5/21 Eegie AMPS=503;+5.5=438;PMPS=312

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sgans and Eegie - GA

Member Since 2015
This is the highest it's ever been. Either I was a TOTAL spaz last night, or his new constipation symptoms are causing LOTS of stress. Bringing to vet in 45 minutes for x-rays, maybe he needs an enema (poops come out - small, but not hard - quite creamy, but really stressing to do it)?

Also, due to dry heaves, I had to delay morning meds- and gave him some milk and viyo to settle the stomach only 15 minutes ago...

Yesterday's condo: Here
 
Thank you!!!
Here's the update - vet did x-ray. Oy! So, the lasix we used for his bad breathing the other day was the right choice - but I need to do much more. His pleural surroundings in his right lung (previous pleural effusion, and tumor in that lung) are FILLED with fluid. The lasix clearly emptied a small area from which he can now get air in that lung, but it's really really full - can't even see the tumor. The right lung is reasonably okay, so that's what he's using to breathe. No WONDER he's stressed and breathing shallowly!

BUT - the lasix ALSO caused constipation - bad constipation. I've been watching it start for a few days, and took measures, but again, apparently insufficient. His IBD just is such a teeter-totter on this. His colon is jammed, and his bowels are 70% filled with hard, dry poop. He'd had a good poop a few days ago, and this has been increasing since then. It was weird, 'cause the poops were forced, but not hard, they were creamy and tiny. Apparently that's what he could get out.

Right now, he's getting an enema (thank goodness they can do this without anesthesia - although Eegie's stress level is going to be astronomical from it. That'll clear the bowels, but not the colon too well. So, we're starting Lactulose and changing the med regimen to focus on bulking but also softening poop. We hope the clearing of the bowel will let the colon move along. I was terrified of megacolon, but that doesn't seem to be the case here...... yet - thank goodness!

Eegie's going to be SO PISSED OFF! I don't blame him - but I think this may help.... I hope.
 
Thank you, @Amy&TrixieCat (and @tiffmaxee ). His enema went... well. He's walking better and ate a little something - only about an oz, but considering his day, I'll deal with that. Vet wants me to go up to 1.5u tomorrow. We're adding lactulose, which is supposedly neutral for diabetes, but I have to seriously up his lasix. His numbers have been bad for several cycles ( even considering some bad or partially bad shots), and the vet thinks going up to 1.5 from 1.25 at this point won't be a danger and will give more consistency even, because it's easier to see and measure. I agree - I did NOT like his numbers and it seems to make sense with all his stuff going on. That happens tomorrow morning. I know... against protocols... but So's everything else Eegie has to deal with!

Poor boy is so tired from all this morning... you can just see it. I'm giving him a testing break for an extra hour...
 
Just updated the medication spreadsheet as of today, although it's the full one I created for next week. I combine meds into capsules or syringes when I can...

Time for the +5 test!
 
Thanks for the clarification, @Chris & China ! It's good to know we're on the right track as far as all that's concerned.

As for the poop - I'd never had a pet have an enema before - this is MESSY!!! Poor boy hates having his pooper cleaned too - so OY VEY!!!

Need to get him to eat more too - he regurged his little meal last poop. Hope the new meds help too...

My poor macho boy!!!
 
Very little food today, but that enema had him so stressed and the constipation was so ugly, that he gagged and dry heaved at each poop. His post-enema leakage seems a bit better by now, and he had a slew of a new med/probiotic mix at +10:30 (8:30pm my time), and I'm also giving SEB. In a little while, I'll try a little food. Hopefully tomorrow he'll eat after I give him the higher dosage. I'm out at a client for a few hours tomorrow (leave about 45 minutes post-am shot), but will test upon return. I just hope he passes his poop and eats and keeps it down... is that a lot to ask? Oy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top