5/22 Lucian +4.5/86,+5.5/70,6.5/73,+8/115,PMPS 383,+3.5/380

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/22 Lucian AMPS 115

Awesome start for the day, hope it continues and he surfs safely my dear!
 
Re: 5/22 Lucian AMPS 115,+2.5/95

Fed him tuna and egg, knowing it ups his bg's. Will check in an hour. :YMSIGH:

I really don't need this right now.
 
Re: 5/22 Lucian AMPS 115,+2.5/95

You shot awfully low without much data to show it is safe. How's he doing now?
 
Re: 5/22 Lucian AMPS 115,+2.5/95,+3.5/85

I've shot in the 80's. Not shooting or shooting a reduced dose will have him at 600+ before the cycle is out, and take weeks to recover. I feel I can control him. Just fed MC beef and gravy, 1 T. I'll continue to do so and check every hour.

I don't understand why he throws the numbers he does. From sky high to too low on the same dose. This is 10 days on this dose. He has run the gamut on it. I have no clue. He's been so high I was considering a bolus, I just never know what to do with him. I keep waiting for something to work. Was considering an increase, then he gives me this. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/22 Lucian AMPS 115,+2.5/95,+3.5/85

He may be one of the cats that hasn't read the manual on how to be a feline diabetic! :smile:

It may be time to develop a basal + bolus routine where you can keep the Lantus stable (perhaps at 1.5 units) and adjust a shorter acting insulin based on how high he is running. If you want to try that, start with a high BG (ex over 400), and a tiny dose (0.25 units) of the R or N and curve over its duration - 4 or 6 hours respectively - so you can see what impact it has in terms of drop and duration. The timing for the bolus might be either at preshot with feeding or covering the end of the previous and part of the current cycle, ex covering from +10 to +2 for R, or +9 to +3 for N. Obviously, you want to test this when you can be home to monitor. It will increase your cost for testing supplies and syringes, too.
 
Re: 5/22 Lucian AMPS 115,+2.5/95,+3.5/84,+4.5/86,+5.5/70

Added 1/2 drop karo to 1 T MC. I don't want to break out the HC, carb loading him is just as bad as not giving a shot. So I save that until I feel it necessary. I'd rather add 1/2 drop karo to his MC, shorter duration and the insulin can still work. Does that make sense to anyone but me? I know the HC lasts for hrs and that he doesn't need.

Yes, I have been considering adding a bolus for those times when he goes crazy high. Will need someone with a lot of experience to hold my hand. Right now, I just never know what to expect anytime I test him. Never seen a cat so unpredictable.

I know some of you don't understand why I am not allowing him to reach the point of reduction. It's because of his bounces. I'm trying to get him below 125 and above 90, but that isn't working today, but has in the past. He needs more time to adjust to something close to a normal BG. He bounces on blues, much less greens. Hence the reason I don't want him to go below 100 if I can help it. At least until he can stabilize in the yellows and blues without the severe bounces, then slowly allow him to work his way down.

I'm sure some of you were curious as to what I'm doing. @-) Unorthodox methods for an unorthodox cat.
 
Re: 5/22 Lucian +2.5/95,+3.5/84,+4.5/86,+5.5/70,6.5/73

1T MC @ +6.5. He also had 1/8 can LC after his +5.5 with the MC, since he was really hungry and it was time for him to eat.
 
Re: 5/22 Lucian +3.5/84,+4.5/86,+5.5/70,6.5/73,+8/115

Little late on the test, trying to find a home/foster for late dil's dog. :sad: I would take him in a heartbeat if I wasn't in an upstairs apt and had a yard. This breaks my heart, as if I wasn't depressed enough.
 
Re: 5/22 Lucian +3.5/84,+4.5/86,+5.5/70,6.5/73,+8/115

Sending you hugs today...Cedric's special ones so be prepared for the licker!
 
Re: 5/22 Lucian +3.5/84,+4.5/86,+5.5/70,6.5/73,+8/115

That's fine, I love sandpaper kisses!

I've emailed every rescue organization in NC, no luck yet. Been looking for someplace to move to, then I'd take him. No luck with that either. Anything I find that I can afford is 100 miles from my son. Anything within 75 miles of Raleigh is crazy expensive, that's why I've stayed where I'm at for 4 yrs. Can't find anything cheaper. Dog is a bully mix, which means, if he goes to a shelter, he'll be killed. The fact that he is not aggressive, lovable and likes everybody, doesn't matter. He part pit, so they'll put him down. He's a big baby that is spoiled rotten. But nobody cares about that, it's his looks. :cry:
 
Re: 5/22 Lucian +3.5/84,+4.5/86,+5.5/70,6.5/73,+8/115,PMPS 3

There's that bounce, but not near what I expected.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top