learjetta
Member Since 2019
Today we are performing our first home BG curve on Boris, and it hasn't gone well so far. Boris was given a dosage increase last week from 1u to 2u BID, and overall we have seen his numbers trending downward. Typically we do AMPS, +5, and PMPS, and they've all been high, but pretty close together, relatively speaking. This morning his AMPS spiked to 492, and his +2 is 468! He's also drinking a lot more than normal.
We recently added a timed feeder for overnight meals, and the one night I did check, he came and ate without any issue. However, I'm wondering if maybe last night he didn't get his snack and slept right through it? Or is this a delayed reaction to the change in his feeding schedule? Pretty sure we didn't have a fur shot or a shoot through, though he is a long haired cat and maybe we missed without realizing?
We are supposed to call in his BG numbers to the vet tomorrow, and I'm nervous they'll want to increase his dose to 3u based off of today's numbers. My concern is, he was on 3u between the end of April and beginning of May (for 2 weeks), and it caused his BG curve on 5/7 to read 90s, 60s, 90s, 200s, then 100s (sorry this isn't in the SS, I don't have the actual values from the vet and it's from memory), so they had us drop the dosage back down to start over. We are leaving for our destination wedding 6/8 (returning 6/13), and need to have him stable (even if a bit high) while we are gone. We are having a paid pet sitter experienced with giving insulin take care of him, but I'm not sure she'll be able to test his BG while we are gone.
Let me know if you need additional details I forgot to include.
Thanks!!!
We recently added a timed feeder for overnight meals, and the one night I did check, he came and ate without any issue. However, I'm wondering if maybe last night he didn't get his snack and slept right through it? Or is this a delayed reaction to the change in his feeding schedule? Pretty sure we didn't have a fur shot or a shoot through, though he is a long haired cat and maybe we missed without realizing?
We are supposed to call in his BG numbers to the vet tomorrow, and I'm nervous they'll want to increase his dose to 3u based off of today's numbers. My concern is, he was on 3u between the end of April and beginning of May (for 2 weeks), and it caused his BG curve on 5/7 to read 90s, 60s, 90s, 200s, then 100s (sorry this isn't in the SS, I don't have the actual values from the vet and it's from memory), so they had us drop the dosage back down to start over. We are leaving for our destination wedding 6/8 (returning 6/13), and need to have him stable (even if a bit high) while we are gone. We are having a paid pet sitter experienced with giving insulin take care of him, but I'm not sure she'll be able to test his BG while we are gone.
Let me know if you need additional details I forgot to include.
Thanks!!!

