5/20 Kim's Simon AMPS 79 +6/80 +9/96 Thoughts on next dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Good Sunday all! Feels like summer already here in the Big D. Sigh. Long hot summer ahead! I'm not sure what the pioneers did before A/C. Probably lots of siestas. I could really fit in with a siesta culture :lol:

Simon has been at .15 for one week. Do I go ahead and shave tomorrow? There isn't a lot more room to go lower. It all depends on the hand that measures :cool: I have been trying to shave very slowly (.05 increments, if that's even possible. I use a caliper micrometer). This is because his pattern has not been to "earn" reductions. Would it be best to hold this dose and really wait for an earned reduction (that is, if I could catch it?) Or can I shave one more time and then, if he holds, go for a trial? I know we're so close, but some of his values just don't seem as low as some kitties. I would like to see more in the 60s. When we watched Vyktor at this stage of his game, he was throwing all kinds of low numbers. Simon hasn't done 40s very often, but he's never really been much of a drama king.

Anyway, those of you who have seen cats go into remission by earning or by shaving. . .is one way more secure or represent stronger remission? Or does it not matter? He DOES drop his BG with snacks for sure. So I know his pancreas is working!
 
Re: 5/20 Kim's Simon AMPS 79 +6/80 +9/96 Thoughts on next do

my inclination would be to shave...but i'm thinking you need more experienced eyes than mine.
I made Binks earn his reductions, then would only shave it...
but Simon has a gorgeous green SS!!

My lil poop did his own thing after the .25u amounts anyway, so I'm not a great judge

He's looking great!!! soooooo close!
 
Re: 5/20 Kim's Simon AMPS 79 +6/80 +9/96 Thoughts on next do

He's looking mighty good! If he was a long-term diabetic, I'd say give him another week before you shave. But he's not. And so far he's held his reductions when you have shaved and he's been earning them by being in normal numbers a week.

If you can get him down to .1u, I'd shave to that. The longer we can keep them on insulin, the better the chances are for a successful remission as it allows for additional pancreas support.

Great job, Kim!!! Good luck on the reduction...you can do it Simon!
 
Re: 5/20 Kim's Simon AMPS 79 +6/80 +9/96 Thoughts on next do

mybuddybinks said:
my inclination would be to shave...but i'm thinking you need more experienced eyes than mine.
I made Binks earn his reductions, then would only shave it...
but Simon has a gorgeous green SS!!

My lil poop did his own thing after the .25u amounts anyway, so I'm not a great judge

He's looking great!!! soooooo close!

Celi, I still haven't heard the story on how Binks "took himself off insulin." Is that code for the bean was really tired, or did Binks write you a report with three good reasons?
 
Re: 5/20 Kim's Simon AMPS 79 +6/80 +9/96 Thoughts on next do

Good luck on whatever you decide to do. Simon is so close. We'll be cheering for you here!! Hot in Tulsa too. Nothing like jumping right into summer feet first. One more week of school for your family? Hope you have a great night Kim!
 
Re: 5/20 Kim's Simon AMPS 79 +6/80 +9/96 Thoughts on next do

If you can shoot a consistent dose, I'd shave.

Take a look at Kathy's Kitty's SS. Kitty came down the dose ladder a week at a time and didn't surf in low greens.
 
Re: 5/20 Kim's Simon AMPS 79 +6/80 +9/96 Thoughts on next do

All right, .1 it is! I guess we can try to figure out .05 after that; or call it a drop or whatever is left in the needle! There is not much space below the plunger :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top