5/21 Johnny AMPS 149 (no shot); +6 358; PMPS 367 (2u)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Johnny is doing GREAT!

My suggestion, to avoid having to skip so many shots, is to reduce his dose a little. By skipping shots, you kind of set him up on a trampoline - he goes low and you skip a shot, so the next preshot reading is high because it has been 24 hours since the last shot. If you reduce just a little, it should bring those lower numbers up enough that you'll feel comfortable shooting, and by getting insulin into Johnny every 12 hours it should bring those pink numbers down too. I suggest dropping the dose to 1.75 for a few days and seeing where that leaves him.

Of course, once you have done that, then we can teach you how to safely give shots in the 100's. Right now, though, you want to work on getting a dose that you can shoot every 12 hours.
 
Hi Janice and Johnny and a somewhat belated welcome to Lantus Land! And good luck in getting your shooting schedule under control. It can be challenging, but rewarding, too. Great picture!

Ella & Stu
 
Thanks for the welcomes and compliments on our cutie!

Just took a +4 reading and just about to add it to our SS. 74

Libby, what you said makes a ton of sense. We're feeling more comfortable with adapting the dosage if needed. It's hard to see exact 1/2 measurements on our syringes, but we're looking into getting some new ones. Better too little than too much, so I think we could eyeball if necessary.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top