5/24 Eegie AMPS=139; NO SHOT; +3=229;+7=330;PMPS=433

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sgans and Eegie - GA

Member Since 2015
So, this morning, Eegie ate 1/2 oz on his own of raw turkey, and then drank about 2tbsp milk BEFORE test (turkey was about 2 hours before, milk was only 15 minutes before). And still - SUCH a low AMPS for him!

He's wonky, that's for sure - 2 nights ago, the PMPS was about here. Is it possible to have such a seemingly 18 hour cycle? He was so regular before.

Speaking of regular - he did pee and poop today (poop's not pretty, but it's getting out there, which after last week's constipation/enema thing is a good thing). I'm going to feed again in 1/2 hour, since he's not going to be ready. Moving a bit more today - having an aware and (for him) active morning, and purred his contented purr (and gave me cranky purr on BG test time). Signs that he feels more normal.

So... anybody got any ideas on the weird times for low numbers?

Link to Yesterday
 
It can several cycles for the depot to refilled after a skip, and today was only the third cycle after the skip. If Eegie had been eating properly and you were home to monitor, it might have been interesting to shoot that 139 and see what happened. Shooting when they are low often means much flatter cycles.

If you are finding you have to skip shots so frequently at 1.5 units, it might be better to take the dose back down to 1.25 units so he can get insulin every 12 hours. Another option to consider for today only is to give him insulin in what would have been mid cycle or +6. You'd then skip tonight's shot and go back on schedule tomorrow morning. That is two back to back 18 hour cycles and can be easier on them than a complete skip. But that only works if you are around and can monitor after the shot.
 
Thank you @Wendy&Neko - if this wasn't a holiday with company and outings, I'd be able to monitor quite a bit more closely - but I have to drive people around and actually won't even be here at +6. That's part of why I chose to not shoot at all (I was even gonna give a .5 'cause I know he's gonna skyrocket by night, but decided against it. I can see your logic though - just sucks that the depot gets set back again...

He doesn't wanna eat again - but I'm doing syringes of his regular raw food today and he's taking it, so I know he's getting some nutrition and some bulk. Hopefully, his appetite'll return (as it sometimes does when BG is higher - not the reason I prefer, but the result is okay with me for now). Guess we're on a roller coaster on BG and shots until at least Tuesday (why do things ALWAYS happen on holidays!!!???)

Thank you though - you've confirmed what I thought was probably happening...
 
You can only do what you can. Safety first. The 18 hour option can be a nice one for certain occasions. I think I might be using next weedend myself.

Have a good holiday weekend!
 
@Wendy&Neko , I actually think it's a brilliant idea. Really helps on days you can't control, like attending. Wedding or something. Knowin you can go at +6, and start the next day fresh removes some of the pressure.

I just wish it fit this weirdassed weekend.

Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top