5/23 Maggie PMPS 212; +3 240 - did a BCS re: dental tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yeserday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43890

Morning and a high blue for Missy Maggie. She is in a really good mood. She sure is filling the box with big urine clumps. The Vet says her kidneys are working harder, and I will be worried tomorrow with her undergoing dental anesthesia even though the Vet reassured me they will monitor and keep her longer to make sure everything is okay. After her teeth are taken care of and settled down, I am going to make a real effort to brush her teeth. She doesn't like her mouth touched and even the Vet says she has a strong clench when he was opening her mouth and examining her teeth. All P's in place, and she's very playful and is focused on looking out the patio for Mr, Raccoon and whatever little wild life comes along. Take care everyone.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie AMPS 199 ATrak

I'm sure to stop by with good wishes tomorrow, but a few extra today won't hurt. I'll keep you and Miss Maggie in my thoughts and prayers a day early.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie AMPS 199 ATrak

Must be dental week in LL! I'm sure Maggie will do really well during the dental but I'm sure you will be glad once it is over. Sending you lots of healing thoughts for tomorrow. Glad to know that she is doing so well this morning!
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie AMPS 199 ATrak

Morning guys! Maggie sounds happy this morning - ever watchful for fun things to cross her path.

Good luck with the dental tomorrow. And even more good luck with the teeth brushing. I know that I too should be doing that for Mannie, but he is so reluctant to have anyone mess with his mouth. What a battle it is, and he usually wins. :YMSIGH:

Have a great day guys. Try not to worry too much about tomorrow - I am sure Maggie will be fine.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie AMPS 199; +3 163 ATrak

163 at +3 - I wasn't expecting this drop! confused_cat but I welcome it. Maggie was acting hungry, so I quick got the syringe and tested her. Oh geesh, I just tried giving her a little of the FF Tender Beef & Chicken Feast, and she would have nothing to do with it. So it's a big X for FF Chicken Feast and another X for FF Tender Beef & Chicken Feast. Back to FF Seafood Feast!! Oh I do have FF Liver & Chicken to try on her yet!

Thanks Georgia, Bev and Michelle for stopping by and wishing us good wishes tomorrow on the dental.
Michelle, looks like we both have a problem with our kitties not wanting anyone to mess with their mouth. Maggie loves the C.E.T. toothpaste, but only wants to lick it from my finger.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie AMPS 199; +3 163 ATrak

Good morning Ann & Maggie! Nice pretty colors to start your week off with. Do you know anything about the Fancy Feast flaked? I just found them at Petsmart and can't find much on their carb count, other than it is under 10. Tarragon is really sick of the chicken and beef and I am having a hard time as well trying to mix it up.

Good luck on the dental tomorrow!!!
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie AMPS 199; +3 163 ATrak

Good morning guys .. I am sure maggie will be fine for her dental and she will be showing off her pearly whites in no time .. mocha also never got into the toothbrush part of teeth cleaning, but she sure did like licking the paste off our fingers! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie AMPS 199; +3 163 ATrak

Hi Devon, thanks for the good wishes for the dental. It looks like quite a few of our kitties will not let the Beans brush their teeth! Have a nice day and thanks for stopping by today. Scritches to Mocha from me and Maggie.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie AMPS 199; +3 163 ATrak

I'll start wishing you and Maggie good luck with the dental tomorrow. I'm sure she will do fine tomorrow, but I'd be worried as well.

I know I should be brushing Leo's teeth too, but he also hates it when I mess with his mouth. I tried last week to brush his teeth and I got my hands and toofbrush kicked with the back legs.

Have a great day you 2!
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie AMPS 199; +3 163; +9 202 ATrak

Good morning Ann & Maggie! Nice pretty colors to start your week off with. Do you know anything about the Fancy Feast flaked? I just found them at Petsmart and can't find much on their carb count, other than it is under 10. Tarragon is really sick of the chicken and beef and I am having a hard time as well trying to mix it up.

Hi Melissa, I just checked Janet & Binky's list under the "Old Canned Foods" list, and it looks like the Flaked Tuna Feast is 6 carbs and the Flaked Tuna & Mackerel Feast is 7 carbs, so not too bad. For some reason Maggie won't even touch the FF chicken and beef! confused_cat Her teeth must be bothering as she is mostly sucking the juice.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie AMPS 199; +3 163; +9 202 ATrak

I know I should be brushing Leo's teeth too, but he also hates it when I mess with his mouth. I tried last week to brush his teeth and I got my hands and toofbrush kicked with the back legs.

