5/22 Ella +2=254 +3=203+4=153 + 5=113 (fast drops)

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71454

Good morning,

Ella bounced off her numbers but considering all this her bg is not as high as I thought this am. 356.
I'll be honset, I know she didn't earn the reduction but what happens if it was the constipation/hairball issues that was causing her to be high?
I'm tempted to shoot her at 1.25 but not sure what to do.
 
Re: 5/22 Ella AMPS 356

I wouldn't do two BCSs in a row, but it's up to you.
The nice numbers she saw last night were from the 1.50 dose before that.
 
Re: 5/22 Ella AMPS 356

Firstly, I want to send a special thanks to Marje and Sienne for spending time talking about dosing with me last night. I have gone against the grain and chosen to shoot her at 1.25 and be consistent with that dose for the 6 cycles. I apologize if my behaviour/choices are frustrating to some but there are a few variables that keep twirling around in my head (ie: bg was high due to constipation, shooting in a new spot on chest,new vial of insulin, unreliable eater, unable to monitor closely) that have prompted me to make this choice. According to the protocol these choices are wrong but Ella has been known to not follow protocol rules and that's one of the reasons why we had to drain her shed and start again. These are just some of my thoughts. I may be kicking myself tonight, tomorrow and the day after that but I have to go with my gut on this one.

A million thanks to all those who visit and give advice and moral support. We appreciate and need it:)

Tamara & Ella
 
Re: 5/22 Ella AMPS 356

Dyana said:
I wouldn't do two BCSs in a row, but it's up to you.
The nice numbers she saw last night were from the 1.50 dose before that.

Hi Dyana,

Thanks for visiting:) I already shot her. I know the nice numbers she gave us were from the 1.50 but there is no way to know if all the food I gave her when she was at the low numbers helped her to surf. We'll be back to 1.5 in a day in a half if we need to.
 
Re: 5/22 Ella AMPS 356

I often tell people to go with their gut feeling. You did fine. I hope she comes down nicely for you today.
 
Re: 5/22 Ella AMPS 356

+2=364

I left some lc out for her today in case she needs it:)
 
Re: 5/22 Ella AMPS 356

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but I agree with Dyana, sometimes you just have to go with your gut .. hope ella gives you some pretty numbers today .. have a great day!
 
Re: 5/22 Ella PMPS 326 +1=281 +2=254

Thanks for visiting Devon:)
I'm feeling ok with going with my gut as she cleared her bounce and is dropping steadily. We had a really nice visit from Ronnie, Luna's bean, who may be watching Ella while we are in Montreal. We're going ot make a last minute call because if Ella is being a drama queen I don't want her to sacrifice her weekend as those days are precious:) It's nice to know I have support in my community. I'm feeling very grateful:)

Hope everyone has a nice night:)
 
Re: 5/22 Ella PMPS 326 +1=281 +2=254

hey neighbour!
I had a very good meet & greet with you and your beautiful kitties!
I timed my bike ride home - 7 minutes! :lol: well, that's on DBF' fast bike, it's more like 15 minutes on my old bike @-)
It was great to meet you and yes - we will see how miss drama queen does over the next week & a half.
All paws crossed for easy going cycles ok Ella? (she is ADORABLE!)

have a good nite!
 
Re: 5/22 Ella PMPS 326 +1=281 +2=254

You flew home on DH's bike! We're happy you came over for a visit. The kitties were enchanted with you:)

+3=203....quite the drop from +2. Looks like I'll be having another late night.
 
Re: 5/22 Ella PMPS 326 +1=281 +2=254 +3=203

How nice you met Ronnie (Luna), and she will be babysitting. I met Ronnie & Luna when first joining LL as a newbie. You will be in excellent hands with her and couldn't have a more caring and devoted Bean watching Ella.
 
Re: 5/22 Ella PMPS 326 +1=281 +2=254 +3=203

+4= 153 I've been feeding her lc since pmps and it's not helping to slow her drops. At this rate, I'm fairly certain that she will earn a reduction without the help of food...if she doesn't bounce.
 
Re: 5/22 Ella PMPS 326 +1=281 +2=254 +3=203+4=153 (fast drop

+5=113 Ella continues to drop despite getting food. I feel like we are headed down a familiar path. If she gets down below 50 does that mean she gets a reduction to 1u?
 
With Ella, anything is possible, I guess! Wait 'till tomorrow morning to see if she drops below 50. For a newly diagnosed kitty, a number in the 40s means an automatic reduction, but your dosing advisors might suggest otherwise.

Tamara, you are so lucky to have Ronnie to look after Ella when you are away. She's terrific. She rode with Linda (Bear Man) when Rusty traveled the Toronto-Kingston leg of his DCIN transport to his new home with us. We all had a great meeting in Kingston.

Have a good, uneventful night,

Ella & Rusty
 
Just stopping by to say hi!

Oh, Miss Ella.... always keeping you on your toes!

These blues are looking pretty good on her! Hopefully she'll slow down the drop now and let you get some rest. Have a good night!
 
Hi Tamara

Thank you for your post explaining your thoughts. My feeling is t hat Ella up is your cat, you know her best, and younare there with her and know her and your limitations. we can make suggestions but at the end of the day you hold the syringe.

Have you tested again and is she coming up?
 
Thanks for all of your visits everyone:) Yes, I'm really lucky to have Ronnie in my life:)

The internet was giving me some real problems so I couldn't post. She's been surfing the blues all night. I've been checking every hour. +8.5=146
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hi Tamara

Thank you for your post explaining your thoughts. My feeling is t hat Ella up is your cat, you know her best, and younare there with her and know her and your limitations. we can make suggestions but at the end of the day you hold the syringe.

Have you tested again and is she coming up?

Sorry Marje, my internet wasn't working properly to get on the board so I couldn't post. You are right in that Ella is my cat and I hold the syringe but I still feel that I need quite a bit of support in regards to dosing. I still continue to find the shed concept confusing.
Up until now I have pretty much followed every bit of advice I have been given on this board except for holding doses a bit longer than I should at times :oops: . I greatly appreciate all of the advice and support I get and regard all of you highly but I had a feeling come over me last night that I just couldn't ignore. I thought she was definitely headed for the greens with those fast drops tonight but was wrong. This is a learning moment for me:) Perhaps she will need to be bumped up to 1.50 to get her in those healing numbers...I guess we'll have to wait and see. My schedule does have limitations for the tight regulation protocol and when I first joined I thought the go slow protocol might be better but was told I was a good candidate for tight. So here I am, and I hope that the expereinced eyes will still help to guide me along the way...even though I may steer differently once in a while because of those feelings I get:)
 
hi good morning,
u mite of been wrong about Ella last nite, she didn't head to greens, but she did do really well!
Look at that +5!! :-D
I am sorry you had a late nite thou, that sucks.

We've all been in your shoes at one point or another - following protocol in the early stages is hard, but we do find our way eventually.
I hope you don't get any more noodles because of it :?

...and I agree, you are the caregiver, and you hold the syringe, if you are not comfortable, you gotta do what you feel is best for Ella - before you walk out that door.
hope this morning goes well for you guys.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top