5/22 Cinna | AMPS 129 | +1 135 | +2 100 | +3 91 | +4 95 | +6 124 | PMPS 140 | +2 86

Congrats on shooting your lowest amps. It’s not really any different than last night and look how flat he stayed and continued blue this morning. That’s real progress. . I used to feed 3-4 times each cycle and more often if Max was getting too low too fast and I didn’t want him to earn a reduction. Sometimes you need to feed the curve to help keep them steady. When he was higher he was fed a minimum of 3 times per cycle.

Since lantus doesn’t kick in until +2 most of the time, it’s not important for him to eat a lot at shot times. You do want to feed about the same amount overall so he doesn’t gain weight.
A condo in feeding the curve.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990
 
I only feed my sugar kitty twice a day. He eats both his meals over the course of about an hour (otherwise he eats too much and it all comes back up). I have given small snacks when his #s are getting low, but ideally we'll be sticking to the two-a-day schedule, since we have three other animals in the house and we can't leave food out for our sugar kitty and expect that he'll actually be the one to eat it. Every cat is different though!
 
@tiffmaxee - thanks! I just need to figure out how best to fit this into my schedule. Bringing his shot forward seems like it'll help with timing. I think last night was also the first night he didn't wake us up for food; though, I was feeding small amounts through +5. That feeding the curve info is really great, thanks for the link!

@Cali S - we also have another resident cat and foster cats, and with Cinna on a restricted diet because of allergies, leaving food out isn't an option, so everyone is on a schedule. Worst case I can put him in a room by himself with food if I really had to, he just doesn't like being shut in by himself lol
 
What about getting an auto feeder with a chip in it that only Cinna can open? I would not be able to lock my cats up because Mocha opens doors. I have locks on some but she would pound and pound on it if away from her sister while I’m out. I would need the auto feeder.
 
I would not be able to lock my cats up because Mocha opens doors.
lol... Mocha is very clever to have figured out how to open doors.

I'll definitely consider an auto-feeder if it looks like that would help, my only worry is that Cinna either wouldn't be smart enough to figure it out, or, the other cats would be smart enough to wait for him to open it and then barge in and steal his food :D
 
AM+6 and we are 124, that was with small feedings each hour from +0 through +4. Not sure what to expect tonight, but hopefully it involves more sleep :D
 
Her nadir seems to be around +4 and she is seeing gentle curves. Hoping you can call it a night by +3 or +4.
Are you able to move her shot up by 15 mins every cycle?
 
Are you able to move her shot up by 15 mins every cycle?

Sorry, somehow missed that question earlier. Yes, I am moving Cinna's shots forward 15 minutes each cycle. Currently shooting at 8.30. I'm not a morning person but getting up early sure beats staying up late (must be getting old lol)

Thanks for keeping an eye on us here @Bandit's Mom, really appreciate it!
 
haha, no worries, he has a girly name; I never changed it from what the rescue named him. :)

I need to catch up on some sleep, so no +4 tonight unless I happen to wake up. Thanks for helping guide me!!!
 
Back
Top