5/21 Titus, amps~146, +3~38,+3.5~78,+4.5~58,+5.5~61,+7~59

Status
Not open for further replies.

titus family

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43776

Wow, another wild ride last night! Titus dropped to 21@ +4, given I was scarred out of my wits, probably did over kill on the karo syrup :oops: Realize now that I need to go easier on that. Also gave him hc on top of that. He finally started turning back around +5. (went up quite high due to the sugar) After speaking with Joyce thisam on the doses, I think I may have not been as accurate on it as I should have been on the dosecrease this am, thus giving him a drop more than he needed today! Which brings me to this am . Same situation again this am which took his bg down to 38 @ +3, 78@+3.5, 58 @+4.5, 61@ +5.5 & 59 @ +7. Titus is eating well & full of life. I did use karo syrup again today & mc.

Joyce & I have been trying to figure out how to get a accurate dose by counting out the drops. Dose 1 drop =.1?
We figured in .5 there are 5 full drops. Is this what you are finding as well?

Also, Titus still seems to be dropping his bg from the +11 & +12. Is this something to be concerned with? Joyce keeps telling me I'm not supposed to be shooting a dropping number. I only have about 15 minutes of swing time in the am. I was able to bring him to work with me today but that is rarely a option.

We have confirmed where the plunger should be for a .25 tonight. Suggestions or thought if this where I should keep him for now?
 
Re: 5/21 Titus, amps~146, +3~38,+3.5~78,+4.5~58,+5.5~61,+7~5

BUMP.

Can someone give us some thoughts on the questions in Penny's post? Thanks
 
Re: 5/21 Titus, amps~146, +3~38,+3.5~78,+4.5~58,+5.5~61,+7~5

I think I posted that reducing Titus' dose the full 0.25u for this morning (i.e., a skinny 0.25u) looked like it was indicated given the 21 yesterday. The 38 this morning may be the result of an overfilled shed from yesterday. Since you already shot, let's see what happens tonight. I'd get a +2 so you can see where things are going.

As far as counting drops, a lot depends on the individual person as well as on the type of syringe. As long as you are consistent, you're good.

(It would also be helpful if you could update Titus' SS with the numbers you have from today.)
 
Re: 5/21 Titus, amps~146, +3~38,+3.5~78,+4.5~58,+5.5~61,+7~5

Hi Penny, Joyce asked me to stop by and explain how I measure the microdoses. I assume that you have seen the pix in the new to the group sticky http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139 I am shooting Tess at .1u, it is just before the 0 line, but I can see a sliver of light between the plunger and the 0 line. I don't know how many others do this, but I like to have the light behind the syringe. I can see the space better that way. I hold the syringe straight up and twist the plunger to squeeze out the drops until they start to slide down the needle. i get very consistent drops this way.

I get 10 drops at .5u and 5 drops at .25u. So the .1u is 4 drops, 3 drops I'll call a fat 0, full on the 0 line is 2 drops and 1 drop is a skinny 0. Call them what ever you wish. I know a lot of people say .1u is one drop. If I go by the picture I always get more drops than that. It all depends on how you squeeze them out and the syringe, the important thing is to be consistent in how you do it. One difference for us too, is that we are using Levemir, not Lantus. I think Levemir is a little thicker, so that will effect the number of drops different.

I always draw up the dose and count out the drops to be sure that the syringe markings are consistent. If it isn't, I draw insulin again adjust where I think my 4 drops will be and count the drops again. Then I draw her shot at that mark. The Monoject syringes are pretty consistent, but there is the occasional one that is off.

One last thing is to be able to see the lines and plunger clearly. I use a magnifying visor with a 2X lens and an additional loupe. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43534&p=465256&hilit=optivisor#p465256

I hope this helps.
 
Re: 5/21 Titus, amps~146, +3~38,+3.5~78,+4.5~58,+5.5~61,+7~5

Thanks Ann and Sienne - guess we will need to practice with the lantus not the water in the syringe.

Titus was 126 at his pmps, 67 at +4.5.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top