Hi Tracy & Leo, thanks for the good wishes for the dental tomorrow. I had to laugh with Leo kicking with his back legs at your hands and toofbrush. They do give us a hard time! I hope you are having a nice day.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212 DOSE ADVICE FOR PM SHOT

AMPS 199
+3 163
+9 202
PMPS 212

Tomorrow is Maggie's dental. I was thinking of no shot for the pm shot or a bcs shot. Maggie is running a little high (for Maggie usual numbers), but the way she's been surprising me, I hesitate to give the .10. She's barely on two drops. Any advice from the advisors? I'll definitely be skipping tomorrow's shot.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212 DOSE ADVICE FOR PM SHOT

Hi Ann
Im leaning on the 2 drops, but do what is comfortable for u.

I hope Maggie has a good dental visit tomorrow. Try not to worry, yea right!
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212 DOSE ADVICE FOR PM SHOT

Hi Roni, I looked at my last dental, and I didn't give Maggie an am or pm shot, but in those days she was much lower. I have the syringe all ready and kept releasing drops until I'm down to one drop, so it's a little less or a half dose. What do you think? I guess I shouldn't worry with such a low dose, but every drop seems to make a big difference! No, I'm not worried, not at all, yeah right! :lol:
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212 DOSE ADVICE FOR PM SHOT

What did u decide?
She will be ok, remember u have foods to help her along.
Or even if u skip, maybe get a good nite's rest. :)
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212 DOSE ADVICE FOR PM SHOT

Hi Annie......Me, I tend to err on the side of caution......I'm sure others would chime in....It is safer to be higher and if you are concerned than you can skip and then pick right up after the dental with relatively little worries.

And Guardian Angel Al will be watching over Maggie tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212 DOSE ADVICE FOR PM SHOT

we'll be thinking of lil miss maggie tomorrow and wishing her well through her dental! i'm sure she'll do well. not much safer place to be than a vet's office.

for you, we prescribe coffee out with a friend while maggie is in doing her thing!
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212 DOSE ADVICE FOR PM SHOT

Hi Roni, thanks a lot for your help. Well, "big chicken" that I am - I went ahead and shot the "one drop". I hope that is okay. I think maybe I probably should have done the two drops. I just confirmed with the Vet, and they said no food after 9:00 pm, so she could be running low by the time of surgery, right, with no food that long! I confirmed twice about the no food after 9 pm! Also, no water in the morning. I guess each Vet is different, as Tena's Vet said no food after 12 midnight!

Hi Tena, I went ahead and just did the drop, yes, err on the side of caution. And thank you for Guardian Angel Al watching over Maggie tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212 DOSE ADVICE FOR PM SHOT

Hi Roni, thanks a lot for your help. Well, "big chicken" that I am - I went ahead and shot the "one drop". I hope that is okay. I think maybe I probably should have done the two drops. I just confirmed with the Vet, and they said no food after 9:00 pm, so she could be running low by the time of surgery, right, with no food that long! I confirmed twice about the no food after 9 pm! Also, no water in the morning. I guess each Vet is different, as Tena's Vet said no food after 12 midnight!

Hi Tena, I went ahead and just did the drop, yes, err on the side of caution. And thank you for Guardian Angel Al watching over Maggie tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212

That sounds good. Good luck. Keep us posted.

Wow...there really is a big difference in Vets...And mine sd she could have access to water even though she doesn't drink it.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212

for you, we prescribe coffee out with a friend while maggie is in doing her thing!

Hi Julie, :lol: that's a good idea, and I was thinking it might be a good idea, too. Thanks for the good wishes for Maggie's dental.

Hi Tena, Yes it is surprising the difference. I think my last Vet said no food after 12 am and water was always okay? I'll keep you posted.
 
Re: 5/23 Maggie PMPS 212; +3 240 - did a BCS re: dental tomo

Ann: We'll be thinking of Maggie tomorrow and hoping the vet is quick and she gets home fast back into her mamabean's arms!!!

My vet is different than most: water anytime...no taking it away. Food up until six hours before anesthesia. She learned it from our board certified veterinary anesthesiologist who said cats actually do better with a TINY bit of food but not within the six hour timeframe. But every vet IS different so best to follow what your vet says.

Good luck......sending lots of positive thoughts your way for Miss Maggie tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top