekends are the best for curves for me and I'll test every 2 or 3 hrs.

Nadirs can change. Shadoe's used to be earlier but she seems to be moving later. Oliver is closer to +8 thru to +11.

Yes I test like crazy but man, do I ever have data! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top