5/22 Wonton AMPS 178-No insulin given

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wonton

Member Since 2012
So Wonton was 178 this morning and I did not give her shot.
Should I start to reduce her from 1.5 u/2x daily to 1.25/2x daily? Her morning numbers have been too low for me to shoot b'cuz I'm not there to keep testing during the day. Her evening numbers are in the 300's.
I plan to do a curve this weekend but was thinking of reducing her insulin to level her off???
Here is yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71515
 
Hi guys .. I'm not sure if I've been in wonton's condo before or not, so if not, welcome from us! No dosing advice from me but I am sure others will be along soon to help you out .. have a great day!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land...I have not been on your condo either.

I looked at yesterday's condo and Sienne encouraged you to get more mid-cycle tests and I understand that is difficult when you work. Is it possible to move her shot time earlier so you can get a +1 and +2 or +1 and an out the door test to check on her? Or...do you work close enough to home or is there a hubby or roommate who could check her mid-cycle?

The problem with what you are doing is that skipping then shooting at night is going to give you numbers that are all over the place...as you can see. I think this dose would be a really nice one for her if it is given consistently. It looks like she could make some progress on it.

So...if you can't give it consistently because you can't monitor, then it would be better to reduce her to a dose that you can safely give twice a day. While she has not actually earned a reduction according to the protocol, it's more important to keep her safe. Right now she is getting great numbers but the lack of insulin and the lower number is causing her to bounce back up into the higher floors.

If there is no way to shoot her earlier so you can get a couple of tests in before you leave, then I would back her dose down to 1.25u and try to shoot that twice a day consistently and see what she does.
 
Thank you for the welcome Mocha and Gracie :-D
Regarding her schedule, I've been giving her AM shot at 6:30 and I'm out the door at 7:30. Is a +1 test sufficient?
I could go home at lunch time (20 mins) for a mid-cycle on the days her morning readings seem lower. Do you agree? After work I try to go to the gym or take a class, so that's why I hope to stay with 6:30AM shots.
So tonight should I start giving her 1.25 units??
 
I wouldn't lower the dose. A 178 is fine to shoot IF you can get a +1 and come home over your lunch break. Some of this is a matter of having enough data to have a feel for how Wonton is responding. Like Marje pointed out, it's really difficult (for you and us) to know how well the 1.5u dose is working when you're skipping shots.

The reason I'm suggesting that you not decrease is that you lowered Wonton's dose from 2.0 to 1.5u. While he's seen green on this dose, it hasn't been consistent and he hasn't dropped into dose reduction territory. As you get more data, you'll be more confident and have a better idea when to leave out HC food.

Do you have a timed feeder (and will Wonton use one)? Knowing that there's food available may also help to make you less anxious about leaving him during the day.
 
OK, I will stay at 1.5 units/2x daily; take a +1 and a lunch time reading.
In the AM she eats a whole can of FF and I leave a frozen cube of FF for a snack. But I'm sure she eats it by mid to late morning b'cuz it thaws faster than I expected.
I have been thinking of a timed feeder, which I think would work. Plus I wouldn't feel like I need to fill her up on a full can in the AM. I'd feed her less, and the timer would allow her to eat more around noon. Thank you for making the timed feeder a very good option that could solve the food issue.
 
Good idea regarding trial runs, I will check them out, possibly order on-line and hopefully receive by Sat. Thank you for the links! :thumbup
 
Good luck with the autofeeder! Many cats love them. Trix, naturally, was freaked out by hers :roll: ...after several weeks of autofeeder bootcamp, we finally gave up. As much as she loves eating, I couldn't get her to make the connection between the sound of the feeder opening up, and food. Silly cat. But, she also share (rules!) the house with 5 other kitties...

I hope you and Wonton are doing well this evening!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top