5/20 Faraday AMPS 118, 133 +2, PMPS 88, 99 +2, 63 +4, 60 +5

For anyone following along at home re: my vet's take on all this, here's her latest. I feel she's seriously jumping the gun on the reductions here, but I'm not a professional ;-)

"I would recheck in 7 days and we will drop the dose b/c he is reversing. If it wasn't for the 5/18 4 hr value of 142 I would actually lower the dose by 0.5 U bid. If he had a snack at that time then I would proceed with a lower dose of insulin now and recheck pre and 4 hr post in 7 days."
 
For anyone following along at home re: my vet's take on all this, here's her latest. I feel she's seriously jumping the gun on the reductions here, but I'm not a professional ;-)

"I would recheck in 7 days and we will drop the dose b/c he is reversing. If it wasn't for the 5/18 4 hr value of 142 I would actually lower the dose by 0.5 U bid. If he had a snack at that time then I would proceed with a lower dose of insulin now and recheck pre and 4 hr post in 7 days."

well she's just not following TR. She has her own method. It's up to you to follow your vet or follow TR, but you're the one holding the syringe. In the end it's your choice not your vet, just remember that!

TR says hold the dose right? Hasn't earned a reduction far as I can tell. Came really close with that 52 though.
 
well she's just not following TR. She has her own method. It's up to you to follow your vet or follow TR, but you're the one holding the syringe. In the end it's your choice not your vet, just remember that!

TR says hold the dose right? Hasn't earned a reduction far as I can tell. Came really close with that 52 though.

I certainly don’t feel comfortable reducing the dose yet! I want to do everything to ensure a nice stable progression and hopefully be heading in Hendrick’s pawprints soon, but only when Faraday has properly earned it!
 
Vets get freaked out by normal numbers because most people with diabetic cats do not home test - and definitely not as much as you are doing. Vets are therefore more oriented towards safety (and preventing hypoglycemia) than tight regulation or remission. They also tend to make too large dose changes - whether it is an increase or decrease. Even a half unit change can be a big one for cats.

Faraday has not yet earned a reduction but he is headed in that direction. He has definitely flipped the switch to getting regulated and flattening out. As long as you are testing you have the means to keep him safe. With newly regulated cats, some aggressive (but safe, meaning TR) dosing can yield terrific results.
 
Back
Top