5/19 Kisa AMPS 331

Status
Not open for further replies.

Derek

Member Since 2013
Kisa's numbers are staying in the mid 300s, I don't think the 1 unit insulin dose is having any positive effect on him at all. Everyone keeps saying 2 units was probably too high, but every time I put him back on 1 unit, he backpedals into high numbers and stays there, whereas sometimes on 2 units his numbers dip low enough that he doesn't need one of his doses that day. I think the problem is he's getting too little rather than too much
 
That's exactly why we don't raise doses by full units but instead raise it a quarter unit at a time. I do think Kisa needs a dose increase so I would raise him to 1.25u and hold that for a week and see if that gives you better numbers.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
The only problem is the syringes I have only measure full and half units, so me trying to get a quarter unit would be difficult to do stabally
 
There are no syringes made with quarter unit marks so the best any of us can do is eyeball the in between doses. One trick to get as consistent as possible is: line up the top of the plunger with the top edge of the line of the dose higher..So to give 1.25 you would line the top of the plunger with the top of the 1.5u line. ( top being closer to the plunger and bottom being towards the needle end)

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top