5/21 pika amps139 +2 77 +10 85, +11 81, Pmps 96

Pika and Shellz

Member Since 2023
Good afternoon. I’m sorry for not continuing to post last night after my +1. I fell asleep and my husband started to watch pika for me and he doesn’t test his glucose, he does check to make sure he is alert and walking and moving fine. So I do not know how low or high he got in his cycle. When I woke up at around +5 hours I asked pika if I needed to test him and he did his “I’m sleeping mom” meow and stretched out to get belly rubs and refusing to move. So I let him sleep.

But as far as we know he did amazing last night!! And this morning at insulin time he was 139 and I did a skinny 2.75 but I think today he earned a reduction.. due to his 77 at +1 on the alphatrak 3. And when I was testing the libra sensor vs the AlphaTRAK and it seemed it was close to 30 points difference each time. Libre was 30 points lower than AlphaTRAK.. so I’m guessing he would have been close to 50 or 47 today if I used a human meter…. So does that mean he earned a reduction to 2.5u instead of the 2.75?

But his clinical signs of diabetes has started to go down. He is drinking less and his pees are going back to a normal size. He isn’t eating as much food as he was before with the diabetes it’s more the amount he used to eat before becoming a diabetic.

my husband was home with pika today and he said he was alert and energetic and loving his loves.. he didn’t test him so we only got my test at +2 at 77 on the AlphaTRAK.. I’m getting ready to do the +11 test since I’m home from work! Thank you all!! And pika also thanks you cause with you I have been more consistent finally and we can see that it works to be consistent!!


Last nights post.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...elp-need-to-give-insulin.277761/#post-3073290
 
Okay so his +10 (sorry I thought it was +11) was at 85.. so he stayed low all day I’m guessing.. he did get multiple treats throughout the day. But I’m kinda in shock and it brings me to not know what to do at 9 when his shot is due.. I was hoping to give it at 830 since I work at 930 am tomorrow and I work all day…. But him being at 85 at +10 makes me worried on what do I do tonight when his shot is due if he hasn’t started to rise up.
 
Okay so +11 he is 81.. so I am lost on what to do cause I’m not comfortable at all giving insulin under 100.. could this be a case for a token dose?
 
Pika is due for his shot and is only 86… I did put down the dry food but I haven’t gave him his wet food that I serve with insulin.
 
Pika is due for his shot and is only 86… I did put down the dry food but I haven’t gave him his wet food that I serve with insulin.
Tagging Elise for you, and see what she would have said , I see she helped you on your previous post
Can tag @Wendy&Neko also
@tiffmaxee

I just saw you went ahead and shot 2.25 units , In your title I'm pretty sure you should put PMPS-96 since that's what you have on your spreadsheet..
Next time you need help I would put a ? first in your title then Need Advice For PMPS Dose to draw attention to it.
He did earn a reduction , but I wouldn't know if you should have reduced to 2.5 instead of 2.25
Let's see what Elise would have suggested to shoot
Congrats on the reduction :cat:
By the way your +2 during the AM cycle says +2 on your spreadsheet but in your title you have +1
Where all the numbers you got today using the Alpha Trak or the Libre Sensor?
@Pika and Shellz
 
Last edited:
Tagging Elise for you, I see she helped you on your previous post
@tiffmaxee

I just saw you went ahead and shot

I did!! And I was terrified!! But I’m being forced into shooting low this isn’t by choice. And I already delayed too long and messed tomorrow up.. But I reduced by .5 which I probably shouldn’t have.. I probably should have on reduced by .25.. but I think he earned the reduction. And tonight I will be better at getting those +1 and +2 and then one more before I crawl into bed (I fall asleep on couch first then move to bed)
 
By the way your +2 during the AM cycle says 77 on your spreadsheet but in your title you have +1
Where all the numbers you got today using the Alpha Trak or the Libre Sensor?
Pika sure is a handsome kitty.

