? 5/20Mrs. Jones AMPS 396 +5 275 Question About Spike Yesterday

MissyCat6

Member
Hello! Mrs. Jones had an unusual spike yesterday. Prior, we were reasonably happy with the numbers after the last dental. She started a lower phos, although higher carb food on Wednesday night. We've had to move dosing for 0.75 back to 1.0. I started Weruva Phos Focus wet yesterday (mixed in with her lower carb dry food). Any thoughts on the spike? She is on a pain med 2x per day now and had her monthly Solensia shot last night. I look forward to your insight. Although slightly disheartened with the spike, I am quite pleased about being able to add Weruva! :)





Mrs. Jones is doing well recovering from her dental. Pain med is 1 time per day now with noted gluc drop after med administered. We suspect pain is making her gluc go up. Well managed pain equals decent numbers during the day. Tonight, she was at 165 and we noticed some fluctuations showing 129 while eating in her eating window. I shot 0.5 again because this was even lower than Sunday morning when we also decided to shoot low. Spreadsheet is up to date. Can we graduate to a 0.75 shot AM and PM with the pain med? Thanks so much! :)
 
Last edited:
Mrs. Jones is doing well recovering from her dental. Pain med is 1 time per day now with noted gluc drop after med administered. We suspect pain is making her gluc go up. Well managed pain equals decent numbers during the day. Tonight, she was at 165 and we noticed some fluctuations showing 129 while eating in her eating window. I shot 0.5 again because this was even lower than Sunday morning when we also decided to shoot low. Spreadsheet is up to date. Can we graduate to a 0.75 shot AM and PM with the pain med? Thanks so much! :)
@Wendy&Neko
 
@MissyCat6
Hi Natashya ,I saw you asked Shelly and Fistuk on her post
I copied it
Hi Shelley and Fistuk, my kitty also has very early CKD. Did you and your vet make a decision on how to proceed? We are looking at Hill's Science Diet 11+ as a reasonable option.

The Hills Science Diet 11+ dry cat food is
about 29.9 % carbs too high for a diabetic kitty.
Will Mrs Jones eat wet food?

if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085


I think its available in Canada
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom The Weruva pates are available in Canada.

About day 7-10 is where you might start noticing numbers improve after a dental. She's right on schedule.

That 81 is too low for SLGS. Time for something a little higher carb than her usual, as it's so early in the cycle.
 
Thanks so much! Mrs. Jones will not eat wet food. However, perhaps I will try the Weruva and coat her dry food with it. I have read the post on transitioning from kibble to wet. I have tried in the past but will give it another go. Thanks again!
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom The Weruva pates are available in Canada.

About day 7-10 is where you might start noticing numbers improve after a dental. She's right on schedule.

That 81 is too low for SLGS. Time for something a little higher carb than her usual, as it's so early in the cycle.

Good to know this is normal for post-dental. We don't like the 81 either. I'm going to post with her new numbers and maybe she's earned a reduction? Thanks!
 
Mrs. Jones' spreadsheet is up to date. She had a 97 at 9pm last night. Given that she dropped so low even after the evening feed yesterday and depending on her number this evening, can she earn a decrease to 0.75 tonight? Numbers are pretty decent today. I wonder if they will drop again around feeding time. She had a pain med in the morning at 10 AM. We are moving to a pain med every 12 hours. She is getting her Solensia on Friday (and every 30 days). Perhaps with the dental and nearing the new Solensia injection, she is uncomfortable. However, she is still her feisty, affectionate, and playful self:) Thanks every one as always for your help. Did I link it properly this time?
 
She's still doing great! We shot 0.75 last night and this morning. Spreadsheet is up to date. Continue with 0.75 iu for tonight? We're doing pain med twice daily now. Thanks!
 
Good Day! We had an early sensor change on Friday. We also started the Hill's 11+ Indoor Dry at the rec of our vet to manage kidney functioning. She and I are both watching to see if gluc goes up when we intro this food. Noted, from the forums that this food is higher in carbs. Spreadsheet indicates that when we mixed this food in with the Power Cat Carb Control, she hovered around 18 on Saturday. However, last night and this morning, I mixed with her dry food, FF Turkey and Giblets. She ate it! She is not a wet food eater but I think we've had a breakthrough. I'm picking up the Weruva Chicken today (low phos, low carb) and will mix it in with her dry food. Any recommendations on the transition? Thanks so much!
 
Hello! Any guidance would be appreciated. What is going on with the numbers today? We were doing so well. She is getting buphrenorphine 2x daily and she also got her Solensia shot today. Is the intro of the Hill's 11+ Indoor at 29 carbs causing the problems? I picked up the Weruva canned today and she ate it tonight mixed with a bit of her older lower carb dry food. I'm hoping to fully transition to Weruva over the next two weeks. This is disheartening....:(
 
Back
Top