5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Dose ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +3.5 319

Hi guys .. yay for negative ketones! Hoping gem learns to surf .. but in lower numbers obviously :-D have a great day!
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +3.5 319; +5 285

I hope you get what you wish for, and she surfs some nice blue today. Wouldn't that be nice :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +5 285; PMPS 414 Good news/bad news

Hi all - can I get some eyes on Gem's spreadsheet please!

Good news - I think she had a nice looking curve today, not such extreme swings. However, nadir mid-lo 200's. It's been 3 days/6 cycles at 2.5u regularly spaced. We did get some blues in there, and what looked like some bounces. Any thoughts on the dose?

Bad news - Gem tore another big patch of skin off, it's so awful (not to mention I think it traumatized dd's friend who is over). I feel like it's one step forward two steps back with this poor cat :(

Thanks
Karen
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237; PMPS 414 Good news/bad news

Boy, you sure are doing a good job of testing. I actually don't think you need to test as much, but it's up to you. Especially when she's in the higher numbers, like it looks like she will be tonight. If it were me, I would test every 3 to 4 hours if J.D. was that high.

Mainly, the first thing I thought when I read your post, was I just wanted to send Hugs to you. You're doing so good by Gem.

I'm not absolutely sure of how to answer your dose question. So, I'll try to get some more eyes on your condo, and get back to you. With all the testing you're doing, I think you can increase by 0.25 to 2.75, as long as you can monitor her after you do the increase.

Does the new tear get in the way of you testing her? Does she need to go to the vet to get it looked at?
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237; PMPS 414 Good news/bad news

Aw, poor sweet Gem. Just wanted to let you know we're thinking of you :YMHUG: !
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237; PMPS 414 Good news/bad news

Boy, you sure are doing a good job of testing. I actually don't think you need to test as much, but it's up to you. Especially when she's in the higher numbers, like it looks like she will be tonight. If it were me, I would test every 3 to 4 hours if J.D. was that high.

LOL, yeah I kinda swung in the other direction, but I feel like when I'm home and have the chance I test so I can get as much info as possible. Who knows if there will be a time when I can't test as much and I want to have some data to fall back on.

Mainly, the first thing I thought when I read your post, was I just wanted to send Hugs to you. You're doing so good by Gem.

Thanks, I'm feeling kinda down right now about the whole thing, not sure my best is good enough :(

as long as you can monitor her after you do the increase.

I've already shot her tonight, I can increase tomorrow. What should I be looking for? Ketones? Anything else? I actually have to be out in the morning after her shot, wouldn't be back til around +4.

Does the new tear get in the way of you testing her? Does she need to go to the vet to get it looked at?

Luckily, no and no. There's not much the vet can really do for it. I just work on keeping it clean, keeping an eye out for signs of infection. She's on antibiotics for just this reason. I have her wrapped up in a bandage for now so she doesn't do any more damage.

Thanks for your help and good wishes.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237; PMPS 414 Good news/bad news

Thanks Amy and Linda, trying to keep my chin up :sad:
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237; PMPS 414 Good news/bad news

Hang in there! Did you get the info you need yet? Hopefully you'll get some advice from trained eyes soon.

IF you will edit the subject line in your FIRST post and put something about dose, it might attract more eyes.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237; PMPS 414 Good news/bad news

I think your dd's friend's reaction could have affected your mood, too. I know it would affect me and how I felt.

Hang in there :YMHUG: I'm glad she's on antibiotics to keep infections at bay.
Maybe, with a small dose adjustment, she'll be surfing along in some blue numbers real soon.
I think you're doing a fantastic job with her ;-)
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237; PMPS 414 Good news/bad news

Dyana said:
I think your dd's friend's reaction could have affected your mood, too. I know it would affect me and how I felt.

