5/19/24 Mazi AMPS 135A +3 67A/74L +3.5 68A + 4 74A PMPS 168 +2.5 86

@Wendy&Neko can you take a look at Mazi's spreadsheet for today when you have time. Mazi was 5/19 AM +3 67 AM+3.5 68 both taken on the alphatrak. Im going to get a +4 in another 30 mins. Update +4 is 74 on Alphatrak.

As of today 5/19, this AM cycle would be cycle 5 since his last reduction in dose. Assuming because he is on such a tiny dose, I am guessing his 0.25 depot has completely drained by last nights 5/18 PM 4th cycle since the reduction from 0.25 to 0.1U.

If I am correct about the draining depot timeline, and I'm finally catching on to things, this would mean Mazi earned another reduction. Am I correct?

Also, if I am correct, my only concerns about reducing Mazi's dose, would be some of his preshot glucose values from 5/16 - 5/19.

5/16 AMPS 132A.....This was Mazi's first cycle starting the 0.1U dose.

5/17 AMPS 148A

5/18 PMPS 144A

5/19 AMPS 135A

When following the pet meter range of 68 to 120 mg/dl. Those preshot glucose values would be considered higher than normal range. I realize cats can have higher blood sugars in the AM related to hormones that are release during the night to prepare for the next day stressors. He did have 1 higher than normal PMPS value.

These preshot values make me wonder if he is ready for a reduction.

How do you think I should proceed? Is the data saying he is ready for another reduction or remission trial? Or should we hold the 0.1U dose a little longer?

I'm thinking if you suggest I should take the reduction, I would think Mazi would be a candidate for the drop dose due to those blue preshot values, before he tries a remission trial.
 
Last edited:
I've also seen 55-160 as normal range on the AT. There doesn't seem to be much consistency out there on what is the AT normal range. My lab results say 72-175. The Labs tab says 64-170. Since you have the Relion in house, try testing those preshots with it.

67 on the AT, in a newly diagnosed cat, means reduction earned. 0.25 unit depot is gone, this is the 0.1 unit depot talking.
 
Since you have the Relion in house, try testing those preshots with it.
Hi Wendy I don't think Theresa has the Relion meter
From yesterday's thread she said
The Libre was just being used for 2 weeks for Mazis glucose curve test that was requested by his vet. It will be taken off Tuesday morning.

I dont think I have any intention of repurchasing the Libre to monitor Mazis blood sugars after Monday night, unless the vet wants to run another glucose curve in the future. Which even then, I may just try to convince the vet to let me do Mazi's curve with my alpha track. The Libre wasn't anymore helpful thanthe alphatrak. Instead, it just confused the hell out of me at times.

Im just going to stick with the Alphatrak for now and transition to the Relion Premier in the future, in which then I would add the Relion to my signature and SS.
@Wendy&Neko
 
@Wendy&Neko I apologize my math was off.

This AM cycle is actually the 7th cycle into the 0.1U dose.

If I'm applying the rule that it takes a depot 4 to 6 cycles for the previous dose depot to drain and adjust to match the size of the new reduced dose size depot, Mazi would have earned a reduction this morning because this AM is cycle 7 of 0.1 units.

On Mazi's SS you will see on 5/13 AM Mazi dropped down to 0.25 units from 0.5U. You will see Mazi had earned that reduction a few times before I decided to take it.

On 5/15, Mazi dropped to 68 at AM +4 on the Alphatrak, that would have been 5 cycles into the 0.25U dose.You will see on his SS, that Mazi was still on 0.25U on 5/15 PM cycle 6. During the PM cycle of 5/15, I reached out to you and asked you to take a look at Mazi's AM numbers. You had mentioned that the 68 on cycle 5 earned him a reduction in dose. I accepted the reduction that was earned on cycle 5 and lowered the dose the following morning from 0.25 to 0.1U on 5/16 AM cycle..


