5/2 Darcy PMPS 127 and darned if we aren't at 61 again and I want to go to sleep

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
Goood Morning! Happy Sunday everyone. Darcy had a good night with lots of eating! He ate almost a whole 5.1 oz can of the Royal Canin Renal "E" (enticing) food last night. He was very happy, purry, and snuggly with me all night long. BGs stayed in the lower blues last night so I was able to sleep without worry or intervention.

He is getting this antibiotic called Cephazolin through his IV catheter. We flushed the catheter this morning with heparin and, fortunately, it was not blocked. We haven't had great luck with catheters so far, so it was a relief. Amy, the vet tech who brought him home to me yesterday, warned me to infuse the antibiotic VERY slowly, over about 3-4 minutes. She said if I did not, it would make him throw up. So, of course, me being a person who likes to go overboard... I gave it to him over about 8-9 minutes (had the cell phone timer right there to make sure.) He did not like it -- the Cephazolin needs to be refrigerated but I let it warm up a bit before infusing it. I haven't given any nausea meds (Cerenia or Zofran) today because he's been eating so well. If he seems to not want food later, I'll add those back in.

Well... that's more than everybody wanted to know...and here's more...

My back is still really sore. At least it is no longer sharp pain where I have to stay in bed and can't walk well... it's settled into just really sore all over from mid-back to lower back. I'll work on it some more next week and I hope to have some time to actually go out and walk and/or ride my bicycle. I do have a dental appointment this week (just a cleaning) and no doubt will be at the vet a lot... and my kids have more final exams this week. We are hoping by Thursday or Friday to actually be able to go out and have lunch with some friends.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...oints-but-more-good-news.246861/#post-2784343
 
So happy he had a good night and is eating and in good blues! Bummer about your back but at least it sounds like it is doing a little better. Does it hurt your back when you pick Darcy up? How much does he weigh? I hope you get some time to get out for a walk or a bike ride and isn't it nice that we can start going out again. Did you say if you got your vaccine/s yet? Will Darcy be at the vet everyday this week? How does he do when he is there? You probably have said and I just forgot. Susie does well at the vet. Walks around like she owns the place but she absolutely hates the cat carrier. I hope you have a wonderful, relaxing day with your family and your little buddy, Darcy.
 
Okay, so he drops from 205 to 69 in five hours on this new (reduced) dose and this is even with the reduction I gave him last night to only 6 units and then the lesser reduction this morning of 7.5 units. He's been surfing nicely, but I don't particularly want a lot of surfing tonight -- too hard to sleep. If he wants to surf smaller waves (like 90) then okay... but no rough surf! Mama wants to sleep.
 
So shot time this morning was 70 minutes earlier than PMPS last night? Shooting early can act line a dose increase. And could be one of the reasons he's a low rider today. It's better to update the spreadsheet to show was dose you shot in the Units column. And you can enter it as something like 6U@+13.5.

The 8.5 unit depot is probably heavily influencing this cycle too. If you want more sleep, plus want to drain the depot, I'd do a BCS like a half or 2/3 of his dose tonight. But let's see where he is at PMPS time.
 
So shot time this morning was 70 minutes earlier than PMPS last night? Shooting early can act line a dose increase. And could be one of the reasons he's a low rider today. It's better to update the spreadsheet to show was dose you shot in the Units column. And you can enter it as something like 6U@+13.5.

The 8.5 unit depot is probably heavily influencing this cycle too. If you want more sleep, plus want to drain the depot, I'd do a BCS like a half or 2/3 of his dose tonight. But let's see where he is at PMPS time.
Sounds good. Yes. Last night his shot was very late because he was too low for my comfort. And this morning, I just put him back to his earlier time (but not to his former 5:30 a.m. time -- about an hour and a half after that). Because of all the vet trips, his shot times haven't been as regular as they usually are. And yes, I remember the mantra that an early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot can act like a decrease (at least more than 30 minutes either way). Still, today is not a bad cycle at all. He went down, but then has surfed nicely. I haven't done a single thing to change things (no karo) but he's been nibbling small amounts of the renal food and that seems to be working for him.
 
Looking GOOD Mr Darcy! This reminds me of how Minnie was last month - terribly sick and not really sure exactly why but it's a big old spiral of BG/appetite/other issues then all of a sudden something happens (he broke his fever and had the antibiotic) - and for him it is seeming like resolving all those other things is letting the BG get back under control at more reasonable doses.

