5/22 Zener PMPS 175;+1 285;+3 265 reduced dose, poor appy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Today
05/21/12 Zener
AMPS 83, 3rd cycle @f1.25u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 0.85oz 10%
+0.3 1/2PP, sliver cypro
+1 128, 0.4oz 10%, 7 drops kidney liquid

Woohoo!!! Looks like Zener surfed blue and green last night! We haven't had a green AMPS in over 2 months! :shock: Zener's appy isn't great this morning but good enough to shoot. I gave him a little cypro for encouragement but it hasn't kicked in yet. His tummy is pretty tight. I tried massaging and got a lot of growling for my trouble. He didn't get cerenia yesterday (after 5 days of it) so he will get some today.

Happy OTJ Day to Mooch! Thinking of Bob and others whose kitties have gone ahead. It's so hard to lose our babies. Happy Tuesday LL!
Liz
 
Re: 5/22 Zener AMPS 83;+1 128

Nice green AMPS for Zener. I'm glad his appy is enough for a shot and hope it improves. Does he still get the acupuncture, and does it help? Or do I have the wrong kitty here? Have a nice day, Liz. Feel good and appy vines for Zener.
 
Re: 5/22 Zener AMPS 83;+1 128

Hi guys .. wooo hooo what nice looking numbers today!! I hope zener's appy improves for you .. hopefully the massage will help, even if he was against it! have a great day!
 
Re: 5/22 Zener AMPS 83;+1 128;+2 116

Yay!!!! That is a nice sight this morning. Way to go Zener! Hope his appy improves and you all have a great great day!
 
Re: 5/22 Zener AMPS 83;+1 128;+2 116

+1 116, 1.0oz 10%

Zener is sleeping on the chair by my desk. He had a BIG stretch a while ago, which means he feels better. He got some petting and another massage (this one with purrs :-D ), then ate 1.0 oz. So the appy is definitely on the upswing and I can go for a run. :-D

Ann: He hasn't gotten acupuncture for a while. The AC said he doesn't need it now. It did help when he got it.
Devon: Thanks! He is listening to his Auntie Devon. :-D
Melissa: Yes, definitely a welcome sight. This was one morning where I thought "I don't think it will be pink" but didn't expect green either. We just never know with Zener. :lol: :lol:
Liz

ETA:
+3.5 68, 0.85 oz 10%
Appy is good now. Phew! Time to put on your board shorts, Z.
 
Re: 5/22 Zener AMPS 83;+1 128;+2 116;+3.5 68;+4 114

Z's numbers are wobbly and so is his appy. Fortunately he is eating enough to manage his numbers. He has been on yard patrol, sunning in the backyard and currently napping in his cabana (it's a bit like an outdoor man cave). :razz:

Today
05/21/12 Zener
AMPS 83, 3rd cycle @f1.25u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 0.85oz 10%
+0.3 1/2PP, sliver cypro
+1 128, 0.4oz 10%, 7 drops kidney liquid
+2 116, 1.0oz 10%
+3.5 68, 1PP, 3mg Zobaline, 0.85oz 10%
~4 114, 0.2oz 10%
+5.5 85, 1PP, 0.35oz 11%
ETA
+7 87, 0.2oz 10%

His mid cycle numbers are almost identical to his AMPS, it must be aliens!
Looks like this dose is a good one. He got back on track after having to skip in impressive fashion! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/22 Zener AMPS 83;+1 128;+2 116;~3 68;+4 114;~5 85;+7 8

Beautiful numbers for Zener today! Green and blue, my favorite colors!

Hope Z's appy gets better today.
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Zener had a lovely cycle today, with waxing and waning appy. At PMPS he would not eat, we tried all our tricks and have just given him cypro appy stimulant to see if we can get him eating and be able to shoot. He does not act like he feels bad, just not interested in eating. We just went through this night before last.

Looks like we may be going back to the vetty again if we cannot get something to work for him on a regular basis. nailbite_smile :YMSIGH:

Today
05/21/12 Zener
AMPS 83, 3rd cycle @f1.25u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 0.85oz 10%
+0.3 1/2PP, sliver cypro
+1 128, 0.4oz 10%, 7 drops kidney liquid
+2 116, 1.0oz 10%
+3.5 68, 1PP, 3mg Zobaline, 0.85oz 10%
~4 114, 0.2oz 10%
+5.5 85, 1PP, 0.35oz 11%
+7 87, 0.2oz 10%
~9 FDCh
~10, 1PP, 1mg cerenia
PMBG 104, 1PP, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 cypro - would not eat, so pilled him followed by water

We are going to wait and see if he starts eating before deciding about skipping. Night before last he started eating after a couple of hours. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Hi guys - what a nice morning for Zener. It looks like though that food is an issue tonight. I wish you guys luck - I know how hard it is when they won't eat. Hopefully that will change soon. Good luck! Zener - eat your fuds, OK? Your beans worry....
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

If you're concerned enough to consider taking Zener in to the vet, then you need to consider assist feeding and giving insulin. If there's something medically "off," Zener's not eating and your not shooting increases the risk for ketones.

