5/22 Frank AMPS 354 PMPS 383 - Will do a curve.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delma and Frank

Active Member
Hi! If someone gets a chance to look at Frank's SS....he is all over the place. There is no rhyme or reason to his numbers...at least to my newbie eyes. I'm discouraged at the moment....

I am wondering if now is a good time to increase dosage. I think it is.

Also, I am a bit nervous about taking Frank to his vet appointment this Friday. He will flip out, his BG will prob go sky high. I hate putting him through this, but he needs to go. A vet trip is long overdue. They muzzle him, the vet tech holds him tightly as the vet examines. He growls and spazs out. He would bite, but the muzzle takes care of that. He will and has struck out at me if I get in the way. My soft heart aches to see all this. I think the current vet is afraid of him, but once Frank saw a vet that absolutely took control of him, grabbed him by the scruff of the neck roughly. He sure knew how to handle a crazy cat. But poor Frank looked so sad being handled like that...so hard to watch.
I don't know why Frank acts this way. I believe something in his early life created this in him. Although I do not know what the first few years of his life were like, I can guess not too good by the way he was when I got him.

Do you see why I feel so honored that Frank allows me to test him..?
 
Re: 5/22 Frank AMPS 354 PMPS 383 Dose Increase?

Hi Delma

any chance of doing a curve this weekend?

I know what you mean by upset kitties at the vets, Luna wails like a big baby when he goes in.
I hope it goes well for you guys next week, its for his own good, keep telling him that!
 
Re: 5/22 Frank AMPS 354 PMPS 383 Dose Increase?

Poor Frank. That sounds horrible! It does make you wonder if he was mishandled by a vet at some point. One of my friend's cats used to be fine at the vet. The kitty had a back injury and needed surgery. After that point, the cat became a lot like how you describe Frank. They constantly wonder if the anesthesia began to wear off during surgery or if something happened to cause their cat pain. Frank must really trust you that he allow you to test and shoot -- but then again, he knows you would never hurt him.

I tend to think Frank is bouncing off of the blues and greens. Remember that it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. I think getting a full curve would help to get a better picture of what's going on with Frank's numbers. It's been a while since you got a curve. In particular, it looks like Frank may have an early nadir right now and it would help to see where onset and nadir are. That said, I think increasing may be in order but I'd also like someone with more experience to take a look. On the one hand, there's a fair amount of blue in Frank's SS. On the other hand, you've been at this dose for a while and I don't think Frank's numbers are moving much.

ETA: I just checked in with Libby. She thinks it's OK to increase Frank's dose. Please be sure to get spot checks. One thing that may be important to keep in mind is that as Frank's numbers begin to come down even more, you may need to get PM checks in later in the cycle. Will that be possible?
 
Re: 5/22 Frank AMPS 354 PMPS 383 - Want to do a curve

Sienne and Gabby said:
Poor Frank. That sounds horrible! It does make you wonder if he was mishandled by a vet at some point. One of my friend's cats used to be fine at the vet. The kitty had a back injury and needed surgery. After that point, the cat became a lot like how you describe Frank. They constantly wonder if the anesthesia began to wear off during surgery or if something happened to cause their cat pain.
I never even thought of this, Sienne. I'll never know though for sure...poor Frank.

I tend to think Frank is bouncing off of the blues and greens. Remember that it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. I think getting a full curve would help to get a better picture of what's going on with Frank's numbers. It's been a while since you got a curve. In particular, it looks like Frank may have an early nadir right now and it would help to see where onset and nadir are. That said, I think increasing may be in order but I'd also like someone with more experience to take a look. On the one hand, there's a fair amount of blue in Frank's SS. On the other hand, you've been at this dose for a while and I don't think Frank's numbers are moving much.

ETA: I just checked in with Libby. She thinks it's OK to increase Frank's dose. Please be sure to get spot checks. One thing that may be important to keep in mind is that as Frank's numbers begin to come down even more, you may need to get PM checks in later in the cycle. Will that be possible?
He is all over the place, of course, bouncing has to be the reason. It's so much I didn't even realize...I couldn't make sense of it. So all the pinks are a bounce then. I was hoping that a dose increase would jump start his body into a nice flat yellow pattern at least. But he's bouncing all the time!
I think I want to do a curve. Tomorrow is prob the best day, as I work Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday is the dreaded Vet visit day which perhaps will throw off his weekend numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top