5/19 calliecat ??????

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Member Since 2011
a very good early morning to all !!


I have a question ?? I started callie on Levemir on April 11, we switched from prozinc ! my question is on 5/16 callies pmps was below 100 so I skipped the shot and she got in the 300's I know levemir is dosed mainly on nadir and callies was 64 that cycle , she is getting 3.25 units.

she is now at + 7.5 = 63 she was + 4 = 188 I am going to keep checking her but if she throws me another green ps what should I dose her ??? I don't feel compfortable shooting 3.25 into such a low number , her spread sheet is up to date any feed back would be sooooo welcomed

thanks callie and marty !!
 
Sounds like you are starting to hit the best dose - or even a "break through dose". You will have to start experimenting now with her dose to see what works.

I have to admit to my brain being a little "fuzzy" on dosing strategy at the moment, but what I would suggest is to drop the dose based on if you will be there to test (less drop) or not (more drop). You already know that skipping the shot puts her into the 300s, so you don't want to skip.

If you have time, you could wait and test in 30-60 mins and see if she is rising and then give insulin. Just remember that now you cycle is off one hour so you have to compensate with maybe a slight reduction at the next shot time (assuming a "normal" PS value for her).

Maybe start with half the dose or less until you find out what she will do with insulin off a low PS.

Last night's cycle was almost perfect so I think that she may be at her best dose. If you think she is too low at nadir (60s are actually great) you could maybe drop her back to 3u and see if she holds the good numbers. For a nadir at 100 (+/-15) maybe try 2u and see what happens. Lev is actually intended to "shoot low to stay low", but you are in new territory with her, so I understand your caution.
 
thank you Sheila for responding and with all that is on your plate right now :YMHUG: you and Jeddie are in my constant thoughts and prayers !!

I have callie back on her 9/9 scheg, I did it in 15 minute intervolds, the thing that scares me is sometimes she will drop like almost 100 points and I don't know why I do the same thing every day so if she is 100 ps thats why I cautioned to not give shot .

I have to post her numbers today but she had 166 ps so I gave her 3 units and her + 4 =310 so she has a little bounce going on there I think ??

If she is 200 ps I will give her 3.25 and if she is mid to high 100's ps I will give 3 units does that sound ok ??
 
That's fine as a starting point to figure out how she will react. Of course, always be cautious if you don't have data to show how she will respond, especially if you can't be there to test. If you will be there to test gather data to confirm or refine your dosing decisions. You may find that you only need to reduce the dose below 150 and might need to delay if she is below, say, 90.

ECID and you need to find out what works for Callie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top