5/23 Harley PMPS 407, 330 +3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
I ahve not posted for a couple of days but hope to get back here.

Last night was a rought one.

I got home and gave his shot a little late – 15-30 minutes late and he had dinner as usual. About 1:00 am (+7), I got up to feed everyone and Harley was on his pillow sleeping away. He did not get up to come into the kitchen, so I took the food and put it next to the pillow. When I came back out, Harley was by the food, staring straight ahead, not eating. His head would not follow me or would he look at me directly. I scooped him up, tested and all I got was Lo. Tested again, same thing. When got the HC and gave him some. All he would do is lay there and stare at it. I got the Karo, but again, no response. I finally had to force feed him the karo. Kept testing – 1 min Lo, 3 min Lo, 5 min Lo, 9 min 27. Finally after 15 min he was 88. He was alert enough to start eating the HC and devoured about 3/4 can I tested after 45 min and he was 346. This AM 446..to be expected after all I gave him. Today, he is not acting himself. Laying around but eating well.

Hope to update ss tonight with everything.

Pattie
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43582
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

Wow, how scary! I'm so glad you caught those low numbers and were able to feed him enough to get him up .. I hope that he starts acting like himself soon, I'm sure that must be a worry right now .. at least he is eating!
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

Wow, I can only imagine what that was like. I'd rather deal with a high than a low like that. Hugs.
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

what a scary experience, pattie. i'm so sorry the two of you went through it.
we'll be happy to offer suggestions if you're looking for input once your ss is updated...
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

Wow, Pattie, I'm so so glad you get his numbers back up last night.. I hope he starts to feel better real soon.. Keeping our paws crossed for you both!!
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

I went through the exact same thing last night! I am so sorry this has happened to you guys! My Smokey is just not acting right today either...very slow and lazy and now testing, "HI"!
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

Oh my goodness... I am so glad that you caught the low number and were able to remain calm to get Harley back up to a safe number. Hope he starts feeling like his normal self later tonight.
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

I typed calmly - but last night I was a ball of nerves. Especially when he would not eat or take the karo...

Pattie
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

well of course you were. that would unnerve anyone. good job taking care of him - sounds like you did absolutely everything right.

i hope when you've got a chance to regroup, jill and others can offer ideas to try to keep him in better numbers!
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

that is scary for sure....yes you sound so calm in your message but i bet it was different when you were in that moment....hope the experts can chime in on options for Harley....

(((hugs to both of you)))
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

Pattie: I can only imagine how scared you must have been.......you reacted in a calm manner and got him up. I hope he will start feeling better; I'm sure that does a number on the system for a little bit.
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

Wow, scary night for you guys. Thank goodness you got up when you did!! I hope he starts feeling like himsellf soon...

Amy
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

Last night I shot 5.75u lantus. Tonight I plan to shoot 5.5u. That is what I shot this AM.

Pattie
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

pattie, replying to your PM here...

because of previous commitments i am not able to really study harley's spreadsheet until later tonight. however, please do NOT shoot the same dose tonight that sent harley into a symptomatic hypo last night. reduce the dose.

there are some signs indicating harley has been over dose. if i were in your shoes, i would take the dose down to 5u tonight, but that's just me. i'd rather work my way up than deal with careening down the dosing scale. let the counterregulatory hormones clear. continue testing for ketones.

i also want to get more eyes on harley's spreadsheet. i'll be back later..
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

Harley and Pattie said:
What happened with Smokey...let me know.

Pattie
what happened with smokey is completely different than what's going on with harley.
no comparison.
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

Responding here to your PM.
OMG Pattie. IMHO I would call that a hypo. Pattie, if you haven't shot already, I would definitely take the dose down like Jill said. Also, I have heard that when they have a hypo incident that they are extra sensitive to insulin. I don't know if that is the same with IAA kitties. These are just my thoughts.
But my wishes are..Good Luck with the Dosecrease :-D
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

Hi
Im sorry u went thru this- how scary!

I have a food question, do u have a timed feeder for overnite and when ur not home?
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

((((Pattie)))) how scary, thank goodness you woke up!

I will spend some time studying your spreadsheet tonight too. I'm sure we can come up with some solutions. For now, I agree with Jill that a big reduction would be the safest thing for tonight.
 
Re: 5/23 Rough night for Harley and I

I do know that Smokey's incident last night would not have been the same as Harley's. I was just asking what happened and hopefully he is ok.

Yes, I only shot 5u tonight.

Harley is afraid of the timed feeder. I had one that the door flips up and it scared the "S" out of him. I then got the one that slides. It makes a slight noise and spooks Harley...he is the original scardy cat. I don't know of any others that would be available. I have not gone to Petsmart yet but that will be a stop.

Pattie
 
Re: 5/23 Harley PMPS 407

Pattie......Putty was also afraid of the time feeder. It was suggested that I let him eat from it for a week without setting the timer. After a week I put a treat inside and opened it in front of him a few times until he was no longer afraid. The one I use is the Cat Mate C20. The door opens slowly it is very quiet and it comes with an ice pack.
Here is the link http://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C20-Auto ... 725&sr=8-3
 
Re: 5/23 Harley PMPS 407

i asked some of the more experienced people to take a look at harley's spreadsheet. i think i can say with certainty we all agree there's far too many numbers in the 30s for comfort on harley's ss.

a few of us have suspected harley has been over dose for awhile now evidenced by how every 2 - 3 days he hits an extreme low and then bounces, then after 2 - 3 days goes extremely low again. although, he has seemed to flatten out some so he might be getting closer to the right dose.

libby brought up an interesting observation. on 5/7 you shot a BCS dose of 2.5 units. harley didn't seem to notice, didn't bounce from the green much, and got back on track immediately. obviously he has a lot of shed action, but one would have expected more of an impact than there was.

in my mind, these things reinforce the notion that harley could very well be over dose. on the way down the dosing scale acro and IAA kitties can often tolerate bigger reductions than diabetics who do not have high dose conditions.

because of the symptomatic hypo and the above, my suggestion would be to hold onto the 5u dose for a few days to get a clear picture of where harley is at. i know you're walking a fine line because harley is prone to ketones. you'd have to remain vigilant about testing for them. if he does start throwing ketones we'd have to re-evaluate.

fwiw, just some thoughts...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top