5/18 Tommy PMPS 496~2.5R,+9 559

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good Morning LL, ~O) ~O)

I keep hearing that BG numbers "can" go down quite a bit after having a dental. Can any one tell me if you keep with the same amt of insulin after the dental as you did before? If a bad tooth or other mouth problems are one reason for the higher dose and you take care of that problem wouldn't giving them the same amt of insulin be too much and how do you know when to adjust it downward.? @-) @-)
Seeing Gus's numbers this morning has me finally asking this question.. I saw that there are a lot of factors that could be contributing to the low numbers he has this morning, but all of those aside, what next if indeed the dental problems are gone and his numbers remain good, how does one go about lowering the amt needed..?
I had no idea what to put in my subject line for this.. If any one has a suggestion, fire away :-D

I know Tommy's always gonna need a bit more than other kitties, but it sure would be nice to give him a bit smaller amt ;-)
Hugs to you all :YMHUG: & have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169

I have no advice to give you on your question but wanted to tell you good morning! Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169

You don't know if or when a dose requirement after a dental will occur. I'd hold the dose and if numbers drop, you adjust. The hard part is you won't know whether the reason is the dental or whether the pituitary is slowing output.

Also, do not assume that Tommy will always need more insulin than other cats. This may be the case when he's in an active phase. It may not be the case when the tumor isn't secreting. In fact, numbers can drop very fast.
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169

Melissa, Thank you for dropping by and good morning to you as well! :-D

Sienne, Thank you for answering my question so quickly.. I have a much better understanding now about post dentals and insulin, it's a question i've wanted to ask for a while now, just never did.. So thank you again for that. ;-)
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169

Hi guys .. I have to say this blue is looking mighty nice on tommy today! I'm glad Sienne was able to answer your question about dose amounts .. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169

I just posted on Gus' condo about post dental.
You want to be very careful with the dose - Shadoe's dose dropped from 14u 1day pre-dental to 2.5u about 2weeks post dental.
After her dental, she was very low, an entire green cycle because of the anesthetic. I gave no shot the am of the dental, then gave 10u that pm. The next morn, I was forced to skip shot and gave 5u the next pm.
Shadoe continued to drop for days.
You want to be very careful with an acro after dental because green BG are not always easy to bring up, so best to err on the side of caution.
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169

squirrel, in all the reading i'm doing about acro this past week, i only just learned that the tumor fluctuates in the hormones it produces. maybe you already knew that, but that's what sienne's referring too. i guess that's a bit of info to keep you on your toes!
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169

Hi Squirrel - I agree with all said here. We had such Issues with Mannie after his dental - I know it's a bit more involved with an acro kitty, and he is not. When you have time - take a look at Mannie's SS from 1/11 this year and the days following. It is a decent example of what can happen after dentals, etc. , changes in dosing etc.

have a great day today - very nice amps this morning. GO TOMMY!
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169

Gayle's correct -- one of the side effects of anesthesia in some cats is that it lowers BG levels. And to complicate matters further, anesthesia can lower BG one time and not another. (I had that happen with Gabby.)

Most vets will ask you to skip the AM insulin shot because of anesthesia. We strongly encourage that you test immediately upon bringing your cat home after any procedure. That way, you have a test value you can compare your PMPS with so you will know if numbers are dropping. This is standard for any cat -- not just those with acro.

In addition to lowering BG numbers, anesthesia also slows motility in the GI track. The point of knowing this is that after a day of not eating, you're bringing your cat home with a ravenous appetite. If you shoot and numbers drop, you could have a hungry cat who then scarfs and barfs -- not such a good thing with low numbers. You need to feed in small quantities after anesthesia, as well.

I
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169,+2 244,+5 352

Facing the possibility of having an acro kitty who has just undergone anesthesia, this info is really very helpful to me. Thanks Squirrel for thinking of the question.
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169,+2 244,+5 352

Well, we can rule out fur shot this a.m., that didn't happen so i wonder what else might be going on @-) . Icky Pink Color.. Tommy doesn't know that Pink is not for boys either i think!.. ohmygod_smile

Devon, we could bring back the blue any time now and i'd be happy.. My boys going the wrong direction today ohmygod_smile

Gayle, thank you so much for the information, this is all stuff i've been wondering about and getting it answered in one afternoon is very cool :cool:

Julie, yeah i had read something about that a couple of weeks ago, but Siennes explanation helped out even more with understanding it. OMG I don't need to be any more on my toes than i am already with this boy :lol:
Thank you for bringing it to the table..I find this fascinating discussion.. I've learned an awful lot just from this one Condo. It will sure help go a long way when i do get his dental done.

Michelle, I just looked at Mannie's SS.. He was all over the place, I am curious, why did you only give 1/2 of his normal dose @pmps. Was it a safety thing? and then i saw you worked your way back up. Does everyone feed baby food after a dental and if so what kinds so i can be prepared.. I'm kind of anal about making sure everything is in it's place. Thank you for sharing that with me..

