5/22 Ivy, Fur Pulling, AMPS 262, 265 +1, 255 +2, 249 +3, 313 +4, 305 +5

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-2-301-6-324-8-287-10-pmps-328-285-30.277756/
Day 3 on 3.5 unit Lantus. Newish to TR.
Mostly yellow on this dose, a few blues and some pink.
Overnight was somewhat stable in the 200s.

Yesterday was a rocky day, there seems to be some fur pulling out going on and then she pukes. Seems to be a trend. Not sure what the cause is.
??Anyone have thoughts on this behavior????

edit to note, Ivy is not a relaxed, chill kitty. She is fractious at the vet and I have to sedate her to take her there. She is a strictly indoor cat.
I do use feliway diffusers in the rooms where she hangs out. This is not a new stressed demeanor For her. She’s always been this way. Just the hair pulling is new.
There’s no new stressors that I know of in her environment. No other animals and she’s not near any windows where she would see any other animals to agitate her.

She wears a Libre device and has a T-shirt on top of that to protect the Libre. I Took the T-shirt off to see if maybe she just wanted to groom normally and of course she pulled the libre device off. So, I had to install a new device. No more T-shirts off for her, bad kitty.

Her trend is that Ivy quickly drops at AM + .5 , +1& +2 after a.m. meal and shot. I’m giving her a small LC snack each drop or hour early in cycle to try to reduce the extreme drop and keep her boosted a little so the bounces aren’t quite so extreme.
Does this seem like a good idea?

Thoughts on when to increase her dose?? Thank you.
 
Last edited:
Maybe the Libre bothers her. Are you able to test by an ear prick? If so perhaps give a break from the Libre and see if she stops pulling her hair.

Feeding the curve is actually what we suggest to prevent big drops so you are doing that right. If you don’t see a string of blue or a green nadir today or tonight you could increase tomorrow morning.
Here’s more in feeding tge curve.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990
 
Maybe the Libre bothers her. Are you able to test by an ear prick? If so perhaps give a break from the Libre and see if she stops pulling her hair.

Feeding the curve is actually what we suggest to prevent big drops so you are doing that right. If you don’t see a string of blue or a green nadir today or tonight you could increase tomorrow morning.
Here’s more in feeding tge curve.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990
Thanks, Elise @tiffmaxee She's been using a Libre 2 since late February and then I switched to Libre 3 on May 3rd.
(Seems there may be a correlation of behavior noticed to the Libre 3). I was hoping not because I like the remote monitoring it offers 24/7 and you don't have to scan the sensor manually, which is a challenge, and you don't know what's going on 24/7.
Also, I can't era prick her constantly to know very detailed BG's as she's not the most tolerant cat and can become very aggressive very quickly. It then becomes a challenge to be able to give insulin when she gets very angry and will attack.
For a cat of her demeanor, the Libre is a lifesaver with Ivy. :(
(this is not new a personality for her, it's who she is). She's always been challenging.
We are seeing the vet on Wednesday, I will ask them also...just wondered if anyone else has seen anything similar.
 
Hi Staci!

Is Ivy also licking and over grooming, or only fur pulling?

My late cat Luigi was a fur puller, and obsessive licker to the point that he wore onesies and I had to cone him if I went out (sounds cruel, but it kept him alive for a great while longer than he would have, if I didn't). He also suffered from allergies and had Eosininophilia Granuloma Complex.

Luigi appeared very self confident and was friendly and sociable, but he was incredibly anxious about certain things, and very emotional.
 
Oy Deb. I have one with EGC on her lips and dermatitis now. It’s awful. Started before a year old y now 6. Every time I switch food it is okay fir several months to a test but returns. I’m running out of novel proteins. Zyrtec is helping dermatitis. Sorry for hijacking your condo Staci.
 
:)
Hi Staci!

Is Ivy also licking and over grooming, or only fur pulling?

My late cat Luigi was a fur puller, and obsessive licker to the point that he wore onesies and I had to cone him if I went out (sounds cruel, but it kept him alive for a great while longer than he would have, if I didn't). He also suffered from allergies and had Eosininophilia Granuloma Complex.

Luigi appeared very self confident and was friendly and sociable, but he was incredibly anxious about certain things, and very emotional.
Hi @Deb and Sylvester thanks for your comments. I’m not familiar with that condition since this is a new beg for her. Jeez, seems like we are always adding. New problem to the list.
How did you handle the condition, medication etc??

Ivy does groom a lot, she has medium to longer fur. She has always been a frequent groomer. But never caused any problems or lesions. I’m not aware of any bald spots or lesions at this point.

Ivy does have IBD so we feed a novel lamb protein diet, (we used to feed salmon and chicken but changed from that 1.5 years ago) but I don’t know about any other allergies.
Ivy, like your Luigi, is emotional and anxious. She really only allows me to handle her and sometimes if something sets her off, she can become very angry with me and will attack me. My husband then has to intervene to hold her so I can give her shot. She’s very sensitive and I have to be very aware of her moods.
She’s a lot to handle. :banghead:
Thanks for your comments. :)
 
:)
Hi @Deb and Sylvester thanks for your comments. I’m not familiar with that condition since this is a new beg for her. Jeez, seems like we are always adding. New problem to the list.
How did you handle the condition, medication etc??

Ivy does groom a lot, she has medium to longer fur. She has always been a frequent groomer. But never caused any problems or lesions. I’m not aware of any bald spots or lesions at this point.

Ivy does have IBD so we feed a novel lamb protein diet, (we used to feed salmon and chicken but changed from that 1.5 years ago) but I don’t know about any other allergies.
Ivy, like your Luigi, is emotional and anxious. She really only allows me to handle her and sometimes if something sets her off, she can become very angry with me and will attack me. My husband then has to intervene to hold her so I can give her shot. She’s very sensitive and I have to be very aware of her moods.
She’s a lot to handle. :banghead:
Thanks for your comments. :)

Hi Staci,

If she's not causing self harm, then it could be behavioral based on the Libre or even the onesie. Like @tiffmaxee mentioned, she may be uncomfortable with it, so she's "trying" to get it off.

I would just watch her, maybe the Vet can prescribe something to make her relax and not feel so frantic.

Luigi had EGC, which is an immune mediated disease, and anxiety, so he was prescribed meds based on his allergies to pretty much everything, possibly even himself. I don't think that's the case with Ivy.
 
Hi Staci,

If she's not causing self harm, then it could be behavioral based on the Libre or even the onesie. Like @tiffmaxee mentioned, she may be uncomfortable with it, so she's "trying" to get it off.

I would just watch her, maybe the Vet can prescribe something to make her relax and not feel so frantic.

Luigi had EGC, which is an immune mediated disease, and anxiety, so he was prescribed meds based on his allergies to pretty much everything, possibly even himself. I don't think that's the case with Ivy.
@Deb and Sylvester I Hope you are right. It just seems strange that she’s recently doing this behavior.
I’m always looking for a reason or cause for a change in behavior (or an issue) to try to make it better. She’s been wearing a Libre with a tee shirt since February. (Maybe she’s just sick of it all).
 
Back
Top