5/23 Nellie AMPS 93 +1 120 +3 122 +5 105 +8 117 - dental question

Skyynett

Member Since 2022
yesterday/today - https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-118-5-101-9-75-155-increase-slightly.263638/

reposting in new condo -
Hi tiffmaxee Bandit's Mom Wendy&Neko so I'm in a slight conundrum, would love some advice. Today I noticed Nellie's back tooth looking like either it has a small crack OR possibly it might just be tartar, which the vet had noticed mild build up in March. The vet had wanted to wait to get her diabetes more under control before doing a cleaning. I emailed the vet to get a cleaning/dental apt ASAP given the possibility of a broken or chipped tooth and they are seeing her this Thursday am.

Vet thinks she is currently on 3 units of Lantus (I increased to 3.25 last night). On Thursday, they want me to feed her a little bit early in the am but skip her am shot on 5/26, bring her in and bring her supplies and they will give her the dose when it is safe to do so. I am leaning towards reducing to the 3 units this pm and hold that dose until after she has her cleaning, since I know it is a safe dose for her. I want the dose to match whatever the vet thinks she is on during the procedure, in case god forbid something happens.

I know she hasn't earned a reduction, but this will just help calm some anxiety and make me feel a lot better about the whole thing. Did want to check first if this is a terrible idea/get feedback in general. Of course, after the procedure if she is still in these same numbers I will increase to 3.25.

EDIT: Per @Wendy&Neko's response in the thread in yesterday's condo, going to reduce to 3 units leading up to the apt.

Also, has anyone given their cat gabapentin prior to a dental apt? My vet said it's fine to give it to her since she gets so crabby but wanted to see if this was solid advice or best not to mix so many meds.
 
yesterday/today - https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-118-5-101-9-75-155-increase-slightly.263638/

reposting in new condo -
Hi tiffmaxee Bandit's Mom Wendy&Neko so I'm in a slight conundrum, would love some advice. Today I noticed Nellie's back tooth looking like either it has a small crack OR possibly it might just be tartar, which the vet had noticed mild build up in March. The vet had wanted to wait to get her diabetes more under control before doing a cleaning. I emailed the vet to get a cleaning/dental apt ASAP given the possibility of a broken or chipped tooth and they are seeing her this Thursday am.

Vet thinks she is currently on 3 units of Lantus (I increased to 3.25 last night). On Thursday, they want me to feed her a little bit early in the am but skip her am shot on 5/26, bring her in and bring her supplies and they will give her the dose when it is safe to do so. I am leaning towards reducing to the 3 units this pm and hold that dose until after she has her cleaning, since I know it is a safe dose for her. I want the dose to match whatever the vet thinks she is on during the procedure, in case god forbid something happens.

I know she hasn't earned a reduction, but this will just help calm some anxiety and make me feel a lot better about the whole thing. Did want to check first if this is a terrible idea/get feedback in general. Of course, after the procedure if she is still in these same numbers I will increase to 3.25.

EDIT: Per @Wendy&Neko's response in the thread in yesterday's condo, going to reduce to 3 units leading up to the apt.

Also, has anyone given their cat gabapentin prior to a dental apt? My vet said it's fine to give it to her since she gets so crabby but wanted to see if this was solid advice or best not to mix so many meds.
I give my kitty gambapentin when we go to the specialist hospital which is very busy and loud and freaked her out. I'd check with the vet to be sure he approves the amount you give her because it is a sedative and he will be giving her anesthesia. Overall it is great.if I give her 1ml she is out all day.. you probably don't need that much. A smaller dose makes her sleepy and calmer.
Good luck
 
I give my kitty gambapentin when we go to the specialist hospital which is very busy and loud and freaked her out. I'd check with the vet to be sure he approves the amount you give her because it is a sedative and he will be giving her anesthesia. Overall it is great.if I give her 1ml she is out all day.. you probably don't need that much. A smaller dose makes her sleepy and calmer.
Good luck
Thank you!! Hopefully this will help her feel more calm.
 
Back
Top