Did you get the reminder email from Mark's about ordering before the hot weather? I can imagine you are struggling to predict how much insulin you are going to need with Mr Darcy! And as long as he is well and eating, he has earned a Sunday :cat::banghead:

With your back, has anyone suggested epsom salt bath to you? Not sure I personally have found them helpful with the back, but at least it's a reason to relax and spend some time looking after yourself. Pretend staying in the guest room is actually a spa for you!

Good luck this evening, hope you get some sleep.
 
Looking GOOD Mr Darcy! This reminds me of how Minnie was last month - terribly sick and not really sure exactly why but it's a big old spiral of BG/appetite/other issues then all of a sudden something happens (he broke his fever and had the antibiotic) - and for him it is seeming like resolving all those other things is letting the BG get back under control at more reasonable doses.

Did you get the reminder email from Mark's about ordering before the hot weather? I can imagine you are struggling to predict how much insulin you are going to need with Mr Darcy! And as long as he is well and eating, he has earned a Sunday :cat::banghead:

With your back, has anyone suggested epsom salt bath to you? Not sure I personally have found them helpful with the back, but at least it's a reason to relax and spend some time looking after yourself. Pretend staying in the guest room is actually a spa for you!

Good luck this evening, hope you get some sleep.
My husband likes Epsom Salt baths. I think he just likes to get into the deep jaccuzzi tub and relax. I didn't get an email from Mark's. I have four pens left in the refrigerator. Maybe I should order five more now? It's getting warm.
 
My husband likes Epsom Salt baths. I think he just likes to get into the deep jaccuzzi tub and relax. I didn't get an email from Mark's. I have four pens left in the refrigerator. Maybe I should order five more now? It's getting warm.
I am such a victim of suggestion. I got the email and thought eek, I should buy more. Then I realized it's taking more than a month for me to get through a pen, I am just finishing the one I bought at Walgreen's when I was afraid of running out before Mark's delivery! Your pens will last a lot longer on Darcy's current dose :):bighug:
 
I’m so
Thanks for asking, Ashley is not doing well at all, in constant pain
My dad is doing good
Me I'm hanging in there lol ♥:bighug::bighug:
sorry to hear about your daughter, Ashley. Seriously, something must be able to help her!? How do you endure it? How does she endure it? Nowhere in the world has a treatment? Do they not understand the cause?
 
I’m so

sorry to hear about your daughter, Ashley. Seriously, something must be able to help her!? How do you endure it? How does she endure it? Nowhere in the world has a treatment? Do they not understand the cause?
I don't know how she takes the pain. A lot of crying
She's about had it
Complex Regional Pain Syndrome we have tried everything they have to offer
Nothing helped
She does take pain meds but they just shave the pain off a little
She is going thru a bad flare right now
They really don't understand the cause
It's in the central nervous system
You can get it just from lets say having a toe nail removed for can example
Then its all healed but you keep complaining about pain, then it spreads
A girl I know got it just from having blood drawn it spread to her entire left

It's a bastard of a disease
I could tell you so much more but it would take all day lol

If you want to you can Google it , but what it says doesn't even tell you what other
symptoms people get.
Thanks for asking I appreciate it :bighug::bighug:
Her girl took her life 4 years ago , she just couldn't take the pain any longer
Many have committed suicide
That's why they call it the Suicide Disease
I belong to 5 support groups, it would break your heart what you read
 
https://princessinthetower.org/complex-regional-pan-syndrome-crpsrsd/

Here is a good site if you ever want to read about
My daughter mainly has it in her ears, eyes, neck, head, vaginal area
Only leaves the house for doctor visits
Any loud noise sets it off , like an ice pic stabbing her in the ears, then leafs to the entire head
Can't escape noise
Can't have anything on her ears at all
The depression, isolation is killing her
17 years now
Some are going on 30 years
It's rated the highest pain on the McGill Pain scale
It just sucks
 
https://princessinthetower.org/complex-regional-pan-syndrome-crpsrsd/

Here is a good site if you ever want to read about
My daughter mainly has it in her ears, eyes, neck, head, vaginal area
Only leaves the house for doctor visits
Any loud noise sets it off , like an ice pic stabbing her in the ears, then leafs to the entire head
Can't escape noise
Can't have anything on her ears at all
The depression, isolation is killing her
17 years now
Some are going on 30 years
It's rated the highest pain on the McGill Pain scale
It just sucks
Trigeminal Neuralgia, right? I see there is a surgery. Is that risky? What is the success rate? I see they say it is usually diagnosed in people over 50. Poor, dear Ashley. My heart goes out to you both.
 
