5/20 Splitzie AMBG 82, +2 is 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zinda

Member Since 2011
This is not my first post on here, but my first AMPS or PMPS post. Her shots and her spreadsheet are still a bit all over, I'm still trying to get into things. I have now set an alarm on my phone to get more tests in. For the past few days her BG has been running much better. Has it ever happened that a cat has gone OTJ only after a few days of insulin? Don't worry, not getting my hopes up, just wondering. cat_pet_icon

Thanks,
Kathy and Splitzie

Add: Her +2 BG was 71, still no shot. and have her +4 coming up, too.
 
Re: 5/20 Splitzie AMPS 82

Good morning! I don't have any great advice since I am still pretty new. However, we wanted to stop by and say hello and welcome!
 
Re: 5/20 Splitzie AMPS 82

Yes, it's happened that cats go into remission after a few shots. But, it's mostly due to a diet change. The cat becomes regulated due to diet control -- out with the HC, especially dry, and in with LC. If this is the case, your cat is still diabetic and you can't go back to your old food. You need to stick with LC food.

FYI: If you don't give a shot, the number is your AMBG (AM or PM Blood Glucose). It's not an AMPS since you don't have a "shot" (AM Pre-Shot).
 
Re: 5/20 Splitzie AMPS 82

Hi guys .. what a nice number to start the day out at! Glad you are going to get a few more tests in ..have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/20 Splitzie AMPS 82

She has had a recent diet change, plus us being more strict with her. She has been eating Fancy Feast. Before us getting more strict and she was eating whatever canned food I could get. I was trying to keep costs down and was buying stuff that after I started here, I found out was not the best for her. I also was wondering about the off brand, such as Kroger brand. Are any of those low carb? I didn't see any on the list.
Ah... Yeah, I guess amps wouldn't make sense if she's not getting a shot. lol
Thanks
 
Hi, Kathy!

I don't know about the Kroger's brand, but I know that several people here feed Sophisticat, PetSmart's house brand. It's about finding the low-carb varieties of the brand, of course. Fancy Feast makes gravy flavors that are packed with carbs. But there's a Sophisticat flavor that is comparable to FF classic chicken or whatever.

It's also possible to figure out the as-fed carb content, by getting specific info from the company. Maybe you can post in the general health forum or community and see whether anyone has taken that step.

Welcome to Lantus Land!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top