Just my 2 cents.
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you're concerned enough to consider taking Zener in to the vet, then you need to consider assist feeding and giving insulin. If there's something medically "off," Zener's not eating and your not shooting increases the risk for ketones.

Just my 2 cents.

Thanks for your 2 cents Sienne, we appreciate it. We're just not sure what is going on, it comes and goes so quickly. We just had full bloodwork and urinalysis done and everything looked really good, with the exception of mild dehydration and the vet was not quite sure what might be causing that as he does not have PU/PD now. They did subQ fluids. We are so frustrated that's why we are thinking of taking him back to the vet to see if there is any other medical reason that may be affecting his appetite. We gave the appy stimulant about 45 minutes ago, so we'll see if that kicks in. We did assist feeding before and it was tough for us and for him, so we'd like to find another option if there is one.

@Michelle & Mannie - yes, fuds are once again an issue. :?
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

His numbers were actually good today, but I hope that his appy improves..It is so frustrating when they wont eat...WE all have our little tricks and additives to urge them to eat, and I hope you can find something--
Hugs & Love to you, you are both such great beans to Zener!!
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Hey Zener, you've got to eat your fuds, man! Maybe some KTSS chicken soup? We'll be over later.
Rusty


Hi Anne & Liz, Have you tried the meat baby food? (no cornstarch; no onions, just meat and meat broth).

I hope that Zener will perk up by tomorrow.

Thanks for your comments on the MJ syringes. Did your calipers arrive today?
Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Thanks everyone, we appreciate your support so much. We've given him a bit more of the appy stimulant just now and he started eating a small amount of food. We are hoping to get some more action in the next hour and be able to do a late shot. We realize if we can safely shoot, it will reset our clock but now that school is out and Liz's workshops are over, we can handle it.

@Ella - yes, we've tried the baby foods before and no luck. The caliper package came today, but the envelope it was mailed in (not the best packaging in my opinion) looked cut open and stapled back with one staple. It was empty except for the packing slip and paperwork. The post office labeled the package as arriving in Flagstaff without contents, so we've contacted the company to see what we do next to get a pair of calipers. :evil:
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Karrie and Maverick said:
Did he have pancreatitis the last time?
No, he did not have pancreatitis. We've had him tested for this approximately 4 times since January when his appy issues have been like this and always negative. The last test was about a month ago.

Karrie and Maverick said:
How is his motility?
He is pooping normally, haven't seen one today though there was a poo yesterday morning in the yard and in the LB this morning.
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Oh so sorry Zener's having a time with his appy. Zener, please eat and feel better. That is such a worry when they stop eating and everything else checks out at the Vet. Sending some vines and prayers for Zener.
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Oh so sorry Zener's having a time with his appy. Zener, please eat and feel better. That is such a worry when they stop eating and everything else checks out at the Vet. Sending some vines and prayers for Zener.

Does this happen often to others here in LL? Everything checks out at the vet and they just won't eat? What do you do?
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

That's so difficult. It sounds like you really like and trust your Vet. The only thing I can think of is another opinion or an Internal Medicine Vet. Just throwing it out there. Or what about a consul with your AC! I hope others weigh in here.
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Ann & Maggie11 said:
That's so difficult. It sounds like you really like and trust your Vet. The only thing I can think of is another opinion or an Internal Medicine Vet. Just throwing it out there. Or what about a consul with your AC! I hope others weigh in here.

Thanks for the ideas Ann. The vet we are using now is our 4th one in Flagstaff, and we don't have many options. There is an internal medicine clinic in the Phoenix area about 3 hours away, we should ask our vet about that possibility. We had a consult with our AC just yesterday! She told us Zener had good days and bad days and that the meds for his stomach and the massage was helping. He appreciates all we are doing for him and he knows we love him very much as he does us. Yesterday was a good day.
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

I keep forgetting that Flagstaff is not like Tucson or Phoenix. That's an idea to see what your Vet thinks of it and would give a referral. It's too bad it's so far. Are you still stalling?
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Hi Anne and Liz,

Sorry to read about Zener's appy issues, especially after such lovely cycles!

