5/22 Tyler AMPS 261 +7 66 ??? about lunchtime feeding

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/22 Tyler AMPS 261 +7 66 ... went on a mini boing

it's really great that he's able to clear a bounce overnight, brian. If only he'd surf in these 60's for the rest of the day. When you come home and test him and he's 60's or in a green number, try giving him 2 teaspoons of low carb food to see if he'll just hang out there for a while.

you're not feeding him a meal at that point, are you?

Will Tyler accept my birthday wishes even though they're a day late? Happy birthday little guy! :thumbup
 
Re: 5/22 Tyler AMPS 261 +7 66 ... went on a mini boing

julie & punkin (ga) said:
it's really great that he's able to clear a bounce overnight, brian. If only he'd surf in these 60's for the rest of the day. When you come home and test him and he's 60's or in a green number, try giving him 2 teaspoons of low carb food to see if he'll just hang out there for a while. You're not feeding him a meal at that point, are you?


Yes I do feed him at lunch. When I come home to test & feed him at lunch, I don't have time to see if he will hang in any number. I am usually there for less than 10 minutes. The only reason I even go home for lunch at all is to test & feed Tyler. All in all he eats about 3 cans of FF a day. 1 can in morning, 1/2 can at lunch, 1 can at dinner, 1/2 can before bed. Should I not feed him at lunch? Because I know while testing is valuable data at lunchtime, but if I could just stay at work and not have to take almost an hour lunch break would be extremely beneficial to my wallet right now. I have contemplated not going home for lunch for this last month so I can just take a 15 min lunch. My paychecks have taken a huge hit since I started testing at lunch time. I honestly feel he would ultimately be ok, not getting fed at lunchtime and also feel that not getting a +7 test in for this next month would be ok too.

Heck, I don't even know what my schedule is going to be like when I move, I may not even get the chance to come home for lunch to test. I have been contemplating starting next week to just miss the lunchtime testing & feeding. Please someone chime in with some info on that (and hopefully tell me what I want to hear... haha, yeah right).

It's Friday!
 
Because I have an hour long commute and was out of the house 10-11 hours 5 days a week, I couldn't get home for a mid-day test. HOWEVER, I did get a timed feeder for Nikki, so that she would have snacks throughout the day. Otherwise I worried she'd go too low while I wasn't home.

Under TR it isn't ideal to miss mid-day testing. But, a lot of us make it work and test more on our days off. If you choose not to go home for lunch I'd make sure Tyler had a way to get food during the day. It will keep him safer. :-D
 
Brian, there are many beans who work and can't get home at lunch. You've got a pretty good idea of his nadir now. If you can get the AM mid-cycle test on weekends and when it looks like he may be going really low that would probably be fine. WE do what we can and you have to work to pay for the kitteh fuds.

There are some tricks to leave food for when we are gone. You can freeze 'catsicles' of canned food which Tyler can eat a few hours after you leave and they are thawed. Also there are timed feeders which will open to fresh food whenever you want. I have an extra one if you Pm me your address.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top