5/22 Henry C. AMPS=386, +5=229, +7=189, PMPS = 426

Roxana & Henry

Member Since 2022
Henry's Adventures Yesterday

Very proud of my boy today but of course I was shaking in my boots when I saw the huge drop around +5 despite feeding small amounts of FF earlier. I may have overfed that curve but it was such a huge drop that I wanted him to be safe. Should I have done MC carbs at +5 or maybe a LC that is higher carb than FF?

He is 249 now at AM+9.5. I may have a pretty low PMPS compared to last night (about 2 hours until testing for PMPS). I assume I hold the dose at 3.5? He will probably drop much lower than this morning because we just started the 3.5 units of Lantus. If he has a lower PMPS and starts dropping again quickly, should I do 10% or MC carbs tonight? It may be tough to stay until 3 am tonight and sleep 3 hours. But will do if I have to.
 
While lower than you have seen the 189 was not under 90 so hold the 3.5 for 7 days unless you see a bg under 90.
 
That late in the cycle and a high blue number I would have said give some lc. You might want to give mc if it were early in the cycle. If he had dropped to under 150 early you might want to give mc.
 
Thank you so much. Makes sense. Definitely keeping the 3.5 units dose . He was 426 at PMPS and 457 at PM shot time. I thought he would hang around 200 -300 so I was a bit nervous, but not today. Most of the times his nadir is between 4-6 but sometimes I get challenged with nadirs much later (one time was before his PM shot but that was when I was following the vet's directions with increases of 1 units which was nuts).
 
He’s just bouncing from the nice blue nadir. It can last 4-6 cycles or clear quickly. Even 200 is a safe number to shoot a full dose.

With TR you can shoot 50+ provided you have supplies and can monitor. If you know he’s on the way up try and shoot. If you stopped testing a few hours or more before shot time and the bg is much under 200, stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20-30 minutes. You can post for advice while waiting for a repeat test. If the second test is higher go ahead and shoot. If unsure then post fir help. Sometimes stalling it becomes clear that it’s safe to shoot. Sometimes if you stall too long the bg goes down without food but that usually happens when the bg is low.
 
He's definitely bouncing. PM+1 =460. Did 1/2 of his 3 oz LC food at PMPS and will divide the rest 1/3 at +1, 1/3 at +2 and 1/2 at +3. May do a bit of LC at +4 if we have surprises tonight but I think he will be ok. Will see how he does. Still, he did a great job today finally breaking those high numbers. I need to figure out a way to plan the change in dose on Fridays mornings so I have the whole weekend to monitor closely and be able to survive on 3-4 hrs sleep when numbers are low. I am working from home during the week but I am sometimes on back to back calls at work sometimes video and even with the Libre sensor, it can be challenging/ time consuming when faced with those low numbers. TR is best for him and will continue this route for as long as possible. Just need to be really smart about it. If I increase the next dose after 7 days or 14 cycles that means next Sunday which is not ideal. Any advice on this?
 
With TR since you saw blue on the 3.5 dose you will hold the dose for 10 cycles and then evaluate. So you could increase Friday potentially unless you see green by then. If you need to hold doses a little longer based upon your schedule don’t worry about that.
 
Back
Top