5/18 Cosmo AMPS 283, +5 419, PMPS 99

thebigfuzz

Member Since 2012
Yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-17-cosmo-362-6-432-pmps-418-5-353-9-218.247492/

A little better on Cosmo’s eating today! Mostly eating kibble, but a bit of wet food as well. Yay! He isn’t back to normal yet, but progress that he is going to his bowl on his own sometimes today and doesn’t look quite so miserable. :confused:

BMs are regular and all good, so at least that part is working :rolleyes:

Thanks so much for your healing thoughts :bighug: We appreciate them!!!
 
I'm so relieved to hear that Cosmo is eating more on his own today. Progress is wonderful:bighug:
Sending many healing vines to him as he continues to get better.
 
Whoa Coz! He tested 86 at PMPS, then 99 on a retest strip :eek: We gave him a good pokie break after his +5. Silly us.

Trying to think of what to do here...

@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko

He ate an ok amount of kibble just now, but not confident he will eat enough on a bounce break. If we don’t shoot, he will probably be high by am...
 
What about a token dose ? I mean just .25. He will likely still bounce but perhaps not as high. A skip would be fine to and give you all a break.
 
I think we will skip - He is unpredictable right now. He had a good snack at +9, so I would have expected higher at PMPS. I’m not sure we can feed the curve if we have one tonight. He is better, but not back.

For tomorrow, what do you think of dropping him to 0.75, assuming he rises and eats overnight?
 
For tomorrow, what do you think of dropping him to 0.75, assuming he rises and eats overnight?
I would reduce by 0.25 units to 1.0 unit, if you reduce at all. The spreadsheet doesn't show the 86, but according to your reduction criteria he needs two under 90.
 
I would reduce by 0.25 units to 1.0 unit, if you reduce at all. The spreadsheet doesn't show the 86, but according to your reduction criteria he needs two under 90.
We were thinking of dropping to a temporary 0.75 dose until he is eating more regularly and we could be confident we could feed his curve. When we are giving insulin this week, sometimes he isn’t eating enough and we are ending up with a low preshot number (for him), and not being able to give his injection at his current dose. When he is eating right now, it is almost all kibble.

The thinking was to drop the dose down enough for him to reach yellow/blue, but maybe not greens - until he is eating better. And also a temporary dose, we can give an am and pm shot - without feeling like we need to skip.
 
Back
Top