5/24 Gem AMPS 366; +4 271; +7 253; PMPS 447; +4 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkbank

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71630

Good morning all

Pretty happy with Gem's AMPS, and her overall curve yesterday. Sure, be great if the numbers were lower overall, but pretty smooth, I think.

Increased her to 2.75u, though it was pretty hard to get that so it's really either a fat 2.5 or skinny 3!!

Won't be home til +4, will leave food out for her.

Have a great day!
Karen
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366 dose increase

I know. I hate those .25s and .75s. What I do is I look at the sliver of light between the top of the plunger and the next line up (assuming your needle is facing skyward) and try to be as consistant as possible. I also take an old or unused syringe and put a dot of finger nail polish on the end of it to mark it, and us it for my example syringe. I try to duplicate the new dose in the example syringe and leave it close by so I can use it to compare the doses to.

Good luck with the new dose. :-D
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366 dose increase

Hi guys .. it's nice to see nice smooth curves .. even if for awhile they are in the higher numbers .. lower numbers will come in time! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366 dose increase

Thanks guys!

+4 271 - not bad!

Dyana - it's not so much that I can't eyeball it, it's that I can't push or pull the plunger smoothly enough to get it so tight. I'll just focus on keeping it consistent in the same spot, even if it's not exactly 2/75.
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366; +4 271; +7 253; +9 268 What do we thi

What do we think so far guys? I'm pretty happy with today. Staying in the yellows, nothing too drastic. Will see how the rest of the day goes. I'm sure Gem is happy I'm not poking her so much :)
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366; +4 271; +7 253; +9 268; PMPS 447??

PMPS 447 - feels high to me but what do I know?!?

Any thoughts on today's numbers? I like a mostly yellow day for now!
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366; +4 271; +7 253; +9 268; PMPS 447??

The 447 could be NDW (New Dose Wonkiness). Sometimes cats go higher for some reason, for a while, when a dose is increased. I wouldn't worry about it right now. How is she feeling/acting?
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366; +4 271; +7 253; +9 268; PMPS 447??

Dyana said:
The 447 could be NDW (New Dose Wonkiness). Sometimes cats go higher for some reason, for a while, when a dose is increased. I wouldn't worry about it right now. How is she feeling/acting?

She seems fine, same as always. Doesn't seem to be meowing quite so often for food. I'm thinking this is good, right? She eats at meal time, and loves her chicken after test time! Other than that, status quo. Last urine test still negative for ketones.
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366; +4 271; +7 253; +9 268; PMPS 447??

As a cat gets better regulated, their appetite diminishes. More nutrients are getting into the cells. The decreased appetite is a good thing.

This could, indeed, be NDW. It could also be a bit of a bounce.
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366; +4 271; +7 253; +9 268; PMPS 447??

PMPS +2 - 404

I think this dose is comfortable, no big swings except from +9 to PMPS. I also gave her her meds in pill pockets at +11.5 so that might have bumped it up a bit.

I'm confused about something - so I stay with this dose for a bit, see how she does…do the numbers potentially come down at this dose over time? I think yes, right, as her body gets used to it and starts doing a better job regulating?? And if they don't come down, or if they stay where they are, I would eventually increase again?

I've read the protocol over and over, makes sense when I read it, just hard sometimes to understand it in the real world :)
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366; +4 271; +7 253; +9 268; PMPS 447??

jkbank said:
I'm confused about something - so I stay with this dose for a bit, see how she does…do the numbers potentially come down at this dose over time? I think yes, right, as her body gets used to it and starts doing a better job regulating?? And if they don't come down, or if they stay where they are, I would eventually increase again?

Hi Karen....I'm glad to hear things are going better with Gem. You'll want to stay at this dose for six cycles (unless we have bouncing in there and then it might be longer) and see how she does. Once any bounces have cleared and we see how low her nadir is, that can tell us whether she needs more insulin or not. It's impossible to say whether she will like this dose "over time" or not. We really don't want her to stay there for long if the numbers stay high. One because they can become insulin resistant and also because of glucose toxicity. Here's some great info Julie put togehter on the latter topic: glucose toxicity

So, the goal is to keep moving them up in accordance with the protocol until they start seeing nadirs in normal numbers (50-120).
 
Re: 5/24 Gem AMPS 366; +4 271; +7 253; +9 268; PMPS 447??

Marjorie - thanks for the clarification, I think I get it :)

One other thing then - am I right or wrong in thinking her curves have been decent today and yesterday? I know the numbers themselves are still high, but I'm thinking more about the shape of the curve, for lack of a better word. Or is that irrelevant? In theory would we want the AMPS and PMPS to be around the same? I know the dosing is based on the nadir, but in terms of how lantus works, would that be what you'd want?

Do these questions make sense?!

FYI at PMPS +4 she is down to 311!

Thanks so much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top