5/24 Leo PMPS 392, +2 398, +4 306

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Yesterdayhttp://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43950

Morning All,

Someone went on a hunger strike last night over Friskies Chefs Dinner, and was completely starving this morning. I could hear his tummy growling when I was getting his insulin ready.......poor Leo. I thought he liked the Chefs Dinner, but apparently not. He even woke me up a half hour early for breffis.

Leo had a good night despite the fur shot, I on the other hand did not. I was feeling pretty guilty and upset. Leo seemed to know and I got some of his little kitty hugs. The one where he wraps his little paws around my neck and head butts and purrs into my ears.It definitely cheered me up.

Well ugly number today but I gave him a good shot and hopefully he comes down nice instead of crashing.....sheesh there's just no need to be dramatic like that.

Btb for this gal, talk to you all later.
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448

Don't be too hard on yourself Tracy. He will come back down. You are such a good mamma bean and Leo knows it. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448

I love when they purr right in your ear! So cute. Sorry to hear about your fur shot and high number this am. Let's talk both Guinness and Leo down off that fourth floor, don't they know the real party is in the Lobby? Have a better day today!
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448

Poor Leo! It took a while for my non-diabetic cat, Bebe, to get used to Chef's Dinner cans. Now he loves them. I think most cats prefer the chicken dinner can from Friskies, though. Have you tried it before?

I hope you're enjoying your btb. :)
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448

Boy, hate to see Leo on the upper deck. Hopefully, he'll gracefully descend for you today so you don't have to worry any. Come on, Leo, be a pal!!! :-D
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448

I'm thinking that Leo is at a dose that's really not working for him. Let's see how he does this cycle. You might want to take a look at the protocol. Generally, you don't want to hold a dose more than 3 days. If nadirs are below 200, you can hold for 5 days. Leo's been at this dose since 5/10.
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320

Sienne, thank you! I asked the other day about his dose and Jill felt that i should hold out and see what happens. I agree that this dose isnt working as well as it was previously. I will increase tonight unless i am told otherwise.

Leo isn't really a big friskies fan, he's more of a FF man. I try out different flavors just so he doesn't get bored. He doesn't seem to mind friskies chicken dinner but i can't feed it to him everyday otherwise he goes on a hunger strike like this morning.
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320

Here's what Jill wrote, just so Sienne know's what her rationale was for recommending you hold.

hi tracy. i think you guys are doing great especially when you consider you're alternating leo's care between your grandparents and yourself! btw, kudos to your grandparents. they're awesome for helping you and leo out!

as far as dose goes... i'm kind of on the fence about whether the dose should be increased or not. on the surface, it looks like there's room for an increase, BUT after reading the "remarks" noted on your spreadsheet... i'm not so sure.

when leo drops to the 70s and 80s he's being fed hc. you're not using the alphatrak meter, right? if not, a little bit of lc is probably all you need to control the curve. since you'll be home the next three weeks, i think i'd stick with the current dose for at least a few more days. try using small amounts of lc rather than hc to control the curve (unless he drops below 50). i have a feeling you'll see a lot more green on his ss.

once we see what happens, we can re-evaluate the dose.
just my thoughts...
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320

Thanks Patty, great thinking of putting that on here, it didn't even cross my mind to do that :oops:
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320

The only reason I thought to was because I was curious as to what Jill had said because I remember thinking that what she said made sense, but I couldn't remember why! :lol:
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320, +4 252

Geez Leo is covering each floor each hour....cmon Leo go to blue at +5 and green at +6!!!!

Sigh.....i can dream, right? :lol:
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320, +4 252, +6 184 PMPS 392

RAINBOW KITTY!!!!

DOn't feel guilty, Tracy. We've ALL given fur shots!!! Leo has even shown you he can recover quickly. As you know, many of us have bouncy kitties!!

Good luck with your dose decision.
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320, +4 252, +6 184 PMPS 392

Well I increased my lil rat to 2.50 u tonight.

I'm really really ready for greens, and ready for a poke-a-thon......do you hear me Leo? :lol:

I even turned down a date and another chance to have a few beverages with some friends.......so Leo had better pull thru and show me the money!!! :-D
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320, +4 252, +6 184 PMPS 392

You heard her, Leo...MamaBean is making big sacrifices for you, you'd better pay up!!!

He had a decent cycle today.Good luck with the increase!!!
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320, +4 252, +6 184 PMPS 392

He had better pay up! Or I might have to rough him up....a little. Joking of course

Does anyone know what the carb percentage is in FF chicken feast pate? I couldn't find it on Janet and binkys list but I bought 4 cans of it.

PS it's got pink labeling on it
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320, +4 252, +6 184 PMPS 392

Tracy, it looks as though both our boys wanted to wear yellow for a bit today.. That's nice to see. Now we just need to get that pmps number out of his system and let this new dose kick in so he can start to feel even better.
Tracy & Leo said:
I even turned down a date and another chance to have a few beverages with some friends.......so Leo had better pull thru and show me the money!!!
Those are some pretty strong fightin words Leo, better listen to your momma!! :lol:
 
Re: 5/24 Leo AMPS 448, +3 320, +4 252, +6 184 PMPS 392

From what I can see, anything flaked, marinated, chunky, grilled, etc...would be considered higher carb, from MC to HC.
Regular pate's are usually under 5%, possibly from 2 to 4% carb.
EDIT: well, it varies, some fishy flavours , flaked, are low too.
and keep in mind, ECID too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top