Hang in there :YMHUG: I'm glad she's on antibiotics to keep infections at bay.
Maybe, with a small dose adjustment, she'll be surfing along in some blue numbers real soon.
I think you're doing a fantastic job with her ;-)

Thanks Dyana - you know, we are so used to what she looks like that it doesn't really faze us, we forget how awful it is. So when someone comes over, we see Gem through their eyes, and it's scary. My own kids are somewhat immune to it as well, but this poor girl (they're 12) was already a bit freaked out by her and then watched Gem scratch herself and tear again.

Re dose adjustment, I hope so. Not sure I have eyes enough to measure that in-between dose but I will give it my best shot.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

I agree with Dyana on both counts - you are doing an amazing job with her and maybe you could space out your tests a bit more when she is in higher numbers. You know best how she feels about the testing, and whether or not it puts extra stress on her skin. I respect Dyana's input, and I have trusted your instincts with her right from the start.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

I do agree with Dyana. I'd cut back on the testing. Unless you really need to be monitoring for low numbers, there's really no need to test every hour. If you look in the section on becoming data ready in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky, there's info on which tests are most important.

I would see what Gem's numbers look like tonight and then decide whether or not to increase in the AM. As long as she doesn't drop low and bounce, I think you can increase.

Just out of curiosity, would a T-shirt prevent Gem from tearing her skin? There have been some kitties to get to wear a T-shirt after a surgery.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

Big hugs to Gem and to you. You are doing such a fabulous job with testing and taking care of Gem. Good luck with the dose adjustment. I definitely think you will see some better numbers with a little increase.

Thanks for the info on the pill pockets in Simon's condo. I thought that the canine pills smelled different and that is probably why Simon doesn't like them as much.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

Linda and Bear Man said:
I agree with Dyana on both counts - you are doing an amazing job with her and maybe you could space out your tests a bit more when she is in higher numbers. You know best how she feels about the testing, and whether or not it puts extra stress on her skin. I respect Dyana's input, and I have trusted your instincts with her right from the start.

Thanks Linda. Right now, I don't think the testing is adding extra stress (at least not for her!). I am super-careful in handling her, and it actually gives me a nice chance to assess her! But, if there's no need for it, I'm sure she'd be happier with less poking :) What do you think is a reasonable amount at this point? I really have no feel yet for where her numbers are going on any given day. Should I aim for every 2 hours?

Thanks for the added vote of confidence. Most of the time I'm pretty ok with everything, it's just become part of my life - giving her the meds, watching her, testing her etc but when we have a setback, it's hard to stay positive and focused on the big picture. I wonder if I'm spinning my wheels with her. But her mood, energy, appetite all seem good so how can I not treat her??!!
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

You are doing a great job of data gathering. You could cut back to every 2 or 3 hours, if her numbers are not moving much. You still want to grab your last test before bed tonight. Do what feels comfortable for you.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

Linda and Bear Man said:
You are doing a great job of data gathering. You could cut back to every 2 or 3 hours, if her numbers are not moving much. You still want to grab your last test before bed tonight. Do what feels comfortable for you.

OK, thanks. I've been trying to find her nadir, don't think I've quite got it yet since every day presents something different. Perhaps I'll aim for +3, +6, +9 during the day, in addition to both PS and one before bed, which would be PM +4, give or take. Do you think that's enough? And enough to make some dosing decisions? My vet is great, but not in this area. And ironically, when I spoke to Dr Peterson's assistant and asked, she said "ask your vet".
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

I think that's a good plan, and you can adjust it if you see the numbers starting to move.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

Sienne and Gabby said:
I do agree with Dyana. I'd cut back on the testing. Unless you really need to be monitoring for low numbers, there's really no need to test every hour. If you look in the section on becoming data ready in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky, there's info on which tests are most important.

I would see what Gem's numbers look like tonight and then decide whether or not to increase in the AM. As long as she doesn't drop low and bounce, I think you can increase.

Just out of curiosity, would a T-shirt prevent Gem from tearing her skin? There have been some kitties to get to wear a T-shirt after a surgery.

Thanks Sienne, somehow I missed these posts!