With that said, Mazi has been on 0.1 units since 5/16 AM. Today is 5/19 AM, so that is technically 7 cycles. That would mean, the draining depot is no longer influencing Mazis glucose numbers as of today.

So please excuse my incorrect math in the previous message. But since we are on cycle 7, that should mean that the depot is not influencing Mazis blood sugar numbers anymore and that he earned himself a reduction from 0.1 units to a drop dose.

What are your thoughts?

I interpreted your last message as because I misspoke and told you it was only cycle 5, today's low BG was still being influenced by the depot and that the low BG is not a true reduction.

Thank you so much for your guidance!
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom @Wendy&Neko yes I'm currently using the Libre per request of my vet for Mazis glucose curve test. The Libre will be removed Tuesday morning. Also just to add for clarity, I am basing any reductions on the alphatrak.

Also, I do have the Relion Premier meter, but I only keep it as a back up meter if I run out of strips to use for the Alphatrak. That that only happened for one reading weeks ago that I had to take a relion reading, when I was waiting for the alpha strips to be dropped off by Amazon.

So Libre is just being used for the glucose curve test. Alphatrak is my main reader that I base reductions and interpreting my spreadsheet on. And the relion I have for a back up, but don't use, unless I run out of Alphatrak testing strips and am waiting on a refill.
 
My suggestion was that if you see a higher preshot that is worrying you, test with the Relion. We dose based on nadirs, not preshots, but it would be interesting to know if he's been all green on a human meter. (including preshots).

And yes, I had already counted the correct number of cycles. It's under 68 (ie 67) that counts a reduction, not at 68.
 
My suggestion was that if you see a higher preshot that is worrying you, test with the Relion. We dose based on nadirs, not preshots, but it would be interesting to know if he's been all green on a human meter. (including preshots).

And yes, I had already counted the correct number of cycles. It's under 68 (ie 67) that counts a reduction, not at 68.

@Wendy&Neko

Ok, im following you now!

Starting with tonight's PM cycle I will try the drop dose. I read a post from Bandits Mom to another member on how to draw up a drop dose.

I've already practiced drawing up a drop dose and comparing it to the drop that 0.1U makes. When comparing the 2, the drop dose method does create a smaller drop than I create for my 0.1U. So, I do trust that when I draw up a drop dose it is smaller than a 0.1U dose.

For 0.1U I place the black plunger so its just barely touching the the bottom of the thick 0 marking on the syringe. That creates a big drop.

For a drop dose, I push the plunger all the way down. And while pushing down and applying pressure to the plunger, I insert the needle into the pen, and then release pressure. That pulls a tiny drop into the needle. When I practiced, that created a small drop about half the size of the 0.1U drop.

Well let's give this a try. If it doesn't work out, Mazi will just have to go back and spend more time on the 0.1U dose. And thats okay too, im just so happy we were able to get this far!

Thank you Wendy for guiding me to this point! BTW, I think my vetinarian owes you a few of his paychecks!
 
For a drop dose, I push the plunger all the way down. And while pushing down and applying pressure to the plunger, I insert the needle into the pen, and then release pressure. That pulls a tiny drop into the needle. When I practiced, that created a small drop about half the size of the 0.1U drop.
Correct, also if you can leave the syringe in Mazi for at least 10 seconds when giving the drop dose that would be good .
Congrats on the reduction :cat:
@Mazi's Mom
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom Will do! Pushing the needle in and holding down the plunger for 10 seconds will ensure the drops gets under the skin and into the fat so it can be absorbed into the blood.

Thanks! Fingers crossed this works. I'm nervous because we took Mazi from 0.5 units all the down to a drop in 7 days. The TR trial was gone fast and I dont know what to expect. Nervous, but happy we are here!

I was happy with Mazi being on 0.25U. Worst case scenario if Mazi has to go back up, im happy that we got this far and it wasn't for nothing because I learned alot. I am happy either way.

Have a wonderful Sunday! And thank you @Diane Tyler's Mom for all your guidance, reassurance, and support!
 
Back
Top