5/2 Orange PMPS 140, +3 48!, +4 60, +5 62, +6 67

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/2 Orange AMPS 192, +4 128, PMPS 140, +3 48!

Yikes, +3 = 48!

He's just getting the rest of his dinner now, so I'll let him eat that and test again at +3.5
 
Re: 5/2 Orange AMPS 192, +4 128, PMPS 140, +3 48

Yes please do and please give him a good couple of tsps of his food to see if he'll get up on a surfboard. It's a little early to be so low so looks like you will have a busy night, Julie.

I would test every 30 mins and lather, rinse, repeat on the food until he is at a nice safe number above 50 and stays there.
 
Re: 5/2 Orange AMPS 192, +4 128, PMPS 140, +3 48!

Hi Marjorie! Glad to see you here :)

If the +3.5 is still in the 40-50 range should I keep giving just the LC or should I add in the drop of Karo? If <40 then Karo, right?
 
Re: 5/2 Orange AMPS 192, +4 128, PMPS 140, +3 48!

I wouldn't add karo unless he keeps dropping and even then, I'd probably try a couple tsp of HC gravy first before the karo.....does he respond well to the HC gravy? We want him to come up since it's early but we dont' want to shoot him way up.....let's see if you can surf Orange!!
 
Re: 5/2 Orange AMPS 192, +4 128, PMPS 140, +3 48!

+3.5 = 54 :)

He won't eat HC gravy. My choices are Karo or HC dry.

Last night was the first time I tried Karo - a drop brought him from 46 at +4 up to 73 at +5, but he still ended up with a blue AMPS of 192 in the morning.
 
Re: 5/2 Orange AMPS 192, +4 128, PMPS 140, +3 48!

Nice recovery there at +3.5.

I'm glad he did not bounce with the karo. If he wont' eat HC gravy, how does he feel about some MC foods?

The problem with karo (and believe me....I used to use it alot esp when Gracie was on lantus) is that it wears off quicker than food and then you get them coming back down...sometimes fast. And I also wonder if it doesn't set them up for a worse bounce if they are going to bounce....speculation.

If you have a kitty like Gabby who is very sensitive to the gravy, then karo or honey is often the only alternative and you should not hesitate to use it when they are low and you need them up fast. I'm not really sure where we got into using karo so much (we being the collective we in LL). It wasn't so commonly used in the past. I use it only now if Gracie is in the 30s and the LC is not bringing her up as fast as I want. Usually that occurs right before she decides it's reducie time.

I'd experiment with him and see what different LCs and MCs bring him up. Sometimes it's even just a matter of giving him a little more of the food....like 2 tsps instead of 1.

Dinner time for me.....I'll be back on later but please keep checking him :-D
 
Re: 5/2 Orange AMPS 192, +4 128, PMPS 140, +3 48!, +3.5 54

Yes, I'll definitely get a +4.

I'll be fine until you get back (worst case I'll end up overcarbing him and he'll be safe).

Comments about his food for when you come back:
- I've been calling his food LC since its below the 10% mark, but its high for a LC - Merrick Turducken at 9% carbs. Is that actually considered LC or MC?
- I've tried about 30 flavors of wet food, this is the only one he'll touch nomatter what carb %. He won't even try the other Merrick flavors.
- I could try to syringe feed if HC gravy is that much better than Karo, but I would really like to avoid that.
 
Re: 5/2 Orange AMPS 192, +4 128, PMPS 140, +3 48!, +3.5 54

Just had to check Missy G before dinner and checked in here.

Sometimes cats actually do better on a higher low carb food. Yes...anything 10% or below is considered low carb.

I understand and sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. My only thought was that if he's not too low...say mid forties or above, I'd try a little extra of his LC food. If he's coming down fast or dips low, then definitely, do what
you need to do to get him up. Also, consider where in the cycle he gives you a low number. If it's later in the cycle as the insulin is wearing off, it might not take much more than his LC food to get him up. Trial and error....

BBL.
 
Re: 5/2 Orange AMPS 192, +4 128, PMPS 140, +3 48!, +3.5 54

+4 = 60

This is strange - he doesn't usually nadir that early, but he hasn't had more than his regular dinner so far.
 
Re: 5/2 Orange PMPS 140, +3 48!, +3.5 54, +4 60

It's probably fine to wait until +5.

FWIW, when I give Karo or honey, it's a drop or two mixed in to LC food. The syrup will boost numbers up quickly but the LC will keep Gabby surfing. I think this may be an ECID issue. If you look at Gabby's SS, it's rare that her numbers come down a couple of hours after I give HC. Once her numbers are out of a low range, she tends to surf there.
 
Re: 5/2 Orange PMPS 140, +3 48!, +3.5 54, +4 60

DH decided he wanted to test at +4.5 anyway :)

+4.5 = 80

Not sure what he is rising from right now, but I assume its safe to sleep?

Also question on his dose.... the 48 would normally call for a reduction but he just earned a reduction last night. Does he get another reduction now? Or keep the same dose since this might be from some leftovers of yesterday's higher dose?
 
Re: 5/2 Orange PMPS 140, +3 48!, +3.5 54, +4 60, +4.5 80

I would hold the dose since the higher dose could affect even up to six cycles. ECID...it might only be a few for him but I wouldnt reduce again so soon.

I would feel better if you could perhaps set an alarm and get a +6. Is that possible? Just to make sure he does continue up?

Good job tonight.
 
67 at +6

OK, I'm fairly certain that hes not going to drop more and there is some LC food out if he needs it.

I need some sleep!

Thank you once again Marjorie!

Goodnight everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top