5/20 Gem AMPS 324

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkbank

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71361&p=774694#p774694

Hi everyone

So Gem has had a bit of an up and down day. I'm attributing it mostly to the fact that her shots were so off schedule yesterday. I know I moved her back too quickly but unfortunately, this was the best I could do with when I was going to be home today. It's been a busy weekend in our house!

I'm thinking that since today was off kilter, I will hold the 2.5u dose for another day or so, unless something really glaring happens, so I can see where that takes her.

Thoughts?
 
You may want to take a look at this post on counting cycles.

It looks like you had a good margin for an early shot. The factor to keep in mind is that an early shot functions like a dose increase; a late shot functions like a dose reduction. The general rule with moving shot times is that you can adjust by 30 min. once a day or by 15 min. at each shot. Shooting early is feasible if your pre-shot is high enough and you are able to get tests in to insure your cat is safe.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
You may want to take a look at this post on counting cycles.

It looks like you had a good margin for an early shot. The factor to keep in mind is that an early shot functions like a dose increase; a late shot functions like a dose reduction. The general rule with moving shot times is that you can adjust by 30 min. once a day or by 15 min. at each shot. Shooting early is feasible if your pre-shot is high enough and you are able to get tests in to insure your cat is safe.

Thanks, yeah I know the timing was not ideal. This morning I had no choice as it was either shoot at +11 or wait another 3 hours….so I chose the lesser of 2 evils. And her PMPS seemed high enough, and I knew I'd be around to watch her tonight. I will leave food out for her, but I don't anticipate her going too low overnight from where she's at now.

I promise, I read and re-read and re-read those dosing schedules, and pray for them to sink in :) I think the takeaway for today is that I'm starting over counting how many cycles at 2.5 since the timing got messed up - is that what you were referring to?
 
Yes...you start counting consecutive cycles of 2.5u when you have been able to give the shots at a consistent time.

Hope Gem is doing well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top