5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2= 66+2.7=50+3=56+4 =65+5=68

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
I've been feeding him gravy lovers since the +5. I gave him 2 drops of karo then and just now added 3 drops when he dropped to 32. Should I be giving even more karo? Thanks.
 
Re: 5/2 Max +3.5=91 +5=36 40, 41 +6=32

The process is
Low test obtained
Feed 1-2 teaspoons of gravy; too much and he may throw up.
Wait 20 min
Test again
- repeat as needed.

So keep going.
 
Re: 5/2 Max +3.5=91 +5=36 40, 41 +6=32+6.5=49

Should I not have added the karo? I skipped it the last time again. I am giving him about a large teaspoon of food each time. I'll give him just the gravy next time. I am testing every 20-25 depending on how long before he eats. It takes about 20 minutes to register, right? I think we hit Nadir and will either surf or go up now. I will keep testing. I have the protocol printed. Thanks.
 
Re: 5/2 Max +3.5=91 +5=36 40, 41 +6=32+6.5=49

Hiya,

You're doing just great!
How long now since the shot?
Your kitty seems to typcially nadir at +6 but occasionally as late as + 8, is that right?

(This low BG would seem to indicate a dose reduction is earned...?)

Eliz
 
Re: 5/2 Max +3.5=91 +5=36 40, 41+6=32+6 .5=49,57

Yes he usually hits nadir around +6 and I think he did today as well. I tested again at +6.75 and he was 57 so I gave him his treat and skipped food. I'll test again in a little while, a little after +7. I think he is on his way up and hopefully not to the roof!!!

Yes he earned a reduction after only two days of green. I should have tested sooner after the 91 to try to avoid it. He has failed every reduction after bouncing, of course. Thanks.
 
Re: 5/2 Max +3.5=91 +5=36 40, 41 +6=32+6.5=49,57

The reason for syrup or gravy vs food is that it absorbs more quickly and is low volume so you are less likely to have food refusal as you continue the process of steering the numbers.


A note for anyone new: dry food expands as it gets wet and may provoke vomiting, so we prefer to use high carb gravy or syrup at first. Once the numbers start rising, then more solids may be added gradually, shifting to medium carb, then low carb. High carb foods wear off fast so you must stay vigilent until you are confident your cat is safe. And sometimes, your best option may be an emergency vet ... like when a friend misread a new brand of syringe and gave 10 units instead of 1 unit to Spitzer. He survived it to the tune of over $2,000.
 
Re: 5/2 Max +3.5=91 +5=36 40, 41 +6=32+6.5=49,57

Here's an example of what was just posted. Max went down a little after 45 minutes without food. He was still okay at 59. I just fed him a little lc food.
 
Re: 5/2 Max +3.5=91 +5=36 40, 41 +6=32+6.5 =49,57+7.75=59

He's just keeping you on your toes, isn't he? You're doing a great job! Keep us posted on his numbers, please. :-D
 
Re: 5/2 Max +3.5=91 +5=36 40,41 +6=32+6.5=49,57+7.75=59+8.75

He's surfing in green. I would have expected him to start coming back up by now.
 
Re: 5/2 Max +3.5=91 +5=36 40,41 +6=32+6.5=49,57+7.75=59+8.75

Just like a cat. :roll: :lol:
 
Re: 5/2 Max+3.5=91 +5=36 40,41+6=32+6.5=49,57++8.75=59/61/71

There just isn't room for all these tests in the subject line. He got up to 71 at almost +11. I'll test again in a little while and I'm hoping he is even higher so I feel more comfortable shooting low.
 
Re: 5/2 Max +3.5=91 +5=36 40,41 +6=32+6.5=49,57+7.75=59+8.75

As you get more tests, you could
a) drop off some earlier ones <- probably this, from +6 or later
and/or
b) keep 1 or 2 of the first ones, ..., the most recent ones.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32+6.5=49,57+8=56PMPS86

Did you end up giving the PM shot? If so, was it 2u? Just confirming what your spreadsheet says. ;-)
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32+6.5=49,57+8=56PMPS86

Yes I gave him 2 units tonight. I need to get a +2 right now. Poor guy. So many sticks today.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32+6.5=49,57+8=56PMPS83+1=87+2=66

Looks like he might want to be keeping you up all night as well. ohmygod_smile I bet he's loving the gravies. :lol:
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2=66+2.75=50

I would say yes to just a dab. It's still super early in the cycle and you don't want him too full on food yet, especially if he needs to eat more. I'm on the West Coast so it's still fairly early for me. I'll keep checking in on you two. Hopefully he's just having an early nadir and starts back up again so you can get some sleep.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2=66+2.75=50

Also, the board seems to be going up and down again. Are you part of the Facebook group? Not sure if this link will work since I'm on my phone, but here's the fb group.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2=66+2.75=50

I'm using Relion Micro. I gave him gravy lovers with a drop of karo. Now at 53 and we are only at +3. I know the board is wonky. I have the sheets to read right next to me. I'm on the west coast as well. He's never done this for two cycles in a row before. I thought he would bounce. I guess that happens tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2=66+2.75=50

Yeah, Mikey usually just continues to rise after he's thrown a string of lows my way, but there's been a time or two when he's just kept on going straight through the next cycle. :YMSIGH:

Where are you at? I'm in Orange County.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2=66+2.75=50

I'm in West Los Angeles, near Westwood. It sure is hot tonight and my air just stopped working!! Max onl went up to 56. I gave him more food but he won't eat it. He's not hungry.

At almost +4 he hit 65. Hopefully he will surf now.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2= 66+2.75=50+3=56+4=65

Glad to see he's out of the 50s for now. When did he last eat? Do you think you can get a test in an hour and another at +6? Don't feed him any more for now unless he drops again.

It's been miserably hot these last few days! I'm close to the beach so it usually never tops 80 around here. It was in the 90s on Wednesday! :o Soooooo not used to this weather! It's supposed to cool down this weekend, though. :thumbup
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2= 66+2.75=50+3=56+4=65

I just went to check and he ate the food I put down within the last few minutes. Unfortunately it had gravy lovers and karo. So it will be a false high for at least the next test. I'll test in an hour and then an hour after that. No more food. Thanks.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2= 66+2.75=50+3=56+4=65

At least it'll bring his numbers up a bit for you for an hour or two. :lol: Hopefully get you guys past nadir and then it's straight on till morning. ;-)
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2= 66+2.7=50+3=56+4 =65+

My phone is about to die. I'm assuming no news is good news? His numbers are back up now and you can get some sleep?
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2= 66+2.7=50+3=56+4 =65+

He's now up to 79 so I think I can go to sleep. I dosed for about 1/2 an hour. thanks.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2= 66+2.7=50+3=56+4 =65+

Sounds good. Let us know how he is in the morning.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2= 66+2.7=50+3=56+4 =65+

Thanks for the support last night. He stayed green as late as +9.5 when I tested because he woke me wanting food. He's at 157 this morning. Hopefully he will not have another wild ride and won't bounce. The latter is his pattern after going green. This was the longest run yet though.
 
Re: 5/2 Max+5=36+6=32=56PMPS83+1=87+2= 66+2.7=50+3=56+4 =65+

Glad he's doing OK.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top