You may recall from our regular posting days, Jetta shares Zener's poor appy issues. Like Zener her bloodwork is all normal, but unlike Zener, she does suffer from Chronic pancreatitis and tends to get "empty stomach" syndrome easily (if she hans't eaten for more than 4 hours she'll be nauseated and won't eat). Pepcid only helps sometimes. Anyway, differences aside, I agree with Sienne. I have to assist feed, or syringe feed Jetta an average of twice a week. Most days, once I get a serving of food in her she perks right up and eats on her own for the next meal. Sometimes after one syringe-full she walks over to the dish and eats right then (like the lightbulb goes on- Oh Yea! I'm hungry!!!) If she's having a pancreatitis attack or an IBD flare, I may syringe feed her most of her meals for several days (this happened in early May). Fortunately, she takes the feedings well and it's become fairly routine for us. But I can say, without the ability to assist feed Jetta when she needs it, I'd be skipping shots multiple times a week. Perhaps with more practice (patience is key) Zener will be more comfortable with it?

Either way, I hope you find what work best for you and for Zener. I share your frustration with this issue and I know how truly exasperating it can be. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Oh, i am so sorry to hear that the eating issue is back. Perhaps a consult w/ the IM is a good idea. Sending good eating vines and i hear Tess talking about the group making a KTSS stop on the way to the party.

Zenner! You gots to eat! WE'll bring special fuds for you, then maybe you will want to eat and come to the party! You need to come, we would miss you so much! -- Tess
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

So sorry about Zener not having his appy again. I want to share my experience.
My Tiger a 13 yrs old male(lucky he is not DM!) lost a lot of weight since the change to all canned fod for my gang in March. Sometimes, he refuse to have our scheduled meal. I tried all I can to get his appy back since his blood test & vet visit came back all normal. Ive tried different kind of canned food, occasional dry knibble (since he's not DM), pan fried his canned food, hand feeding, canned food for weaning kitties, pan fried prawn, chicken liver etc. All different types of food I can think of. So far, he loves hand feeding the kitten canned & sometimes finish one can at one go. It is important to know there is no medical complication for lossing appy. The rest is keep on trying. Hugs! Yes, it is worrying esp Zener need the shots.
 
Re: 5/22 Zener PMBG 104 stalling, not eating again

Thank you all so much for the information and for sharing your experiences, please excuse my not responding to each of you individually. We struggle so with Zener's appy, this is not new, but we get frustrated and worried all at the same time and sometimes feel we are at our wit's end. Tonight was one of those nights as we just had this happen the night before last. We both felt defeated and worried for our special guy. We couldn't do this without your support, you help hold us up when we can hardly go on.

Good news, the appy stimulant started to kick in 2 hours after his shot time, so we decided to shoot a reduced dose so we could get some insulin in him but we just didn't feel safe shooting the full amount since the BG number was probably food influenced and we weren't exactly prepared for assist feeding, emotionally more than anything else. We will be better prepared tomorrow for assist feeding as necessary.

Today
05/21/12 Zener
AMPS 83, 3rd cycle @f1.25u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 0.85oz 10%
+0.3 1/2PP, sliver cypro
+1 128, 0.4oz 10%, 7 drops kidney liquid
+2 116, 1.0oz 10%
+3.5 68, 1PP, 3mg Zobaline, 0.85oz 10%
~4 114, 0.2oz 10%
+5.5 85, 1PP, 0.35oz 11%
+7 87, 0.2oz 10%
~9 FDCh
~10, 1PP, 1mg cerenia tablet
+11.5 104, 1PP, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/8 zantac, 1/8 cypro (0.5mg) - would not eat, so pilled him followed by water
+12.5, 0.3oz 11%, most hand fed
+13, 0.5oz 10%, 1/4PP with another 1/8 cypro (0.5mg)
PMPS (+14.5) 175, 0.75u (reduced dose) 0.55oz 11%
+0.5 0.45oz 11%

@Ann & Maggie - there is a very good speciality vet clinic with all the areas - cardio, GI, endocrine, oncology, etc in Gilbert AZ, about 3 hours from us. We could take him there now that we are out of school, but want to chat with our regular vet and get a referral if we decide to go that route. So far, all tests here, including abdominal US have been negative. So, we are not sure if the travel stress is worth it, he has never been in the car more than 15 minutes to our vet. We stalled 2 1/2 hours, and shot a reduced dose once he ate.

@Jaq - thank you thank you! Once we read your response we started to calm down a little. Tests for pancreatitis have always been negative for Zener, but he has had motility issues in addition to poor appy. We really thought we were getting a handle on that until Sunday night and then again tonight. We had to syringe feed Zener all of his meals for five days in January, and with cerenia injections, he got back on track. We sure don't want to go there again! We will be better prepared (emotionally and with proper food/syringes) to start this up again when needed so we can keep on track with the insulin.

@Ann & Tess - will the group make a KTSS stop for beans too?

Thank you all for your help and support.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top