5/24, Dusty AMPS 353, PMPS 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Dusty

Member Since 2012
Last condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95494

After my hopes of keeping nice and up-to-date on these condos, life intervened and kept me away from the computer for much of last week. And what a frustrating week it has been!

Dusty's numbers, after having a nice burst of blues and greens, has jumped back up to the land of the pinks. I held her at 2.5 for a bit too long, I think, and this morning I've upped her dose to 2.75. I wish I knew what on earth was going on to make her numbers go up like this. The insulin is about four months old, but has no floaties and still smells like normal (which is to say, like bandaids)...but I'm wondering whether I should get a new vial just to make sure it's not the insulin losing its effectiveness.

Her allergies are still bad, but they were just as bad two weeks ago when she had some quite decent numbers. There's no change in food, in types of treats, or anything that might speak to why we've got the numbers that we do. Although she *did* get her first flea treatment of the season a few days ago. Regardless, her numbers were high prior to that as well, so I rather doubt that it's the treatment that caused the higher trend.

There are lots of purrs and a fine amount of poo. Still preening just fine, though with quite a bit of help from me to get rid of all of her winter undercoat. She's eating well and is drinking and peeing more than I'd like, but with numbers this high I guess that's to be expected. She still goes to the backyard to explore for about an hour a day, which is really the only sort of 'play' that she's doing at the moment. She doesn't feel well when her BG gets this high, and it shows in her behavior. Poor love.

She went to the vet about two weeks ago and her bloodwork came back normal, save for borderline numbers for CRF. (Those numbers have remained steady, though, for the last six months so we're basically in a holding pattern for that.) I just brought them in some urine a few days ago and it came back negative for UTI, borderline for urine concentration (which was the reason I brought it in for analysis in the first place), and showed no ketones and no glucose in the urine. I'm quite happy about that last part, but, again, quite confused. She's had high numbers recently and I was expecting it to be reflected by quite a bit of sugar spilling into the urine.

So...yeah...I'm just frustrated. I have no idea what's causing this upward trend and really hope to see some lower trends soon. :sad:
 
Re: 5/24, Dusty AMPS 353, +2 375 Very frustrated

Don't know what else to tell you about the numbers going higher and higher except to increase the dose which you already decided to do.

Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 5/24, Dusty AMPS 353, +2 375 Very frustrated

Maybe your insulin is getting a little toasty after 4 months....
If you don't get much of a response in the next day or so from the increase.... I'd suspect the insulin. ( depends since only you know how
good your fridge is for being consistent temperature-wise.
 
Re: 5/24, Dusty AMPS 353, +2 375 Very frustrated

I think you're on target with increasing the dose. It's possible that the allergies are effecting numbers. I know you give Dusty Zyrtec. Had you thought about adding some omega-3 to Dusty's diet? It can help with inflammation related to allergy.

Ella and Marje also use an allergy product the name of which is escaping me.

The only other thing that might be contributing to numbers is if Dusty needs a dental. Otherwise, all you can do is raise the dose.
 
Re: 5/24, Dusty AMPS 353, +2 375 Very frustrated

Ella gives Allergen to Rusty. I think that's the same thing that Marje uses. Lyresa (Squeaky & KT) gives this to one of her civies, Leo.
Liz
ETA: Right, Allerplex.
 
Re: 5/24, Dusty AMPS 353, +2 375 Very frustrated

Hi all,

Thanks for the suggestions, everyone! You are all so wonderful. I threw myself into some house cleaning to vent some of the frustration (and make the house a bit more hypo-allergenic for Dusty) and have just gotten back online to check on things properly. The vet checked Dusty's teeth about a month ago and all seemed well. I'll give them a glance myself when I test and dose her tonight to see if I can see some signs of inflammation.

Thanks so much for the suggestion for Allerplex. I'm going to order some and see if it works. And I hadn't thought of omega-3. But at this stage I'm totally open to anything that will help. I think I'll try the Allerplex and, if things continue as they are, will try the omega-3.

And then there's always the possibility of the Lantus getting old. Payday is a week from today, so I'm hoping to hold off until then to get the new vial. Though if these numbers keep up for the next few days, I'll probably break down and just but it on the credit card.

Thanks again for the suggestions...I really, really appreciate them! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
A nicer PMPS. And I was glad to see her drop into blue territory, if only for a bit today.

Amazon sells 40 capsules of the Allerplex for $10 (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0006IIEWM/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20), which seems like a good way to see if it'll help Dusty without having to pay the $45 for the standard bottle of 150 capsules. I just ordered some and am looking forward to seeing if they're as effective as it has been for others. So thanks for those who suggested it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top