Jack & Mopem'sMom
Member Since 2020
Jack was +3PM=274, +8PM=321, and now his AMPS is 346 w/0.5 ketones. I have to go out to work again today, so I stuck with the 4 units. I never seem to see any 'yellows' during the day lately; only a few when he first started the glargine (and I got all excited the 'new' insulin was going to work out great) He seems to have a small window after his PM shot that shows yellow lately, which is why I went to 4 and not 4.5 when I had to go to work, but he is still high most of the day. It seems like he will need to have at least one or two more dose increases. I have two questions:
1. Can I increase to 4.5 units on Sunday? (That would be 6 cycles on the 4 unit dose) I'll be home all day and can monitor him on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday since I'll be working from home those days. I know that was the original recommended switch dose by @Wendy&Neko and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) but I was a chicken once I saw those yellow numbers and went to 3 instead (yes, I'm an idiot)
2. Are there any cats, in your experience, that end up on different doses for AM and PM? I know the TR allows for different dosing amounts based on BG numbers and nadirs, but that requires tight food control, which is not happening any time soon with Mr PITA and his dry food addiction. That's why we are here in the anxiety ridden pool of misery of SLGS. I'm wondering if he could end up with a dose like 5 units in at the AM shot and 4.5 at the PM shot? OR does that mess too much with the depot? I guess I'm looking for a ray of hope...
PS to @Bandit's Mom - I heard from a tech at the vet clinic on the fluids; my vet is in today and should answer about the sodium chloride vs the lactated ringers fluids by tomorrow. I'll put that update in my daily post and in the original thread too. Thanks for your dose help yesterday as well.
Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-19-jack-278-3pm-but-406-w-1-1ketones-amps-dose.263484/
1. Can I increase to 4.5 units on Sunday? (That would be 6 cycles on the 4 unit dose) I'll be home all day and can monitor him on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday since I'll be working from home those days. I know that was the original recommended switch dose by @Wendy&Neko and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) but I was a chicken once I saw those yellow numbers and went to 3 instead (yes, I'm an idiot)
2. Are there any cats, in your experience, that end up on different doses for AM and PM? I know the TR allows for different dosing amounts based on BG numbers and nadirs, but that requires tight food control, which is not happening any time soon with Mr PITA and his dry food addiction. That's why we are here in the anxiety ridden pool of misery of SLGS. I'm wondering if he could end up with a dose like 5 units in at the AM shot and 4.5 at the PM shot? OR does that mess too much with the depot? I guess I'm looking for a ray of hope...
PS to @Bandit's Mom - I heard from a tech at the vet clinic on the fluids; my vet is in today and should answer about the sodium chloride vs the lactated ringers fluids by tomorrow. I'll put that update in my daily post and in the original thread too. Thanks for your dose help yesterday as well.
Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-19-jack-278-3pm-but-406-w-1-1ketones-amps-dose.263484/
In fact, some cats have their numbers go down with fluids. I liked to give Neko her lactated ringers when her numbers were naturally on the way up, and separated in location from the insulin shot location. Otherwise her numbers could go down.