Re t-shirt, it's been a back & forth, lesser of two evils conversation with the vet. Ideally, the wounds would be covered, but the rubbing of the shirt could do it's own damage. Til this week, we'd seen improvement in the existing wounds, but the past few days there have been some new ones :( Last week the vet actually made her a shirt out of very loose stockinette. They are so sweet and are all pulling for Gem, they cut out some heart shaped patches and sewed them on to pretty it up for her! Unfortunately, she's not wild about the shirt, and she tries to get it off, and I worry she'll do more damage that way. So it's a balancing act. Right now I have it bandaged until I see it start to heal up a bit.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

Georgia and Simon said:
Big hugs to Gem and to you. You are doing such a fabulous job with testing and taking care of Gem. Good luck with the dose adjustment. I definitely think you will see some better numbers with a little increase.

Thanks for the info on the pill pockets in Simon's condo. I thought that the canine pills smelled different and that is probably why Simon doesn't like them as much.

Thanks, I hope so, and hope I can eyeball that dose increase!

Isn't that weird with the pill pockets? Funny thing is Gem seems to like them better, and since they're bigger I can stuff more in there. Since I'm using the chicken flavor with it's higher carbs, the less the better.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

Sienne and Gabby said:
I do agree with Dyana. I'd cut back on the testing. Unless you really need to be monitoring for low numbers, there's really no need to test every hour. If you look in the section on becoming data ready in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky, there's info on which tests are most important.

I would see what Gem's numbers look like tonight and then decide whether or not to increase in the AM. As long as she doesn't drop low and bounce, I think you can increase.

Just out of curiosity, would a T-shirt prevent Gem from tearing her skin? There have been some kitties to get to wear a T-shirt after a surgery.

Gosh Sienne, I'm reading that sticky, that's advanced stuff!! Maybe there's something in the way my brain is hard-wired that prevents me from extracting any meaning from Gem's numbers. I think that's why I keep testing so much, waiting for something to make sense. Right now, I look at her SS and I see a bunch of numbers and pretty colors, and cannot understand what they mean beyond higher or lower, or how they predict what she may do.

I will likely increase the dose tomorrow, try and test every 3 hours or so, and see how that goes.

Thanks for your help.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

No worries. Right now, there's not enough information to really see much of a pattern. It can take a while. In addition, with the urine testing, you can't draw the same conclusions. The point was that you don't have to test every hour. I like to get a +2. If your +2 is much lower than your pre-shot #, there's a strong probability that it will be a busy cycle. (Look at Gabby's SS from tonight for an example.) If the pre-shot and the +2 are about the same, you will see a fairly typical cycle with a dip for the nadir. You won't know how big that dip will be, though. Getting a +2, a test somewhere toward the middle of the cycle and one later on is fine. There will be times that you will need to monitor closely but right now, it's not that time.
 
Re: 5/23 Gem AMPS 413; +7 237;PMPS 414 Good news/bad news Do

Sienne and Gabby said:
No worries. Right now, there's not enough information to really see much of a pattern. It can take a while. In addition, with the urine testing, you can't draw the same conclusions. The point was that you don't have to test every hour. I like to get a +2. If your +2 is much lower than your pre-shot #, there's a strong probability that it will be a busy cycle. (Look at Gabby's SS from tonight for an example.) If the pre-shot and the +2 are about the same, you will see a fairly typical cycle with a dip for the nadir. You won't know how big that dip will be, though. Getting a +2, a test somewhere toward the middle of the cycle and one later on is fine. There will be times that you will need to monitor closely but right now, it's not that time.

Thank you, that information is very helpful, and makes sense. I've pretty much stopped with the urine testing now that I've resumed BG testing, but if I happen to catch her peeing, I will test it, just to see where it's at, and make sure there's no ketones present.

One last question for tonight - so say tomorrow I raise her dose by .25. I won't be around to get a +2, soonest would be a +4. I'm thinking that wouldn't present a problem, she hasn't shown herself to drop super low right away, would you agree that that is safe? Or should I hold off til I can get a test sooner?

Thank you so much, I hope you know how helpful you, and everyone here, have been. I can only hope one day I can pay it forward.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top