5/2 Abby PMPS 222, +3/123, +5/84

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/2 Abby PMPS 222, +3/123

This might be an interesting night. Her food's all gone; nothing for her to graze on. I'm wondering if I should feed her a lil LC to stave off a serious dip?
 
Re: 5/2 Abby PMPS 222, +3/123

What a nice cycle there Abby. A little LC wouldn't hurt. I do that sometimes when it is apparent Mannie is headed for the low stuff.

YAY on the removal of that hairball - amazing how much better they feel. :razz:
 
Re: 5/2 Abby PMPS 222, +3/123, +4/95

I wouldn't pull out the HC yet. See if a teaspoon or so of LC will keep Abby surfing.

FWIW I don't use HC with Gabby unless numbers are dropping quickly. Some of this is a matter of knowing your cat. Gabby is prone to fast, early drops. Abby's cycles seem much flatter. The challenge is to walk the line between keeping your cat in good numbers so the pancreas can heal and allowing her to earn a decrease.
 
Re: 5/2 Abby PMPS 222, +3/123, +4/95

Thanks Sienne. Assuming I can keep her safe above 50 with ongoing LC infusions, is that sufficient to earn a decrease? (Thought being that she probably would have dropped below 50 had I not intervened). This will be tough...she's already acting like she's full and she's still got ~2 more hours til a true nadir. I'm already apologizing to her ears!
 
Now 84 @ +5 and I'm going to hold off more LC for another 30 minutes to see if she can hold here. She's really tired (this is past normal bedtime for both of us and she just wants me to leave her and her ears alone)
 
Read over the Tight Regulation sticky when you have a chance. For a cat that's been diagnosed for over a year, they have to work harder to earn a decrease. BG needs to drop below 40 to earn a decrease. The somewhat recent revision of the Tilly Protocol also gives the option of three drops below 50. So to be a wet blanket, the answer to your question is no, hanging out in the 50s, even with some intervention, isn't sufficient for a decrease.
 
I have been reading through the regulation sticky but I thought perhaps we were considered newly diagnosed since she's really just been back on the juice for over a week...even though her 1st diagnosis was 3 years ago (leading to a 2-3 week insulin stint). And don't worry, I don't think you're a wet blanket, you're just telling it like it is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top