? 5/2 Rex AMPS 66,+4 85,+7 51,+8 55,+9 44,+10 55, PMPS 76,+2 55,+3 36,+4 47,+5 72,+6 47,+7 75,+8 60

Status
Not open for further replies.
Rex is absolutely stunning! Reminds me very much of my first kitty when I was a little girl almost identical colorings- such a handsome boy give him a cuddle for me!
 
Just give a teaspoon at a time. You can also just give the gravy. That's where the carbs are. If you push the lid against the can you can get just the gravy. It's good to have some fancy feast gravy lovers on hand so I'd pick up some next time you are at the market.
 
Friskies 25% has the gravy but it's mixed in with the shreds so I couldn't squeeze any out if I wanted to. I guess I am trying to get as much carbs in instead of doing a teaspoon at a time.
 
Mandy - not to scare you but how far is the nearest open vet? It's something you should have written down in your hypo kit along with their phone number.
 
OK...just in case he decides to do something REALLY stupid, it's just a time frame that needs to be kept in mind. Consider the time to get things you need to go, him in carrier, etc.

I'm REALLY not trying to scare you, I just know what my head did when I had to suddenly get Spike to the ER 22 miles away.
 
I would test in an hour. If as high or higher I'd feel okay stopping although we like to see two tests an hour apart without food. If you do call it a night I'd leave out some lc.

Good job tonight. I'd post a little early to decide on what to do in the morning. He earned another reduction. Congrats.

I'll check back in an hour.
 
Did you feed? I'd try again to withhold food and see if she stays up. Rinse, larger, repeat until she stAys up for two hours without food.
 
Tiz I!! Deputy LagoonMistress Extraordinaire China!! On my way wif da water wingz just in case Rex needs dem!!.....Sorry I iz late....was out playing wif da sharks myself!!
cat with life preserver.jpg
 
Would have liked to see him higher by now....will you wake up to an alarm?

I'd suggest you check one more time...maybe in about an hour

You could also leave down some higher carb food just so he has it if he needs it

I'd stay up to keep you company, but I have to be out the door early in the morning to drive to my pain doctor appointment
 
Hi Mandy.

Sorry I didn't get the tag. I had to drive in to Sacramento to pick up my husband at the airport, so I've been offline since about 7:00 pm (Pacific time).

Wow! Rex sure took you for a ride tonight! :eek:

Am I correct in assuming that Rex has no history of ketones? The reason I ask is, unless he is bouncing in the morning, you might want to consider skipping his shot, to drain the depot (if he had ketones in his past, skipping isn't a good idea). I am going to try to get some other veterans to check in on you in the morning with their thoughts on whether or not you should take the reduction tomorrow, seeing as tonight's performance was most likely influenced by the depot from the previous dose. You already took two reductions almost back to back and skipped a shot, and that didn't seem to slow him down, so I'm leaning toward taking the reduction, but I'd love to hear what some others think.

Great job tonight!
 
With a number in the 30s, I'd either skip in the morning or take the reduction. You don't want to mess with numbers that low. Some cats earn reductions quickly when they start coming down the dosing scale the depot doesn't matter. You did a good job handling things. I hope you got some sleep.
 
If he were my cat I would skip the shot this morning to drain the depot If bouncing high, I would take a reduction. Either way I would take a reduction because of how much hc was needed and because the 30's don't give much wiggle room.
 
I agree with the skip - Mandy, you've GOT to have some rest. You've been having to push so hard and fast that you're running on fumes about now. I'd also definitely reduce again as he's just TOO low on these wild runs you're having to chase.

HUGS!!! We don't want YOU sick!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top