Just a suggestion, since you are using the Libre which is considered human numbers why don't you buy a human meter instead of using the Alpha Trak 3?
Also when you do test with the Alpha Trak I would note that in the cell or if you want to call it the block with the BG number you got so members are aware of it, only because if they didn't read your post above they wouldn't know that
@Pika and Shellz
 
Last edited:
I did!! And I was terrified!! But I’m being forced into shooting low this isn’t by choice. And I already delayed too long and messed tomorrow up.. But I reduced by .5 which I probably shouldn’t have.. I probably should have on reduced by .25.. but I think he earned the reduction. And tonight I will be better at getting those +1 and +2 and then one more before I crawl into bed (I fall asleep on couch first then move to bed)
As long as you keep testing him to be sure he's not dropping to low and have med and high carb food and honey you will be ok
 
Sorry I wasn’t around. Congrats on the reduction. Being new to lower bg with a bg just 96 I would have given a reduced dose of 20 of the new reduced dose so .50. I would suspect a bounce at this point but hard to say. Get a +1 and +2 to start.
 
By the way your +2 during the AM cycle says 77 on your spreadsheet but in your title you have +1
Where all the numbers you got today using the Alpha Trak or the Libre Sensor?
Pika sure is a handsome kitty.

Just a suggestion, since you are using the Libre which is considered human numbers why don't you buy a human meter instead of using the Alpha Trak 3?


Thank you I totally didn’t catch that it was +2! Greatly appreciated! All my numbers since last Sunday have been AlphaTRAK! I chose the AlphaTRAK since it was the same as my vet. And the human meter I originally got required .6 vs .3 microliter.

And thank you Pika is a very special kitty I felt so bad shaving spots on him with the sensor!! One reason I’m okay coming off it.. but im sure I’ll get another eventually.
 
Plus 1 total failed. Pika decided he wasn’t going to let me test him. The few poles I did get he wouldn’t bleed and then when he did he jerked when I was collecting and not enough blood.. then there wasn’t enough for second test. So I’ll try again at +2
 
+2 and 98. I will test him again before I wonder into bed.

And I can change title but that was where he was when he needed his shot.. so I posted cause I’m new to low numbers. And I delayed even further. To make sure his sugars were rising… cause he needed his dose and just shot with a reduced dose. And now tomorrow is all sorts of messed up but I still gave a good dose of insulin. I have a history of being inconsistent and pika was all over the place with that., so I’m new to consistent doses and being low numbers… and it’s hard to update everything as needed.
 
Pika bounced just as you predicted! I’m not sure what time it all happened cause I was out like a light. When I woke up to test him I was too asleep to test. I know I need to get some rest in the middle of the night.. I just struggle cause I sleep super deep, but I do wake up and check him for alertness. (That doesn’t require any precise movements)
 
Thank you I totally didn’t catch that it was +2! Greatly appreciated! All my numbers since last Sunday have been AlphaTRAK! I chose the AlphaTRAK since it was the same as my vet. And the human meter I originally got required .6 vs .3 microliter.

And thank you Pika is a very special kitty I felt so bad shaving spots on him with the sensor!! One reason I’m okay coming off it.. but im sure I’ll get another eventually.
Hi I was thinking about you ,I thought I would just mention that the Freestyle Lite Human Meter and the Freestyle Freedom Lite take the same amount of blood that the Alpha Trak 3 does 0.3
microliter and the test strips are cheaper than the Alpha Trak 3. You can get them in any pharmacy,Walmart , Walgreens, CVS and other dept stores. No coding needed either
You can just Google the test strips and see who has the cheaper price
In case you wanted to save some money :cat:
I used to use the Aloha Trak in the beginning, but the price for the test strips was killing me.
Most every vet uses the Alpha Trak Meters
My vet was fine with me using the human meter
Just thought I'd let you know . A lot of members use them :cat:
https://www.amazon.com/Abbott-Freestyle-Blood-Glucose-Meter/dp/B00QH65O48?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

If you are going to test with the Alpha Trak I would put a blank line above the date I think you said it was last Sunday that you started using it (5-14?) only because sometimes members won't see it in your remarks section of the SS
 
Last edited:
Back
Top