5/18 PMPS 274,m+3 277 (then 1 cup chicken breast) +5 283 +6.5 274(+7 1/3 can Frisk), +10 248

Hi Don,
Hold the 2 units now for at least 5 days to let the depot fill, unless Xena drops under 90 in which case you would reduce the dose
to 1.75 U when doing SLGS.
Are you giving snacks during the cycles ?
Would you mind updating your signature and saying you are now using Lantus please?
 
Hi Don,
Hold the 2 units now for at least 5 days to let the depot fill, unless Xena drops under 90 in which case you would reduce the dose
to 1.75 U when doing SLGS.
Are you giving snacks during the cycles ?
Would you mind updating your signature and saying you are now using Lantus please?
Ok… signature updated. I updated the spreadsheet but to be honest I forgot that the signature has the insulin in it also. (Just trying to keep up with all of this) these are not my normal hours. I’m just basically laying on the couch, keeping an eye on the cat and setting an alarm to test.
As for feeding, I am feeding her half a can with her dose, and 1/3 can twice before the next shot. Trying to be consistent with it as well as time it strategically for when I am testing as far as SLGS versus TR, I really want to do TR and basically I believe I am following everything that goes with that. I initially started with SLGS, because I did want to start low. That’s really the only reason, and that has to do with my past experience with my other cat, which just made me nervous, starting above one unit, but we see how well that worked (my cat 10 years ago started on one unit and went from 421 pre-shot to 65 pre-shot in 12 hours, so…) So should I change my protocol to TR. Any reason not to?
I also made this post earlier regarding food/feeding. I just went there to get the link and realized the reply I posted with tags in it never got posted so anyway:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-18-feeding-inquiry.277689/
Any suggestions regarding that are welcome. Xena is constantly looking for food. I realize I won’t be so bad when she’s regulated. Tonight, Cena only got one of her 1/3 cans, because she got chopped up roasted chicken breast instead (no seasoning of course.)

thank you very much for your help. I check this pretty regularly but I’m going to have to sleep for a bit.
 
You are testing enough to do TR. And as long as you are not feeding any dry food, I cant see why you cant do TR.
Regarding the food. For snacks I would feed the low carb food you are feeding at preshot meals.
For medium carb foods, have a look at this chart and choose wet food that is 11 to 15 % carbs. Also look for some higher carbs foods as well...over 15%
Also make sure you have either honey or karo in your hypo kit.
FOOD CHART
 
You are testing enough to do TR. And as long as you are not feeding any dry food, I cant see why you cant do TR.
Regarding the food. For snacks I would feed the low carb food you are feeding at preshot meals.
For medium carb foods, have a look at this chart and choose wet food that is 11 to 15 % carbs. Also look for some higher carbs foods as well...over 15%
Also make sure you have either honey or karo in your hypo kit.
FOOD CHART

NO DRY!... Thats what created this mess, SMH. I should have applied more tough Love and got her off of it long ago.
Yeah, I have the hypo kit all set up. and they hypo procedure printed and accesible. med foods, high foods, Karo, feeding syringes, bulb syringe. extra test strips and an extra meter w/ strips and batteries for both. 24 HR Vet addresses and phone #'s. I read a bunch and tried to be prepared before we started the process, but it's still a lot to learn quickly. Reminds me of cramming for finals.
Thank you for all the help.
 
Back
Top