5/2 KARAMELLE AMPS 309 +2 330 +6 316 +10 347 PMPS 271 +2 284

  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Im a little confused. When reading about a bounce it says this:

"Following a bounce, a cat’s BG may stay high and flat for several cycles. Avoid the temptation to increase the dose at this point. If the BG does not return to normal in 6-8 cycles, an increase might be needed based on the method of regulation you are following."

But then in the TR protocol is says this:

"If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding an in-between the dose."

So how do I know if its a bounce, or a failed reduction? I thought what going on right now is a bounce, but I guess Im not sure. So if it is a bounce, then I have to wait the 6 cycles to increase again? And then by how mch. it says not to go back to the amount that brought on the numbers in the 30's, so that would mean Id have to increase to a number between 1.5 and 1.75. Yes?

@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
After a reduction, you want to make sure the bounce has cleared before you increase. The question is, how long does Karamelle normally bounce. Not all kitties take six cycles, some take less. You want to see what the nadirs are after the bounce is over from a reduction, and you want it to be green. Right now she looks to be still bouncing.

By trending upwards, they mean that the nadirs you are getting are going higher. Say the first or second cycle after a reduction you see a green nadir - that could be because of the influence of the higher depot. That's what you saw the night of the 30th. If over the next couple days the nadirs of non bounce cycles are getting higher and higher - that's "trending upwards".
 
After a reduction, you want to make sure the bounce has cleared before you increase. The question is, how long does Karamelle normally bounce. Not all kitties take six cycles, some take less. You want to see what the nadirs are after the bounce is over from a reduction, and you want it to be green. Right now she looks to be still bouncing.

By trending upwards, they mean that the nadirs you are getting are going higher. Say the first or second cycle after a reduction you see a green nadir - that could be because of the influence of the higher depot. That's what you saw the night of the 30th. If over the next couple days the nadirs of non bounce cycles are getting higher and higher - that's "trending upwards".
Thanks. What confused me was that in the TR protocol they were talking about drops into the 30's . I assumed they were related to what was said a couple paragraphs later, but maybe not. I guess I just have to wait for her to start coming down out of the 300's. Bounces are so frustrating!
I looked back at the last lime green and it looks like she bounced for 3 cycles, then the 4th seemed to start coming down. That was over a month ago. It looks like shes had some mini bounces from some higher greens. I guess I just dont have enough data to know for sure. But there are some patterns emerging for sure.
 
Back
Top