5/19 Eddie PMPS 82, +2.5/58, +3.3/39, +4.5/58, +8/65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Today:
AMPS = 294
+2.5 = 258
+4 = 199
+6 = 184
+10.5 = 77 :mrgreen:
+11.25 = 86 :mrgreen:
PMPS = 82 :mrgreen:
+1 = 83 :mrgreen:
+2 = 62 :mrgreen:
+2.5 = 58 :mrgreen:
+3 = 43 (1 Tbsp. HC)
+3.3 = 39 (1 Tbps. HC)
+3.6 = 47
+4 = 58
+4.5 = 58
+5 = 53 (1 Tbsp. LC)
+5.5 = 50 (1 Tbsp. LC)
+6 = 52 (1 Tbsp. LC)
+6.5 = 57
+7 = 62
+8 = 65

Good evening LL! Eddie sure is keeping me on my toes the last couple days with his green nadirs happening around pre-shot time. We're on Lantus, not Levemir, right?! :lol: Tonight might get a little interesting. No food spike and no bounce at +1, and Eddie's still surfing. I gave him another tablespoon of his supper food, and will do so again at his +2, so he's getting food at PMPS, +1 and +2 (at least) tonight.

Today was rainy and gray all day. Perfect day for kitty snuggles in bed, which is exactly what I did. Seasonal allergies are hitting me like a ton of bricks right now. I never had any allergies growing up, but in the last two years, I've started to develop some pretty heavy duty seasonal allergies, and a nut allergy to certain kinds of nuts of all things. So far, I've resisted taking a combination of allergy meds on a daily basis as suggested by my doc, but I think I may have to rethink that strategy. I took the morning off work and had lots of extra snuggles with Eddie & company. Eddie was pretty sleepy all morning and is pretty sleepy tonight too. Not sure if it's the dreary weather, or if all the excitement of traveling this weekend wore him out. He now has a new bedtime sleeping spot on a pillow right above my head. Love it! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie AMPS 294, +10.5/77, PMPS 82, +1/83, +2/62

No bounce and no food spike yet at PM +2, and still in green. Not sure whether I should be pleased or nervous! :mrgreen: nailbite_smile Or both maybe.
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie AMPS 294, +10.5/77, PMPS 82, +1/83, +2/62

Nice greens for Eddie. I hope he surfs safely tonight. I hope you feel better soon. I have to deal with seasonal allergies too.
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie AMPS 294, +10.5/77, PMPS 82, +1/83, +2/62

Nice! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool: I'm watching with interest to see how Eddie does tonight. :-D Surf it Eddie!

Bounce breaking slides into PS are fairly common on Lantus. Neko's favorite was the pink to blue slide, but occasionally she did the yellow to green one.

Sending healing vines to you - allergies are a pain.
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie AMPS 294, +10.5/77, PMPS 82, +1/83, +2/62

Thanks Carla and Wendy! :mrgreen:

Eddie does seem to like the bounce breaking slides into a late nadir. I'm starting to spot that pattern so I can sometimes anticipate when we're going to have a low pre-shot. :-D

+2.5 = 58. I'm wondering what/if to feed at this juncture? Or just to wait and see what he does? This is a first to be this low so early in the cycle. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie AMPS 294, +10.5/77, PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58

I'd probably feed some LC, but retest within an hour at the most...looks like Eddie is on a mission tonight!

DH doesn't like taking meds, either...but allergies are miserable for him, so he actually does take some Clariton D. We're ALL more comfortable when he does take it :lol: !!

Surf safe tonight, Eddie!!
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie AMPS 294, PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3/43

Thanks Amy! I think I'm going to look into something like Claritin. My doc had suggested an antihistamine and a decongestant.

Darn! +3 = 43 fed 1 Tbsp. HC gravy - test in 20 or 30 mins?
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie AMPS 294, PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3/43

Well done Eddie - first reduction on Lantus! Time to come up now please!

I'd test 20-30 minutes after he ate. I usually just do a tsp of gravy, but it depends on how carb sensitive your kitty is. And it is still early in the cycle.
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie AMPS 294, PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3/43

Woot Woot! A reduction!

Go Eddie! flip_cat



My doc had suggested an antihistamine and a decongestant.

I've been on Claritin D since it was invented....
the fun part now is ClaritinD and Zyrtec D are controlled substances now.....
I have to give my drivers license so they can keep records of how often I'm buying.... :roll:
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie AMPS 294, PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3/43

Point proven, Eddie, let's see a nice surf. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Congrats on the reducie!
Liz
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie AMPS 294, PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3/43

Thanks guys!

I think my Tbsp. designation is probably somewhere in between an actual measured teaspoon and an actual measured tablespoon. Like a normal human spoon. :lol:

+3.3 (20 mins) = 39. Wrong direction Eddie. Possible that the first glob of gravy hasn't kicked in yet. Fed more gravy and will test again in 20. I'm thinking I may do a drop of Karo if he's not coming back up on the next test.

Good to know on the Clairtin as a controlled substance, Rhiannon. I know when I got a generic decongestant they would only let me buy one pack at a time. :roll:

Thanks for the visit Anne!
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3/43, +3.3/39

Some cats take a little longer for the numbers to change from the mouth to the blood stream. I wait 30 minutes for Neko if she's in the 40's. Good plan on the karo - I use it for the 30's. Looks like you've got this all under control Jen. :-D Eddie acting OK?

Wrong way Eddie - surfing is the other way please!
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3/43, +3.3/39

Thanks Anne and Wendy. I had a few PJ parties (usually by myself tho) while we were on ProZinc. I sincerely appreciate all the eyes and guidance, as this is our first go round on Lantus, so it's sort of like my very first PJ party all over again. :smile:

Eddie's sleepy. He's been sleepy all day. I think he may still be wiped out from traveling over the weekend. His appetite has been fine, and he enthusiastically slurps up the gravy. He did sneak off to go to bed after the last test, so I had to bring him back to the living room so I can keep an eye on him, but I brought his pillow out for him.
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3/43, +3.3/39, +3.6

+3.6 = 47

That's the right direction. Think I should wait to feed more to see if he continues up for the next test in 20 mins?
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3/43, +3.3/39, +3.6

It would be good to see him in the 50's. The saying here is "feed the 40's".
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3.3/39, +3.6/47, +4

Thanks Wendy!

+4 = 58

I skipped the food on the 47 thinking that maybe like you noted above Wendy, it took a little longer for the gravy to kick in, and it looks like the gravy's doing it's thing.
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie PMPS 82, +1/83, +2.5/58, +3.3/39, +3.6/47, +4

Looking good. :mrgreen: Let's see what he's doing in 1/2 hour without any more food.
 
Re: 5/19 Eddie PMPS 82, +2.5/58, +3.3/39, +3.6/47, +4.5/58

Thanks Wendy. Looks like he's holding steady at 58 so far at +4.5. This is the third 58 tonight. Thinking I may need to buy a lotto ticket or something. ;-)

I'm guessing he may go back down again after a bit.

I sincerely appreciate you and everyone else keeping an eye on us. I keep second guessing myself, even though we've done this several times in the past, but doing it on Lantus is a whole new experience. :smile:
 
Looks like Eddie is still cruising along. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Another concept we use here is something called "shooting through the bounce". If by any chance Eddie should board the rocket ship to the moon in the next couple of hours, you can shoot his old higher dose for one cycle, and then reduce the cycle after that. This is a technique that works if kitty bounces for more than one cycle. This isn't a technique to use if the cat clears bounces quickly. With him going as low as 39 and if you are going to work tomorrow, you might want to take the reduction at AMPS and save that technique for another time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top