Sienne, I think i'll be bookmarking my condo from today.. This is everything i didn't know about pre-post dental stuff.. Small meals, didn't know that. Most def. test as soon as you bring kitty home. Should i continue to feed small amts for an entire day..
Sienne and Gabby said:
one of the side effects of anesthesia in some cats is that it lowers BG levels. And to complicate matters further, anesthesia can lower BG one time and not another. (I had that happen with Gabby.)
... How did you handle this with Gabby..?

Ella, would you please inform Tommy that blue is the place to be.... Please :lol:
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169,+2 244,+5 352

Squirrel, anyone can tell from just reading your posts and Tommy's SS that you love him with a special part of your heart. You're the one who has to make the tough decisions, so maybe I can help a little. Gus is 13 yrs.old, but an old 13, you know? I really pondered hard and long about Gus getting anesthesia. I decided that I committed to giving him a chance by treating his diabetes instead of having him 'put down' at the time of dx. If I didn't have the dental done, I wouldn't really be giving him a fair chance. I'd put it off long enough. I made the call. It was tough. I knew I was taking a huge chance on this and wondered if I was doing the right thing....would he be strong enough to survive? He survived and he's ready to start getting better. Good teeth=better #s. Be very pro-active if you're worried about the care Tommy will receive. Write down your questions before going to the vet. This way, you won't forget what you wanted to know. The staff will most likely be very happy to speak to your concerns. Our kitties are very resiliant and stronger than we sometimes think. After weathering the post-op period, you will be treating a FD furbaby who has a much better chance than he did with bad teeth. It's hard to actually do, but you'll be glad you did. In case any of you are lost, this diatribe is in response to Squirrel's comments in Gus' condo today.
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169,+2 244,+5 352

Tommy is doing what Champ did with yesterdays AM cycle...started out with a good (for Champ) PS BG and then climbed, climbed climbed. At +8 when he got into the 400's, I didn't bother to test any more that cycle because I didn't want to see it go any higher. I figured there wasn't anything I could do about it anyway and I just prepared myself for the worse when I had the check his PMPS. Lo and behold, is PMPS was significantly lower. Who knows why they do what they do. I figured it was probably a bounce from his blues the night before, but who knows?

Good luck with everything, Squirrel. Tommy is very lucky to have you and I hope you realize that!! :-D
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy AMPS 169,+2 244,+5 352

Hi Squirrel and Tommy!

Very interesting information being shared here in your condo today. I'm sorry to see Tommy's numbers up at his +5. I just notice that Tommy was dx acro on 5/14/11. I don't know how I missed those condos and I'm going to go back and read them, but did your vet do the test, was it expensive and what was your vet's advice for long term care? Feel free to PM me if you don't want to answer here. Or if you want to post a link to the condo where you already answered all these questions, that would be great. I'm starting to think Guinness is headed down this path and I arming myself with info for my vet.

Keeping good thoughts for you and Tommy!
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy PMPS 496~2.5R

@-) @-) ohmygod_smile :shock: :o : I feel the same way.. This can stop any time now please, I'd much rather sacrifice the sleep (which by the way is very overated :lol: :lol: ) for some prettier numbers Thomas J... Do you hear me sir?

bev5477 said:
this diatribe is in response to Squirrel's comments in Gus' condo today.
Bev if this was there earlier, how did i miss it :lol: :lol: I thought it was perfect and to the point! and i thank you again :-D

Patty & Champ said:
Tommy is doing what Champ did with yesterdays AM cycle...started out with a good (for Champ) PS BG and then climbed, climbed climbed. At +8 when he got into the 400's, I didn't bother to test any more that cycle because I didn't want to see it go any higher. I figured there wasn't anything I could do about it anyway and I just prepared myself for the worse when I had the check his PMPS. Lo and behold, is PMPS was significantly lower. Who knows why they do what they do. I figured it was probably a bounce from his blues the night before, but who knows?

Good luck with everything, Squirrel. Tommy is very lucky to have you and I hope you realize that!! :-D
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I have to tell you Patty, when i saw the +7 number this evening i thought of you but went ahead and got a +9 anyway... WHY, WHY did i do that ohmygod_smile ... I would love for him to have Champs numbers right now..
I think i do all right as his bean, but i sure do appreciate hearing it from you :-D

Linda, I'm sure you've read the essay i posted over in your condo this evening as well.. I hope i helped just a little.. Good luck with Guinness's numbers the rest of the night.. Looks like we're both riding the "R" train this evening..

Lisa, I couldn't agree more..... Turn around Tommy, Turn around and head back..
Thank you for dropping by :smile:
 
Re: 5/18 Tommy PMPS 496~2.5R

Squirrel Dentals are NEEDED thing as with cats, they can cause so many ailments--It is much worse for us when they go in than for the cats who are anesthestized & come home when they wake up--We sit all day & worry--they are sleeping!
But ECID & almost all come out of it very well, plus numbers come down some and they have shiny toofuses :lol: --Will tell you my dental experiences tomorrow--Have a good sleepus Tommy too-Hugs--
BTW you are doing a fantastic job with Tommy--Ni Ni :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top