https://princessinthetower.org/complex-regional-pan-syndrome-crpsrsd/

Here is a good site if you ever want to read about
My daughter mainly has it in her ears, eyes, neck, head, vaginal area
Only leaves the house for doctor visits
Any loud noise sets it off , like an ice pic stabbing her in the ears, then leafs to the entire head
Can't escape noise
Can't have anything on her ears at all
The depression, isolation is killing her
17 years now
Some are going on 30 years
It's rated the highest pain on the McGill Pain scale
It just sucks
Oh, I see. I have pulled up that site tp read more. Thank you.
 
So happy he had a good night and is eating and in good blues! Bummer about your back but at least it sounds like it is doing a little better. Does it hurt your back when you pick Darcy up? How much does he weigh? I hope you get some time to get out for a walk or a bike ride and isn't it nice that we can start going out again. Did you say if you got your vaccine/s yet? Will Darcy be at the vet everyday this week? How does he do when he is there? You probably have said and I just forgot. Susie does well at the vet. Walks around like she owns the place but she absolutely hates the cat carrier. I hope you have a wonderful, relaxing day with your family and your little buddy, Darcy.
That's so funny about Susie at the vet walking around like she owns the place! She's probably a favorite! Darcy is a really good boy at the vet. They really like him.
 
Well, I thought that since he got up to 127 at PMPS it would be fine to shoot the 7.5 units. But at +4 he is at 61. If I had checked on the prime meter it would be about 8 points less). Anyway, now I wonder if I will get much sleep tonight. He's already full of food, so I just gave some Karo 20 minutes ago. I hope he at least can stay flat. This is ridiculous.
 
Okay... got him up to 77 now... going to try to sleep for a little while and test again later. Good thing he's my bed buddy and I don't even have to get out of bed to test since he's lying right next to me. Sweet boy just lies there and doesn't move.
 
Okay... got him up to 77 now... going to try to sleep for a little while and test again later. Good thing he's my bed buddy and I don't even have to get out of bed to test since he's lying right next to me. Sweet boy just lies there and doesn't move.
I hope you can get some sleep soon and he keeps rising for you.
So sweet Darcy sleeps with you, I wish Tyler did :bighug::cat:
 
No she doesn't have trigeminal neuralgia
I'm so glad she doesn't have trigeminal neuralgia although whatever she has sounds horrible. My husband had Trigeminal Deafferentation pain - a result from his first stroke. Almost constant facial pain. We finally took him to The Doctors Hospital in Long Island where he had a device implanted behind his ear and another one implanted in his chest. It was supposed to help control the pain but we were never convinced that it really did much for him. It was so sad. Many times in the last years of his life he would say "I wish I was dead". I'm so sorry about your daughter. A Mother's worst nightmare.
 
I'm so glad she doesn't have trigeminal neuralgia although whatever she has sounds horrible. My husband had Trigeminal Deafferentation pain - a result from his first stroke. Almost constant facial pain. We finally took him to The Doctors Hospital in Long Island where he had a device implanted behind his ear and another one implanted in his chest. It was supposed to help control the pain but we were never convinced that it really did much for him. It was so sad. Many times in the last years of his life he would say "I wish I was dead". I'm so sorry about your daughter. A Mother's worst nightmare.
Just wanted to say thank you, I don't want to hyjack Suzanne's thread.
Sorry about your husband, mine also died
 
I'm so glad she doesn't have trigeminal neuralgia although whatever she has sounds horrible. My husband had Trigeminal Deafferentation pain - a result from his first stroke. Almost constant facial pain. We finally took him to The Doctors Hospital in Long Island where he had a device implanted behind his ear and another one implanted in his chest. It was supposed to help control the pain but we were never convinced that it really did much for him. It was so sad. Many times in the last years of his life he would say "I wish I was dead". I'm so sorry about your daughter. A Mother's worst nightmare.
I'm sorry about your husband, Summer.
 
Back
Top