5/21/14 Kiki's Charlie - Advice Requested on SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiki's Charlie

Member Since 2014
Hi. I'm new to the board. Jill (Charlie's mom) helped me set up my spreadsheet today.

Can I please have some eyes on the sheet to give advice for tonight's dosing? Thanks. I will test again today.

I'm thinking 1 unit for tonight and keeping the almo nature food consistent for today (since it is having a positive impact). Later, I'll need to supplement that with a second food since the almo nature says needs to be supplemented with another food with a bit more fat.

We are having a tiny bit of trouble with the SS. But FYI that charlie's number at +3 this morning was 7.8 (European numbers), so 140.4 (US Numbers). So far so good!

Kiki
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

I'm not sure how close you are to your PM shot time. It looks like your last test was at AM +3. If it's still this early in the cycle, I'd suggest getting a test closer to the middle of the cycle and then getting another test at +10 or +11 if that's possible for your schedule. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point (the nadir) in the cycle.

Just as an FYI, doses are typically held for 3 consecutive days/6 consecutive cycles. By giving a reduced dose this morning, the count starts over unless Charlie's numbers during the day indicate that a reduction is needed. Because dosing is based on the nadir, it's important to get at least one test during the PM cycle. Even though Charlie's PMPS was 344, as you saw this morning, numbers can and do drop during the PM cycle.

You might want to read over the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. There's a lot of information in there to absorb but it does walk you through how to think about dosing.
 
Thanks Sienne!
I will definitely try to hold the 1IU for three days now (there's a long story and explanation to why the units have shifted so much ; ) I'm still trying to get the SS working, but for now: I did test again at AM +5 and she had 4,4 (Europen Units). I fed her a little bit and will test again at AM +6. I know that the aim is to get her numbers down, but it makes me nervous when they are this low... ;-)
 
OK, so it seems like the SS is working (and updated!)

Hi PeterDevonMocha, and thanks ; ) It be a long night... Today was a bit nerve-wrecking with my cat in low numbers (for her) all day, but it still seems to be on the safe side ~O)
 
Hi Kiki. Welcome!

No dose advice from me, but I just wanted to let you know you are in the right place. There are a lot of knowledgeable, helpful people here, and they'll give you all the guidance and support you need to get your kitty on the right path. Don't be afraid to ask questions. We were all new to this once, so there is no question that we consider silly or dumb. The more you know, the better for your kitty.

Good luck and keep up the good work - the numbers for today so far look great!
 
Hi Kiki! Welcome from me too! I'm glad Jill was able to help you get started with everything and connected here.

The 392 tonight is a bounce. Charlie's body has gotten used to higher numbers and reacted to the 79 today. Here's a description of what's happening in his body. Take a look at the 2nd post here. Just hold the 1u dose, even with the high numbers tonight, and continue on.

You don't have to test every hour - most of us test more before the nadir (low point of the cycle) and then back off on testing as much once we see the blood sugar is rising.

REQUISITES WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR:

Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.

It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.
Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).
Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.

Do you have a laxative substitute for the one you had to remove because it had sugar in it? Some people use miralax. My vet suggested oat bran or wheat bran for punkin, which i bought in bulk at the grocery store for a few pennies. If you need help on that, you might add it to your subject line so people with kitties who have constipation issues will stop by to give you their suggestions on what might work.

Glad to have you here! Ask plenty of questions and we'll do our best to help you learn how to help Charlie!
 
Hello and another welcome. That 4.4 was very nice to see today. (I'm used to World numbers too :-D ). Since Lantus is a depot insulin you might be still seeing some effect from the 1.5U dose. As Julie suggested, just hold the 1.0U dose so we can see what it does.

In Canada, Miralax is called RestoraLax. It's polyethlene glycol 3350 powder, and might be called something else again in the Netherlands. My vet also recommended psyllium fiber as an alternative.
 
Hi guys, and thanks a million for your answers. This journey is definitely less nerve-wracking knowing people like you are out there!
Thanks Julie for solving that mystery for me (high numbers all of a sudden yesterday at PMPS).
I'm sticking to 1IU for a while since I realise I have been quite inconsistent so far and also increased the dosages too suddenly. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top