5/21 Duriel AMPS265,+2 241,+8 183, +11 140/136/128

Status
Not open for further replies.
So am I understanding correctly?
You have not shot yet.

Normally, you hold food back until shot time so your numbers won't be food influenced where you can't tell what is what....

The numbers you have are pretty much the same.... 140, 136, and 128.... ( the 128 being a little less)
It generally takes 30 minutes to see the food have an influence on a number....
 
I have not shot yet. I thought to feed her little bits to stop her going too low. But I do understand that "stalling" means I can't feed her. Next time this happens, I will not feed until she starts going up. My treshold for shooting is 150mg/dL.
What I am wondering however is: why would a cat be going lower at +12? Isn't the nadir supposed to happen sometime during the cycle, and not afterwards? Could a dip after +12 indicate she's storing too much insulin, and may need a dose reduction to prevent over-storing? Just wondering, not trying to reach any conclusions... simply wanting to know what this may mean.
 
There are some cats that do second dips. And the short answer is that Duriel may be working toward a reduction soon....

You'll have to earn it....going thru the green drops again....


So I haven't visited your condo yet...
How flexible is your schedule for the stalling?
 
1 hour after usual shot time, and she's still dropping. Now at 113. Still have not shot, and fed 1/4 meal 45 mins ago, and another 1/4 meal 30 mins ago. Have not fed remaining 1/2 yet, and have not fed in the last 30 mins.
What could be going on? Shouldn't she be on the rise rather than dipping?

EDIT: Thanks rhiannon and shadow: I am flexible, and can wait longer until she starts to rise.
 
I expect that Sienne or someone will be here within the next hour for the best guidance.
Hold off on any more feeding and wait 30 minutes between tests....
We'll see if Duriel starts going up or just continues dropping....
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
Hold off on any more feeding and wait 30 minutes between tests....
We'll see if Duriel starts going up or just continues dropping....

Ok thanks, I will.
 
Just out of curiosity, why is 150 your "no shot" number?

A drop at shot time is not indicative of the need for a dose reduction. In fact, some cats do have late nadirs -- sometimes their low is at shot time. (It's like everything is off by 6 hrs).

It does look like Durie had a 35 on 5/17 and you didn't reduce the dose. A number below 40 always warrants a dose reduction.

As for tonight, if the +11 was 140, at what +time were the 136 and 128?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
As for tonight, if the +11 was 140, at what +time were the 136 and 128

The +11 was actually exactly 12 hrs after am shot (5:40pm). I put it as +11 to indicate no pm shot had been done yet. The 136 was at 5:57pm, the 128 was at 6:14pm, and the 113 was at 6:43pm. Will go test now, 45 mins since last check.

EDIT: At 7:28pm she reads 108. This is exactly why I fed 1/2 meal approx 1.5 hrs ago... I thought she might go hypo if I didn't. I think you're right, her dip into 35 on the 17th should have meant a reduction... tonight's readings appear to suggest the same.
 
It's not a +11 then. It's your +12 (or sometimes people will refer to it as a PMBG -- blood glucose vs. PM Pre-shot). So the other tests are:
  • +12 = 140
  • +12.25 - 136
  • +12.5 - 128
  • +12.75 - 113

Does that seem pretty close to accurate?
 
At least if you're following Tight Regulation, the numbers so far tonight don't imply a reduction -- at least not yet. Durie would need to drop below 50 for a reduction. However, I think you may be more comfortable with the Start Low Go Slow approach. With SLGS, you reduce when numbers drop below 90.

If numbers keep dropping, you may want to skip or shoot a reduced dose unless you can afford to stall longer. Can you manage being off schedule?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
It's not a +11 then. It's your +12 (or sometimes people will refer to it as a PMBG -- blood glucose vs. PM Pre-shot). So the other tests are:
  • +12 = 140
  • +12.25 - 136
  • +12.5 - 128
  • +12.75 - 113

Does that seem pretty close to accurate?

Yes, and the latest one (108) would be close to +13.75 (less than +14 by 12 minutes)
 
My hunch is that the numbers are flattening out and will start to go up. It's your call whether you want to shoot or how much you want to shoot. When you stall, especially for 2 hours, the effect is like a dose reduction. (A late shot acts like a dose reduction whereas an early shot acts like a dose increase.) If you shoot a reduced dose, it's a double whammy on the insulin depot. If it were me, I'd shoot Duriel's regular dose -- 0.5u or maybe a skinny 0.5u to take the missed reduction into account. But, you need to be comfortable with shooting and you will need to get some tests this evening.
 
tompytomp said:
shoot Duriel's regular dose -- 0.5u or maybe a skinny 0.5u to take the missed reduction into account. But, you need to be comfortable with shooting and you will need to get some tests this evening.

Thanks for the advice and explanations. I have to go out soon this evening, and be gone for nearly 3 hrs. When would you suggest that I test, if I shot a skinny .5u... or should I just skip tonight's shot, and return to her regular dose tomorrow at 5:40am? I will be here a while longer, to see what you think. My hunch is that I should feed her the rest of her meal soon, and skip the shot tonight (and shoot skinny .5's starting tomorrow at 5:40... which gives me 3 hrs in the morning to test her, before I must go to school by 9am).
 
If you're not going to be home to monitor, I wouldn't be comfortable suggesting that you shoot. There's no way to know if Durie will decide to drop further.

Your plan re. skipping and shooting a skinny 0.5u tomorrow sounds like a good one.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
If you're not going to be home to monitor, I wouldn't be comfortable suggesting that you shoot. There's no way to know if Durie will decide to drop further.

Your plan re. skipping and shooting a skinny 0.5u tomorrow sounds like a good one.

Thank you so much for your help! I will skip tonight's shot, restart her insulin tomorrow at the usual time, and test around AM+2 to make sure it's going well before I leave for class at 8am.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top